Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Att Prl Update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Samsung A610
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Att Prl Update

    I just got a new phone and it tends not to be working as well as i would like it to work. I figure the PRL needs to be updated in the phone, but i do not know how to do this on ATT. DOES anyone know how to update this, i mean which number to dial to do it over the air?

    ~Restrepo30

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    690
    Phones
    Nokia 6620
    Nokia 6200 (retired)
    Motorola T720 (retired)
    Carrier
    ATTWS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Maybe someone more knowedgable will chime in, but I don't believe ATTWS works with PRL's like your Verizon Wireless phone did. What problems exactly are you trying to correct?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Samsung A610
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    The phone seemed to have roamed a bit more than it should have. I tend to have more non or poor service than i have in the past. I just wanted to know if there was a way like on Sprint or Verizon's systems to make the phone see its towers, before roaming to another..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    2,034
    Carrier
    Aerial Communications
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Restrepo30
    The phone seemed to have roamed a bit more than it should have. I tend to have more non or poor service than i have in the past. I just wanted to know if there was a way like on Sprint or Verizon's systems to make the phone see its towers, before roaming to another..
    I'm going to assume you are using AT&T GSM service. GSM networks do not use PRLs....the roaming information is on the SIM itself. If the provider needs to update that information your phone will receive a SIM Update over the air. There is nothing that you need to do, its all done automatically by the provider when it needs to be done.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Samsung A610
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    yeah i have the nokia 6340i for t-mobile, att, and Cingular... they are gait phones that run in both tdma and gsm. i test these phones and the phones all seem to drop more calls and have more ineffective attempts then previous phones i have tested. it just seemed like that it was something with the phones not being properly configured...

    anyway, thanks for your assistance guys

    ~Restrepo30

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8
    Phones
    LG 4500
    Kyocera 2135
    Samsung SCH-350
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    This thread is similar to one that I was going to post. I am a new AT&T TDMA customer in the Portland, ME area. I am switching from Verizon, and I was able to use *228 to update the phone with the most recent tower data. Is there a similar function for the AT&T service? I am using a Nokia 6560 phone if it matters.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,301
    Phone
    Nokia 6340i
    Carrier
    Cingular Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    GSM phones automatically update themselves. You can turn messages on so that the phone will alert you with a message when it has been updated on certain phones.

    CDMA phones will automatically update themselves as well, but Verizon leaves *228 in there because they don't seem to push the updates as automatically as everyone else. Sprint is very efficient at getting the latest PRLs out.

    GSM uses a mechanism similar to a PRL called an IRDB (international roaming database).

    I have heard that you can call Cingular customer service and request that they preform a card push to update your IRDB and ATT should be able to do the same. There really isn't a need. Most people never even check that they got a different PRL when they use *228. They just accept the placebo effect that it gives them. Most of the time, people are "updating" to the exact same PRL.

Bookmarks