Page 2 of 29 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 572

Thread: The Official Video Conversion Thread

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    406
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6280
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone
    Feedback Score
    0
    will mpegable convert divx AVIs?
    Err.... yeah.... bought my phone... ¬_¬

    THE ULTIMATE PWN4GE VIDEO!!


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    319
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've heard a few problems with them, but fdon't use them myself so cannot say for sure. If you do experience problems IM me and I'll see what I can do for you
    Treo 700W Baby.....stupid V710 is LOOOOOOONG gone

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    63
    Device(s)
    v710
    Feedback Score
    0
    can you use mpeg4 to cut down the size of the file or do you need another program in order to make them shorter?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    319
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I use QT Pro to shorten the videos. If anything I will convert to a QT compatible file type, then shorten with QT and then convert to 3GP

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    63
    Device(s)
    v710
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quicktime Pro? I assume you have to pay for that. Any 'free' programs that I can use?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    16,690
    Device(s)
    TBolt, DroidX, Incredible, Droid1, Omnia II, HTC Imagio, BB Tour, BB Storm,Touch,Dare,Voyager
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Headsets:
    Feedback Score
    0
    Anyone have any luck getting mplayer to work? I want to be able to convert to some sort of "normal" video file for displaying on a webpage. I upload MMSes right to my site, and already convert on-the-fly the qcp audio voice clips to wav (I use them for a sort of audio caption: www.humpa.com/phonecam ). If I could do the same with the 3g2 files I'd be psyched.

    I'm trying to install mplayer on a unix (or linux) machine. I seem to have the latest quicktime drivers (at least the most recent from here:
    http://www.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/codecs/

    mplayer works, just not for any 3gp or 3g2 videos. I dont get a codec error, just a boatload of lines with errors like this:
    ODML: Aspect information not (yet?) available or unspecified, not writing vprp header.
    Pos: 50.9s 618f ( 0%) 0fps Trem: 0min 0mb A-V:0.053 [0:0]


    If anyone knows anything about mplayer, I'd be grateful for some insight.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmm, everytime I try to open 3g2 files from my TF card with Quicktime on my PC, it says "Could not open the file - - - - .3g2 because it is not a file that Quicktime understands. Any ideas or thoughts?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    16,690
    Device(s)
    TBolt, DroidX, Incredible, Droid1, Omnia II, HTC Imagio, BB Tour, BB Storm,Touch,Dare,Voyager
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Headsets:
    Feedback Score
    0
    you need QuickTime 6.5.1 or newer to view .3g2 files.

    You can also use the Megable video program - that will even allow you to use Windows Media Player, if that's your kick.
    Last edited by Humpa; 12-26-2004 at 02:32 PM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    63
    Device(s)
    v710
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am trying to get the Nextel dance party commercial on my phone and cannot seem to make it the right format. It is a mov file which is recongized by quicktime, but when I go to try to convert in mpeg4 it does not recongize the file. Am I missing a step? Also, I need to know of any other programs other than QT Pro that will edit the size(length) of the mpeg/wav etc... Thanks!

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Humpa
    you need QuickTime 6.5.1 or newer to view .3g2 files.

    You can also use the Megable video program - that will even allow you to use Windows Media Player, if that's your kick.
    Updated my Quicktime and now it plays Much appreciated

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Razr
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    i can get the video to play on the phone i just cannt get sound. anybody have any ideas?

    thanks

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    319
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    which video, one you downloaded or converted yourself?

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Razr
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    one i converted myself with the mpegable

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    319
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ignore Step 3: Encoding Profile as we are going to create our own profile.

    Next click the Image Preprocessing Tab. Check the second box(Cropping/Resizing) Then press setup. In the Absolute size section click the QCIF(176x144) circle. In the Resizing mode section Click Bicubic and check the High Quality Box. Hit OK

    Next is the Video Preprocessing Tab. In the Target Framerate section click User Defined box and type 15

    Next is the Interoperability Tab. Click the 3GPP Circle and hit ok on the pop-up Now change the Audio Codec to AAC

    You do not need to use the Movie info Tab

    Move along to the Audio Encoding Tab. Change the bitrate to 48kBit/s, Channel to Mono and the Sample Rate Conversion to 22050 Hz

    Finally we are at the Video Encoding Tab. First change the Video Bitrate to 92kBit/s

    Move back to the Basic I/O Tab and press the Red Circle to begin encoding.

    Make sure you follow these directions, if you still have problems let me know

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Razr
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    done that, still no go

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    406
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6280
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone
    Feedback Score
    0
    you should encode the audio as NB, not WB

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Razr
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    what would you set the audio Bitrate at.

    i changed the codec from acc (described in the walk through) to nb and still did not have sound?

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    319
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    48 k bit/s mono 22050Hz
    Last edited by nikolasmor; 01-03-2005 at 12:22 PM.

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Razr
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got it!




    Ignore Step 3: Encoding Profile as we are going to create our own profile.

    Next click the Image Preprocessing Tab. Check the second box(Cropping/Resizing) Then press setup. In the Absolute size section click the QCIF(176x144) circle. In the Resizing mode section Click Bicubic and check the High Quality Box. Hit OK

    Next is the Video Preprocessing Tab. In the Target Framerate section click User Defined box and type 15

    Next is the Interoperability Tab. Click the 3GPP Circle and hit ok on the pop-up Now change the Audio Codec to AMR-NB

    You do not need to use the Movie info Tab

    Move along to the Audio Encoding Tab. Change the bitrate to 12.2kBit/s, Audio Codec to 3GPP AMR NB

    Finally we are at the Video Encoding Tab. First change the Video Bitrate to 92kBit/s

    Move back to the Basic I/O Tab and press the Red Circle to begin encoding.

    Make sure you follow these directions, if you still have problems let me know




    thanks to everybody for the help

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    319
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also make sure that in the interoperability tab you are selecting 3GPP and AAC...if you have MSN Messenger ....crap you just got it......what was the problem? just in case others run into the same issues?

Page 2 of 29 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... LastLast

Bookmarks