Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 103

Thread: Sidekick Outage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    843
    Device(s)
    Motorola Q9m(Sprint)
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    Sidekick Outage

    Does anyone know anything about this "Global Outage"? I just had a customer in my store, she said that her Sidekick, as well as those of her co-workers, have not been working for about two days! CC said it was a "Global Outage" and she had no ETR. My T-Mobile rep didn't even know about it. You would think there would be communication on this!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    getting more
    Posts
    596
    Device(s)
    c510a
    Carrier(s)
    tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    !!!

    i know
    !!!
    wtf . it was on and off today.
    bad thing is i did a hard reset to try to get it to connect.
    DO NOT HARD RESET!
    i lost all my info. i have no emails, phone contacts, nothing!
    i've been using the aim txt msg service in place of the gprs aim.
    it's very annoying for them to be out for this long
    i'm not sure if they even know what's the problem..
    i called CS yesterday and they gave me 50 bonus min for the inconvenience. i have no use for the 50 min but the lady had no idea what the problem was and when it's gonna get fixed.
    anyone else talk to CS?

    im surprised more sidekick ppl are not complaining

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    241
    Device(s)
    White Chocolate
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    my sidekick2 says network unavailable.. its annoying.. it was working a bit yesterday but now nope no network
    - Alex

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tidewater
    Posts
    22
    Device(s)
    Sidekick 2
    Carrier(s)
    Cavalier
    Feedback Score
    0
    See Below
    Last edited by Duke of Paducah; 03-07-2005 at 06:59 PM.
    Duke of Paducah

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tidewater
    Posts
    22
    Device(s)
    Sidekick 2
    Carrier(s)
    Cavalier
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by Duke of Paducah
    No web functions here in Virginia since 12:15 PM yesterday. I was online when it quit.

    Don't accept OTA updates and don't do hard resets until it is fixed. If you do you will likely loose all your applications, games and data, including your address book. In most areas the phone is still working. Some have reported changes in their email folders and other email errors and corruptions when they tried to use it.

    It's probably best to just sit tight until things are back to normal.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    241
    Device(s)
    White Chocolate
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    thanks for the good info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    276
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Stop freaking out. If you do a hard reset when you get service back everything will re-download. I called customer service everyday for the past 5 days complaining and they finally agreed to pay half my bill today because i threatened to cancel and started talking all this contract garbage. My suggestion is call up and get them to cut your bill in half and just wait til they fix it. When you get gprs service backa ll of you information will redownload.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ultramookie.com
    Posts
    393
    Device(s)
    Moto Q9H Global
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: !!!

    Originally posted by e46shift
    im surprised more sidekick ppl are not complaining [/B]
    Oh, we are complaining. Complaining a lot.

    http://www.signalstrength.org/index.html

    http://www.hiptop.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=26204

    http://www.ultramookie.com/wayback/2...ours-downtime/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    58
    Feedback Score
    0
    Im with fido in canada and ive been out for just about 2 days also....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tidewater
    Posts
    22
    Device(s)
    Sidekick 2
    Carrier(s)
    Cavalier
    Feedback Score
    0
    rhysiez... If I had initiated a hard reset in an effort to fix the web problem, I would have been without my Alarm Clock, Converter, calendar, note pad, to do, games and Address Book for a day and a half so far. They all work fine without web service.

    Calling everyday for 5 straight days sounds a bit more like "Freaking out" to me, although it may be justified under the circumstances.

    Nobody said the data could not be recovered.
    Last edited by Duke of Paducah; 03-07-2005 at 09:31 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    getting more
    Posts
    596
    Device(s)
    c510a
    Carrier(s)
    tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by rhysiez
    Stop freaking out. If you do a hard reset when you get service back everything will re-download. I called customer service everyday for the past 5 days complaining and they finally agreed to pay half my bill today because i threatened to cancel and started talking all this contract garbage. My suggestion is call up and get them to cut your bill in half and just wait til they fix it. When you get gprs service backa ll of you information will redownload.
    i know this, just want to make sure ppl don't hard reset for the obvious reasons.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ultramookie.com
    Posts
    393
    Device(s)
    Moto Q9H Global
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cnet just picked up on the outage:

    http://tinyurl.com/5ru3a

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Aloha State
    Posts
    4,594
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Jeez! And I thought I was the only one having these problems with my Sidekick. Service was down for me since Sunday. It was going in and out for most of the day.



  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    getting more
    Posts
    596
    Device(s)
    c510a
    Carrier(s)
    tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by ultramookie
    Cnet just picked up on the outage:

    http://tinyurl.com/5ru3a
    somewhat good news. more public, less likely to happen again imo

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tidewater
    Posts
    22
    Device(s)
    Sidekick 2
    Carrier(s)
    Cavalier
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the Post Ultramookie. Glad to see this getting more media attention. One of the cabe news channels made "short" mention of the outage a few hours ago also.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Bookmarks