Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Is there a Desktop Charger for the V710?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    26
    Device(s)
    Nokia N95-4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Is there a Desktop Charger for the V710?

    Will the one for V600 work with this phone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rego Park, NY
    Posts
    2,313
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Avant SM-G386T (T-Mobile), BlackBerry Bold 9900 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes the one for the V600 will work with the V710.



    http://commerce.motorola.com/cgi-bin...26&type=249141

    Here's a pic of the V710 in that charger from a guy who put up a page with info about his V710 pre-release model.

    Sam K

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    934
    Device(s)
    Motorola Droid 2
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Would I be correct to assume the battery can be charged in the back of this thing too?

    cause I really want a second battery for this phone.
    Originally posted by BoOMOnE
    i've got over 3000 posts and i'm still an idiot

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    Moto E815
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a docking station for my Kyocera QCP 3035 and it is the main reason I don't want to switch phones. Is there one of these that will work with the V710?



    edit: I think I answered my own question. I found one that works with the V60 and, as I understand it, if it works with the V60, it will work with the V710
    Last edited by Ross5184; 08-02-2004 at 09:41 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rego Park, NY
    Posts
    2,313
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Avant SM-G386T (T-Mobile), BlackBerry Bold 9900 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Redemtious
    Would I be correct to assume the battery can be charged in the back of this thing too?

    cause I really want a second battery for this phone.
    I read on the phonescoop.com V710 forum that someone said the battery CANNOT be charged in the back battery charger slot because of the location of the charging contact points on the V710 batteries. Apparently you can't put the battery in that slot in such a way that the contact points will line up with the charging pins. I have this charger at home that I used to use with my T720. I'll confirm this when I get the phone from Verizon next week.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    90
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Sam K
    I read on the phonescoop.com V710 forum that someone said the battery CANNOT be charged in the back battery charger slot because of the location of the charging contact points on the V710 batteries. Apparently you can't put the battery in that slot in such a way that the contact points will line up with the charging pins. I have this charger at home that I used to use with my T720. I'll confirm this when I get the phone from Verizon next week.

    I just bought one at radio shack last night. I will check the battery thing tonight when i get home. One thing i have noticed that there is a led on the right side of the base where it is supposed to flash or show green or red but does not do anything when you have the phone plugged in. Plus i dont know how to set the clock on the thing. No that it is a big deal. Thats my observations so far.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rego Park, NY
    Posts
    2,313
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Avant SM-G386T (T-Mobile), BlackBerry Bold 9900 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Laserhawk
    Plus i dont know how to set the clock on the thing.
    If memory serves me correctly, the clock pops out of the unit so that you can set it. I'll check when I get home.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    Motorola v710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I hope you guys are right. I just snagged one of these off of eBay for when I get my phone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    90
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Confused Amused
    I hope you guys are right. I just snagged one of these off of eBay for when I get my phone.
    Im being lazy but how much did you get it for.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    Motorola v710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Got it for $20.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rego Park, NY
    Posts
    2,313
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Avant SM-G386T (T-Mobile), BlackBerry Bold 9900 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Ross5184
    I have a docking station for my Kyocera QCP 3035 and it is the main reason I don't want to switch phones. Is there one of these that will work with the V710?



    edit: I think I answered my own question. I found one that works with the V60 and, as I understand it, if it works with the V60, it will work with the V710
    Could you post a link to that docking station. I'd love to it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    Moto E815
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just put V60 docking station into google. Here is the first result...

    http://www.buycellfones.com/ac/CCM/docking_station.htm

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rego Park, NY
    Posts
    2,313
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Avant SM-G386T (T-Mobile), BlackBerry Bold 9900 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Ross5184
    I just put V60 docking station into google. Here is the first result...

    http://www.buycellfones.com/ac/CCM/docking_station.htm
    Sorry to hijack this thread, but don't you think the V710 will be too wide for the cradle/holster where the phone is sitting?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    Moto E815
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's hard to say since I haven't found any real specs for the thing, but at this site it says:

    Compatibility: All 2.5mm compatible phones including all Motorola, Nextel, Sanyo, Audiovox, Kyocera and many Samsung models. (Also compatible with Nokia, Siemens, Sony Ericsson with optional adapter cables, please call to inquire)

    Maybe the holder part is adjustable?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sandy Springs, GA
    Posts
    3,913
    Device(s)
    Palm Treo 680,
    Carrier(s)
    lots of orange,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Sam K
    Sorry to hijack this thread, but don't you think the V710 will be too wide for the cradle/holster where the phone is sitting?
    Looks that way...

    FWIW, Dock-N-Talk works just fine with the V710. (I'm currently using it with the cable; I don't have the BT module for it and am not sure if I'm going to get it.)

    -SC
    Last edited by roamer1; 08-03-2004 at 06:48 PM.
    red: / yellow: / pink: / orange: / Little Rock blue: / Metro: uh, no.

    "Never put off until tomorrow what you can do today. There might be a law against it by that time." -/usr/games/fortune

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks