Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: tracfone newbie - need help

Feedback Score

tracfone newbie - need help

I'm looking into Tracfone because my usage is low and I get good coverage on Verizon. So I have been looking into the Tracfone (Verizon) phone+airtime deals that I see on prepaidphonenews. Have never had Tracfone before so am a total newbie. Some questions -

- So for this (doesn't let me post links - Galaxy Luna with triple minutes) phone what would I do if I run out of the 1,200 minutes/text/data before the end of the year?

- If I run out, can I add a 'service add-on' of 1gb for $10 like it's listed on tracfone's page? I plan to use hangouts for text and minutes after the minutes/texts run out. can't post link where it lists the 1gb on tracfone page

- Why does that 1gb add-on for $10 say "no service days"? When does the 1gb expire?

- Any other gotchas I need to be aware of? Tracfone seems quite hated, from what I've read, so am quite worried what I may be getting into.

Thanks everyone!

Feedback Score
    With tracfone smartphones (and BYOP) you essentially have 4 separate balances:
    • minutes
    • texts
    • data
    • days of service

None of the first three (often called "buckets") expire, as long as your days of service don't run out.

So, if one or more of your three "buckets" runs out, you can add any "card" or "plan" that tracfone sells to replenish it. Since you said you plan to use hangouts (only the data bucket), the 1GB data card makes most sense (except possibly when some special offers are available). Then to keep your service days current, you can add 13 months of service for $60+tax ($10 60 minute / 30 day card + $50 1year add-on). Alternatively, you can often buy another phone with bundled minutes that may be a better deal. Note that whenever you add service of any type, everything is truly added to your existing balance (you don't lose anything by adding before you run out).