Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: iPhone 8 and iPhone X Bands

Feedback Score

iPhone 8 and iPhone X Bands

Are the iPhone 8 and iPhone X world phones that will work on and cell phone provider or do you still need a special model for Verizon as was the case with the iPhone 7?

If you want a phone that is portable to any network, do you need to buy the Verizon version?

Device(s)
    iPhone 8
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by CellGeek View Post
    Are the iPhone 8 and iPhone X world phones that will work on and cell phone provider or do you still need a special model for Verizon as was the case with the iPhone 7?

If you want a phone that is portable to any network, do you need to buy the Verizon version?
    I'm not an expert on cellular technologies, but here's my take:

If the network you are planning to use the phone on is CDMA, you need the Verizon version of the iPhone 8 and X. Just like the iPhone 7, the models sold to AT&T and T-mobile use the Intel modem (non-CDMA) vs. the Qualcomm CDMA modem used in the Verizon model. Also, the Verizon model iPhones are ALWAYS unlocked per agreements Verizon made with the FCC. I believe some of the other carriers still lock their iPhones (not positive).

That said, I can't imagine there's very much CDMA being used worldwide anymore - especially since most carriers in other countries never used CDMA in the first place. A non-Qualcomm model iPhone would probably work well in most countries as a result.

Device(s)
    iPhone 7+
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post
    I'm not an expert on cellular technologies, but here's my take: