Thread: Calls blocked on away?

Device(s)
    ZenFone 2 ZE551ML
    Carrier(s)
    Fido, Freedom
    Feedback Score

Calls blocked on away?

Hi guys, I'm new to FM thanks to the iPhone promo. While waiting for the iPhone I tried my FM sim on my ZenFone 2 (WW) version. This phone doesn't support freedom's UMTS network so connects to a third party network in away mode. The phone does support B4 LTE and in areas where there is coverage like Aurora, Newmarket LTE data works. However while in away I'm not able to make/receive any calls. I have the $50 plan which allows me 2400 mins of away calling so it should work.

I'm thinking if freedom blocks calls in away while you are in one of their home covered area. Does anyone know if that's true?. I can't think of any other reasons.

Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    No they don't block calls. For the Zenfone you should've gotten the NA version. I have 2 of them and both are the NA versions and they have never blocked any of my calls in "Home" mode. The NA version has the Band 4 (AWS 1700/2100) frequency needed for Freedom (3G). The WW version lacks the Band 4 (AWS 1700/2100) needed to work on Freedom. This is why you're seeing "No Service".

The iPhone will not have this issue.

On Asus's site, the NA version is referred to as the "US" version. Zenfone 4's use the "NA" nomenclature.

So no, it's not true, it's your phone.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by mustu521 View Post
    I'm thinking if freedom blocks calls in away while you are in one of their home covered area. Does anyone know if that's true?. I can't think of any other reasons.
    That is correct. If you are in one of their Home zones, roaming usage is supposed to be blocked (data, calls and texts). However, recently data and texts on Away have begun to work (sometimes intermittently) within Home zones; calls still do not.