Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 195

Thread: TUTORIAL: tether your motorola/nokia/se phone to your mac with via BT!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0

    TUTORIAL: tether your motorola/nokia/se phone to your mac with via BT!

    Motorola and nokia and SE are very similar, i'll note the differences so i dont have to write it twice
    http://www.taniwha.org.uk/files/Motorola3G2004-05.sit <--Moto scripts
    http://www.taniwha.org.uk/files/Sony...3G-2005-01.sit <--SE scripts
    http://www.taniwha.org.uk/files/Nokia3G2004-12.sit <-- Nokia Scripts
    (install them in to /Library/Modem Scripts/ folder-you dont need the text scripts...)

    make sure the phone is paired to your laptop, go to the bluetooth tab under the network panel in system preferences,
    PPP tab:
    **telephone number wap.voicestream.com ** (this may be different if you pay for the full internet-use internet2.voicestream.com or internet3.voicestream.com if u use vpn)
    all things should be unchecked in teh ppp options button except TCP header compression
    **under the proxies tab, you're going to need to use a web proxy. so check the web proxy tab, and the proxy address is 216.155.165.50 and where it says 80 change it to 8080** (you do not need to do this if you're using internet2 or internet3)
    now under bluetooth modem, wait for dialtone before dialing, enable error correction and compressiion should be checked.
    As for the modem script, you'll have to try all of the ones you installed (things are called Motorola 3G CID 1 or 2, Nokia 3G CID 1, etc...) cos it varies for different phones
    acheck show modem status in menu bar if it isnt already
    hit apply now, and then try connecting! the phone may ask for permission for a connection. accept it if it needs it! any problems or questions? PM me!
    good luck

    PS-if you're on the wap proxy, and are trying to use ichat, etc, it may not work unless you go under the accounts panel and under server settings and choose connect using proxy
    Last edited by themacace; 07-20-2005 at 03:20 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl and Philly, Pa
    Posts
    613
    Device(s)
    BB 8320
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    This seems dumb, but only someone with unlimited data/internet should use this right or else it'll cost an arm and a leg.

    It'll charge data and not just minutes right?
    Barely used 8700g F/S with box and all standard accessories. PM if interested.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    wont cost minutes.. EVER. its not makign a phone call. u have unlimited data with tzones/tmobileweb/unl internet/vpn plan.
    just some differences in ports, hence the need for the proxy for some people.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    not even 1 thank you??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    804
    Device(s)
    Motorola DROID
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Question:

    How would you do it with a cord?
    Like with a USB cable that connects a Motorola V300 to USB. On Mac OS X 10.3, how can you get it to recognize the phone as a GPRS modem and use it for an online connection?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    plug in the cable turn on the phone
    restart comp
    it should show up as a port
    in system preferences
    under network

    same configuration

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    87
    Device(s)
    Moto p280, Moto v635! w/ HS850
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    thanks for info...

    I really need to collect all the Mac/Moto info here at Hofo and make a superthread/sticky someday.. Posts like these are very helpful, but are so scattered ... are hard to track down even with the "Search" function...

    Have a good one..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    26
    Device(s)
    HP 6945
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    It works! Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    1,478
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5, LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    The biggest load of crap I ever heard... It kept saying some modem error and disconnecting before it would connect...

    Nice try though
    Sprint Individual 450+300 Bonus Everything Data -
    Unlimited Pick 5 Minutes, Unlimited 3G/4G Data, Unlimited Mobile HotSpot, Unlimited Text/Video/Picture/VoiceSMS Messages, 300 Bonus Minutes For Life, TEP, Unlimited 6PM Nights, Any Mobile Anytime and 25% discount - $75 AFTER tax
    T-Mobile Truly Unlimited Data+Talk+Text 4G- (Even More Unlimited Talk+Text+Data 4G)
    Unlimited Anytime Minutes, Unlimited Voice/Text/Picture/Video messages, Unlimited 3G/4G Data, PHP Bundle Insurance $79.99 BEFORE tax

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    walford... what would give the error-the comptuer or the phone? what phone are you tethering the mac to, and what OS is it on?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jwdsail
    I really need to collect all the Mac/Moto info here at Hofo and make a superthread/sticky someday.. Posts like these are very helpful, but are so scattered ... are hard to track down even with the "Search" function...

    Have a good one..
    the whole idea of this would be that it would BE a superthread... needs to get stickied though... (Could someone pm a mod about that? )

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    bump keeping this thread on the first page so its useful to people!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    *edit* thanks for the sticky darla! *edit*

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    852
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Great post Themacace! Thanks for the info! Been trying to get my 6630 to work with a mac using bluetooth, and now with these scripts it might work! Will let you know if it does.

    Thanks again.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    thanks. if anyone needs help outside of this, let me know, and if the help works, il add it to the thread!

Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 LastLast

Bookmarks