Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Unlocked Phone, "other" brands

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    155
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unlocked Phone, "other" brands

    Has anyone used and/or activated an unlocked phone that is not a "major" brand?
    By not a major brand, I mean brands like Blu, RCA, Huawei, HTC, or OnePlus.

    If yes, did you use an already active sim or did you activate it using the BYOD sim?
    Please be specific on the brand and model.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,816
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have placed active BYOP AT&T SIM cards in several BLU phones: Life One 2015, Studio 7.0 LTE, R1HD, Life One X2, Studio XL 2.

    TF activates AT&T SIMs without asking for a phone's IMEI, so you are always putting in an active SIM. The only difference would be a BYOP SIM vs a SIM that came with a TF branded phone.

    Oh, I also used a TF AT&T SIM in a No 1 D6 smartwatch I bought off GearBest. Now that is really off brand.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Not sure if it counts as "major", but I managed to activate a Nexus 6 no problem on TracFone. Used a BYOD T-Mobile SIM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    192
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 2
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LadyLC View Post
    Has anyone used and/or activated an unlocked phone that is not a "major" brand?
    By not a major brand, I mean brands like Blu, RCA, Huawei, HTC, or OnePlus.

    If yes, did you use an already active sim or did you activate it using the BYOD sim?
    Please be specific on the brand and model.
    I activated a OnePlus 2 last year without any problems using the BYOD sim.
    ~~Teresa ~~

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    1,584
    Feedback Score
    0
    Byop at&t net10 Sim in my Blu r1hd, no problems, even hotspots in the factory setting, no problems, I've used it with T-Mobile and simple mobile too, volte even works.

    Sent from my R1 HD using HoFo mobile app

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    155
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NanaC View Post
    I activated a OnePlus 2 last year without any problems using the BYOD sim.
    So, a search shows that this is a GSM phone.
    And all the posts so far are t-mobile or at&t.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,127
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, LG Rebel 2, Moto E4
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LadyLC View Post
    And all the posts so far are t-mobile or at&t.
    Not many smartphones made by non-major companies are compatible with Verizon.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,570
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wasn't there something about Blu sending your personal information back to China? It was built into the phone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,134
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone - Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    Wasn't there something about Blu sending your personal information back to China? It was built into the phone.
    Yes. Amazon stopped selling Blu phones until the software was removed. They have since started selling them again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,777
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LadyLC View Post
    So, a search shows that this is a GSM phone.
    And all the posts so far are t-mobile or at&t.
    Had my Truphone SIM in a few different Blu phones.
    Both Windows and Android.

    I don't remember what Blu Android I used but the Windows phone was the Blu Win HD.

    No problems with any of the the Blu phones with the Truphone SIM.

    Currently it is in my factory unlocked international version of the Lumia 640 XL.


    Sent from my Magnificent Moto E4
    *After All, There Is Nothing Real Outside Our Perception Of Reality, Is There?*







  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,570
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anybody test these off brands for spyware? Or do they fly under the radar because of low market share.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    Does anybody test these off brands for spyware? Or do they fly under the radar because of low market share.
    I don't believe most people care, and it isn't really noticeable. This is a big reason I avoid cheap/"free" phones, they're a mess with garbage apps, locked-down, and even disable features. In the past, I just purchased a Nexus phone and popped my SIM into it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    173
    Device(s)
    ZTE Axon 7 mini
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (BYOP AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a ZTE Axon 7 mini. It's a Chinese brand but they have good US based customer support and active product forums. They have said there is no Chinese spyware on their U.S. phones. I got the phone under $200 last Black Friday, so not "cheap" by the standards of this forum but I feel I got a good value for my money. The battery life could be a bit better but it has fast charging that compensates. I transferred service from a 3G CDMA (Verizon) Tracfone branded smartphone, so activated a new BYOP AT&T SIM during that process.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    6,233
    Device(s)
    G2, MotoG, Droid Mini, (retired: GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Not many smartphones made by non-major companies are compatible with Verizon.
    Are there any other than the Axon 7?
    Is it on the Verizon whitelist?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8,520
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Are there any other than the Axon 7?
    Is it on the Verizon whitelist?
    The Alcatel A30 comes in both a Verizon version and a GSM version. https://www.amazon.com/Alcatel-A30-Verizon-Exclusive-Lockscreen/dp/B01NC1UKJI/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1510856464

    There is also a Alcatel A30 PLUS that works on AT&T/T-Mobile/Verizon. https://www.amazon.com/Alcatel-A30-PLUS-Unlocked-T-Mobile/dp/B071ZZMQFF/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_4?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1510856464

    The above Alcatel models are supposed to be Vzw whitelisted.

    The Axon 7 is NOT on the Verizon whitelist. To use the Axon 7 on the Vzw network, an already active SIM must be swapped in.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. is it possible to use unlocked phones on other carriers?
    By soccerboy in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 07:37 PM
  2. Can I use unlocked phones from other carriers as a nextel subscriber?
    By itsmrchris in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2007, 10:01 PM
  3. Unlocking Phone and Other Questions
    By EastSidinA4 in forum HP/Palm
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2005, 04:02 PM
  4. Brand NEW Cell phone and other stuff FS
    By Milkboy103 in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-02-2002, 01:30 PM
  5. other ways to unlock phones?
    By Yamata Sun in forum Siemens
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2002, 05:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks