Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Got my new unlocked SE T616 today...but...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    213
    Phones
    Current: HTC TyTN II Kaiser
    Moto KZRZ ProjectRed, V3t, V635, Asus P535, BB 8703e, BB 7250, UTStarcom6700, Audiovox6600, MotoV551
    SE T616; T600; T68i, Nokia 7250; 7210; 8890
    Carrier
    rogers.wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Angry Got my new unlocked SE T616 today...but...

    It was supposed to be an exciting day cos I finally bought the T616 and it arrived today but....

    After getting the T616, first thing I did was put my old unused SIM into the T616 so I can transfer my contacts to it from my T68i. After putting in the old SIM, I did a Master Reset. Then transferred the contacts and a theme file. It was going great and I liked the T616 a LOT. Then I powered off the T616 and put my active SIM in. SIM was in and powered on, entered the SIM's PIN code then ............ "Insert correct SIM card." popupped up. Dammit....... #%@#@$@% :evileye: :hurt:

    Anyone else experienced this before? I've never bought a phone that wasn't already unlocked coming out of the factory until this... I sent it back to where I purchased and the guy said he'd fix it. It'll get to him on Monday. I'll post the result later.

    Last edited by masaki; 11-14-2003 at 05:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    416
    Posts
    10,213
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy Gio GT-5660M, Nokia N95-4, Sony Ericsson Z/W710i, Z520a, Z600, T200, T310, T237
    Ericsson T39mc, T39m, T28w, T18z, CF388
    *Prototype TU2* Ericsson R520m Copper Edition (Made: 00W43)
    Carrier
    7-11 SpeakOut Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    hehe i think u could've saved urself a trip in shipping

    it's happened to me before on my nvr locked R520m after a master reset.. freaked da hell outta me at first.. but i turned it off and tried it again... it worked after...

    it can't "magically" lock to a provider if it was nvr locked
    Ericsson / Sony Ericsson, the choice of:
    • Charlie's Angels
    • Lara Croft
    • James Bond




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    213
    Phones
    Current: HTC TyTN II Kaiser
    Moto KZRZ ProjectRed, V3t, V635, Asus P535, BB 8703e, BB 7250, UTStarcom6700, Audiovox6600, MotoV551
    SE T616; T600; T68i, Nokia 7250; 7210; 8890
    Carrier
    rogers.wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried switching the phone off and let it sit for about 10 minutes then switch it back on (Tried this with both active and non-active Fido/Rogers/Orange SIMs if that makes any difference). It still showed the "Insert correct SIM card." message.

    I've done Master Resets on my friends' 'unlocked' phones (T68i) and they remain unlocked. I've never thought that resetting the phone would lock it again. That wouldn't make it 'unlocked' would it?

    The guy I bought the phone from told me this was the first incident he has ever had. I hope others who unlocks the T616 can watch for this potential problem IF it is indeed a reproducible problem.

    Anyway, the T616 is a really cool phone and I can't wait for it to come back

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    411
    Phones
    Sony Ericsson W810i
    Motorola V3
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by masaki
    I tried switching the phone off and let it sit for about 10 minutes then switch it back on (Tried this with both active and non-active Fido/Rogers/Orange SIMs if that makes any difference). It still showed the "Insert correct SIM card." message.

    I've done Master Resets on my friends' 'unlocked' phones (T68i) and they remain unlocked. I've never thought that resetting the phone would lock it again. That wouldn't make it 'unlocked' would it?

    The guy I bought the phone from told me this was the first incident he has ever had. I hope others who unlocks the T616 can watch for this potential problem IF it is indeed a reproducible problem.

    Anyway, the T616 is a really cool phone and I can't wait for it to come back
    So, what're you going to do...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    213
    Phones
    Current: HTC TyTN II Kaiser
    Moto KZRZ ProjectRed, V3t, V635, Asus P535, BB 8703e, BB 7250, UTStarcom6700, Audiovox6600, MotoV551
    SE T616; T600; T68i, Nokia 7250; 7210; 8890
    Carrier
    rogers.wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I sent the phone back to have it fixed. I should get it back in several days.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    213
    Phones
    Current: HTC TyTN II Kaiser
    Moto KZRZ ProjectRed, V3t, V635, Asus P535, BB 8703e, BB 7250, UTStarcom6700, Audiovox6600, MotoV551
    SE T616; T600; T68i, Nokia 7250; 7210; 8890
    Carrier
    rogers.wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Talking T616 has returned

    Got the T616 back this morning Everything works great. According to the guy I bought the cell from, somehow Master Reset relocked the phone but he said he used a different method to unlock it and it's fine now. I haven't done a Master Reset though. Don't really want to do that again. .... for now.

    The phone works great. So far, all calls I made were very clear and the volume isn't too low. I'm quite happy about it.

    On another thread I mentioned that I had problem with IR connecting to my iPAQ or T68i (error saying no devices found). That problem is gone. Bluetooth file transfer works great for transfering pictures, ringtones, and themes. Very stable. My T68i (R8A015) used to hang occasionally while I use Bluetooth for transferring files. Uploaded 20-ish called ID pics, several themes, and 14 ringtones without any connection problem.

    Firmware was upgraded to R1B027 as well. Thanks Martin
    Last edited by masaki; 11-19-2003 at 09:00 PM.

Bookmarks