Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: 4G is same as LTE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    51
    Feedback Score
    0

    4G is same as LTE?

    LePro 3 running stock Lolipop OS. It always shows 4G on my network but sometimes it drops down to 3G. However when I roam in US it shows as 4G LTE. This is also what shows in my settings.

    Am I getting true LTE or is 4G different?

    Name:  jIZIvRj.png
Views: 403
Size:  321.0 KB
    Name:  HLZUe81.jpg
Views: 385
Size:  33.4 KB
    Last edited by Chattersking; 12-14-2017 at 12:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    934
    Feedback Score
    0
    When you're on 4G and make a voice call, does it change to 3G?
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    51
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sheytoon View Post
    When you're on 4G and make a voice call, does it change to 3G?
    Yeah it drops to 3g. I was just playing around with the 4636 now and now I cant even make any phone calls but data is working on roaming. What is the corect setting to put in 4636?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,873
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Chattersking View Post
    Yeah it drops to 3g. I was just playing around with the 4636 now and now I cant even make any phone calls but data is working on roaming. What is the corect setting to put in 4636?
    In your screenshot, you have your phone set to LTE/CDMA (auto). By doing that, you have disabled the 3g network and you won't be able to make or receive any phone calls. Set it to LTE/GSM (auto).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    51
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by computergeek541 View Post
    In your screenshot, you have your phone set to LTE/CDMA (auto). By doing that, you have disabled the 3g network and you won't be able to make or receive any phone calls. Set it to LTE/GSM (auto).
    Thank you. Ive done that. It shows 4g and I'm able to make calls now. Does it mean I am on lte or is 4g not as same as lte?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    604
    Device(s)
    i576, i355, i700+
    Carrier(s)
    MiKE
    Feedback Score
    0
    4G when displayed in Canada means LTE. 4G when displayed in the US means DC-HSPA or LTE.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    559
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmccull View Post
    4G when displayed in Canada means LTE. 4G when displayed in the US means DC-HSPA or LTE.
    I get LTE on my 6S Plus in Toronto.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    242
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Driver8666 View Post
    I get LTE on my 6S Plus in Toronto.
    I hate it that manufacturers/carriers made such a mess out of the "4G" standard. It bothers me when phones show 4G at all. H+ for HSPA and LTE for LTE is the way that it's been handled in Stock Android (Nexus, Pixel, Motorola (whose ROMs are very close to Stock for the most part)) and I believe Apple products show LTE for LTE and 3G for HSPA for the most part. This is how it should be universally, but unfortunately there are still manufacturers and/or carriers out there that insist on using 4G

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app
    Damn!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    559
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by qag01 View Post
    I hate it that manufacturers/carriers made such a mess out of the "4G" standard. It bothers me when phones show 4G at all. H+ for HSPA and LTE for LTE is the way that it's been handled in Stock Android (Nexus, Pixel, Motorola (whose ROMs are very close to Stock for the most part)) and I believe Apple products show LTE for LTE and 3G for HSPA for the most part. This is how it should be universally, but unfortunately there are still manufacturers and/or carriers out there that insist on using 4G

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app
    Here's something for you you might find interesting:

    On my iPhone:
    It shows LTE for an LTE connection and 3G for an H+ connection (or anything attached to 3G).

    On my Dad's phone (Samsung), it's shows 4G for an H+ connection and LTE for an LTE one.

    On my Zenfone (yes I still have them all), H+ for an HSPA connection, 3G for a 3G connection and 4G for an LTE connection.

    Very confusing if you ask me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,322
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Download Network signal guru and you will see clearly in the app if it's 3G or LTE.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using HoFo mobile app

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    604
    Device(s)
    i576, i355, i700+
    Carrier(s)
    MiKE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Driver8666 View Post
    I get LTE on my 6S Plus in Toronto.
    As you should.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    934
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Chattersking View Post
    Thank you. Ive done that. It shows 4g and I'm able to make calls now. Does it mean I am on lte or is 4g not as same as lte?
    Every phone is different. On your phone, 4G = LTE. See topic #4 on this page for more info:
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo.../page/2#M42977

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    559
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus (128GB version)
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmccull View Post
    As you should.
    In the instruction manual for the 6S Plus, there actually is a 4G icon that will come on if you are on 4G, but it's cut and dry.

    LTE for an LTE connection
    4G for a UMTS/LTE connection (depending on the carrier)
    3G for a 3G connection (including H and H+ connections)
    E for an Edge connection
    GPRS for that slow sinking feeling

    It's not that hard to put all of this in. Less confusion.

    By the way that LTE is on Freedom. In my "hood".

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-03-2015, 12:04 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2012, 06:53 PM
  3. Is HSPA+ the same as 4g?
    By mpossoff in forum AT&T
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 01:23 AM
  4. Straight Talk New Coverage Map Is Same As AT&T
    By flrjr42501 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 10:31 PM
  5. 5300 cable is the same as the 4900
    By RUSS in forum Sprint
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2003, 02:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks