Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 87

Thread: ringtones not making it to the phone

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Motorla V710
    Feedback Score
    0

    ringtones not making it to the phone

    im trying to email rings to my phone and there just not getting there. i just got the phone today but its all up and i have gotten texts and stuff before so im not sure why its not working. the verizon wireless pix sending thing doesnt let me send it (says bad media type or something when i try to upload it). any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    16,690
    Device(s)
    TBolt, DroidX, Incredible, Droid1, Omnia II, HTC Imagio, BB Tour, BB Storm,Touch,Dare,Voyager
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Headsets:
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by morph166955
    im trying to email rings to my phone and there just not getting there. i just got the phone today but its all up and i have gotten texts and stuff before so im not sure why its not working. the verizon wireless pix sending thing doesnt let me send it (says bad media type or something when i try to upload it). any help would be appreciated.
    Rename it to a .mid and send it to [email protected] - don't convert, just rename it. Make sure windows is not simply renaming it to yoursong.mid.mp3, it must be yoursong.mid (Tools > Folder Options > View > uncheck "hide extensions for known filetypes):
    http://zano6.home.att.net/V710_TransFlash.htm

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Motorla V710
    Feedback Score
    0
    i tried that...its not working. also im just using #'s with no - in the address i assume thats correct (eg [email protected] instead of [email protected]). ill try it again but as of last night it wasnt working.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    16,690
    Device(s)
    TBolt, DroidX, Incredible, Droid1, Omnia II, HTC Imagio, BB Tour, BB Storm,Touch,Dare,Voyager
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Headsets:
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by morph166955
    i tried that...its not working. also im just using #'s with no - in the address i assume thats correct (eg [email protected] instead of [email protected]). ill try it again but as of last night it wasnt working.
    Does that email address work at all? Can you send an email without an attachment?
    How about sending an actual midi file? Or how about a known good mp3 ringtone (like from one of the V710 download sites) renamed to a .mid?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Motorla V710
    Feedback Score
    0
    nothings getting to the phone at all...i tried sending a plane text one w/o any attachments with no luck. ideas?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48
    Device(s)
    v710
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    similar problem

    Hi, I have a similar problem with sending ringtones to my phone. I renamed it to song.mid
    I've tried it before and it only worked once. What happened to me is that I receive the txt with the attachment but when I open the attachment, the ringtone is only 1 second long when it should be a full ringtone.
    Does anyone know how to fix this?

    thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    16,690
    Device(s)
    TBolt, DroidX, Incredible, Droid1, Omnia II, HTC Imagio, BB Tour, BB Storm,Touch,Dare,Voyager
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Headsets:
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by morph166955
    nothings getting to the phone at all...i tried sending a plane text one w/o any attachments with no luck. ideas?
    Are you on Verizon?
    Do you have software version 1.40.0R?
    Have you done anything to the phone?
    Can you send text messages? Can you receive a text message if you send it to [email protected]?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    23
    Device(s)
    Motorla V710
    Feedback Score
    0
    also note...even if the ring is good if the phone is in vibrate or silent mode it wont display the option to set the song as a ringer so just make sure your set in ring mode.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    124
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mark, I'm trying to add some Star Wars sound wav's as my ringtones and can't get them to work. I've spent 3 days trying to change them tp mp3 or midi to no avail, couls I possibly email them to you and have msg them to my cell as midi's?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brewc
    Mark, I'm trying to add some Star Wars sound wav's as my ringtones and can't get them to work. I've spent 3 days trying to change them tp mp3 or midi to no avail, couls I possibly email them to you and have msg them to my cell as midi's?
    What software do you have? Do you by chance have Nero 6 Ultra Edition? if so, see what I posted -> http://howardforums.com/showpost.php...4&postcount=25

    Or for using freeware take a look at what someone else posted -> http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/204360

    If that doesn't work, send me a PM...
    Verizon Wireless Customer Council Member
    Verizon PHONE Hacking Info & How To's click -> HERE, <-- If you have suggestions PM me
    Need Help? PLEASE POST IN THE FORUMS instead of PM'ing me!!
    Read -> An Open Letter to those who PM me for help!


    New to forums? -> Posting and you! <-a MUST Watch for all!!

    Equipment I Have/USE click here, Phone Labs Dock-N-Talk...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0
    ok well yea called verizon,some feature was turned off....Works now.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    240
    Device(s)
    VX6800
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mark, first of all let me say thank you for all the work and information you provide!! I used your info to send ringers to my GF's V710 and it works GREAT!!! Now, I just got the E815 and am trying to do the same thing. But .mid files are not getting thru, and .mp3 files get converted to .qcp and cannot be used as ringers.

    How do I get around this?? I've even tried using the file you list on your site (CTU24.mp3). I saved it as CTU24.mid and sent it thru my Comcast email (just like to the V710) to [email protected]. But when the message gets there, there is no file, even though it shows the "attachment" icon next to the message.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NKTizzle
    Mark, first of all let me say thank you for all the work and information you provide!! I used your info to send ringers to my GF's V710 and it works GREAT!!! Now, I just got the E815 and am trying to do the same thing. But .mid files are not getting thru, and .mp3 files get converted to .qcp and cannot be used as ringers.

    How do I get around this?? I've even tried using the file you list on your site (CTU24.mp3). I saved it as CTU24.mid and sent it thru my Comcast email (just like to the V710) to [email protected]. But when the message gets there, there is no file, even though it shows the "attachment" icon next to the message.
    For the E815, you don't need to rename as .MID before sending... So try sending .MP3's as MP3..

    Also, try Gmail or Hotmail... Some people reported problems when using Comcast's mail... I haven't tried comcast, so I can only say what I've read...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    240
    Device(s)
    VX6800
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mark, you once again prove your wisdom. Can you update your site with the info about the Comcast problems? I got a Gmail account real quick and sent it no problemo!!!!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NKTizzle
    Mark, you once again prove your wisdom. Can you update your site with the info about the Comcast problems? I got a Gmail account real quick and sent it no problemo!!!!!
    where is the best place to put it?

    I can add to the FAQ that when using the email trick, that while Gmail is confirmed to work, Comcast can have problems... There are a couple others in the how to email thread listed to work... so I'll pick them out to..

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks