Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: nokia with no signal, please help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18
    Feedback Score
    0

    nokia with no signal, please help

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    hi
    i bought a used nokia 6610 (unlocked/tmobile), it shows no service :
    when i power on the phone, i get 2 to 3 bars for 3 secondes only,then nothing.i can not make any calls , it always shows NO SERVICE
    the IMEI on the back of the phone does not match the inside
    by the way i am in the USA and we do not have BARRED PHONES
    what can i do to fix the problem
    any help is appreciated
    thank you and god bless

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    442
    Phones
    Sony Ericsson K750i
    Nokia 6620 = )
    Need I list any others of mine?
    Carriers
    #1. T-Mobile (GSM 1900Mhz)
    #3. Sprint(sucks)
    Feedback Score
    0
    have you tried using the phone in an open area(ex. outside)? Was the phone bought brand new? Are there any other abnormal things about that phone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18
    Feedback Score
    0
    i bought the phone used and i tried different sim cards in many areas with no luck
    when i try to change the SYSTEM SELECTION from AUTOMATIC to MANUAL, it takes almost 3 mns and it says NO SYSTEM FOUND , when i do it again it gives me a choice of 3 providers (usa).
    i select TMOBILE, I GET STRONG SIGNAL but i can not make any calls even to the provider(it shows :CALLING..# it ends in couple seconds)
    after i TURN OFF the phone then ON , iget this message :PLEASE SELECT SYSTEM , i click OK and all the above happens again

    thank you very much


    __________________

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    EastVan
    Posts
    10,072
    Phones
    bunch of phones
    iphone
    Carrier
    fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    if u know how to flash firmware, try doing it, if ur not that type, u will need pro help...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    235
    Phones
    ------------->
    ------------->
    ------------->
    Carrier
    Vodafone NZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    i THINK thats what happens to nokias when they get blocked (after getting lost or stolen).. did u buy it from a shop or a person. did u give out ur IMIE to anyone..

    my friend found an old 3310 and he had a similar problem..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18
    Feedback Score
    0
    i bought the phone off ebay, but in USA we do not have a barred phones like the UK
    IF IT'S POSSIBLE: can anyone guide me on how to flash the phone, i have a serial cable and dct4v30patched
    what firmware do i need to flash the phone ?

    thanks to everyone in advance

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    442
    Phones
    Sony Ericsson K750i
    Nokia 6620 = )
    Need I list any others of mine?
    Carriers
    #1. T-Mobile (GSM 1900Mhz)
    #3. Sprint(sucks)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Siemens c56: SIE-C56/18 UP.Browser/5.0.3.3.1.e.4 (GUI))

    same firmware or a higher version(if it's an older version)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,044
    Phones
    Work: Nextel i530 black on black
    Fun: Boost i730 beta... black.
    Why not: T-Mobile Nokia 6010 in black. v300... black housing on order.
    Carrier
    Nextel, Boost, T-mo 2 Go.
    Feedback Score
    0
    open it up. look for the internal antenna... see if it looks damaged or wrinkled, or corrodded from the circut board.

Bookmarks