Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 63

Thread: D500 + Legacy AT&T mMode/WAP/MMS = Solution

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by heidimarie
    Hello!!!! PLEASE HELP ME!!!

    I just bought a U600 Samsung phone online and I am a cingular/att customer. I have the text message settings set up but I cant get the internet or email to work for the life of me!!!! Please help. If you could just tell me how to set up the internet and the email preferences!!! There is a lot of information on here and I dont know exactly what pertains to me. If you could please help me you will be my herooo!!! THANK YOUUU!!!
    Post 32 worked for me (partially). I have the U600 as well.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    52
    Device(s)
    Samsung 437
    Carrier(s)
    ATT blue //
    Feedback Score
    0

    IM setting on A437

    I just got the A437 and am using the old ATT blue sim.

    Got it unlocked, used the WAP/MMS settings posted by Mango. It works great. Thanks a lot.

    Wondering if anyone have the IM(instant messaging) setting available?

    Many thanks.

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just purchased an unlocked cect A988 which appears to be incapable of receiving/sending MMS messages or having any internet access of any kind. Does anyone know of anything I can do about this or am I just stuck with what I have?????? I've been looking for instructions like yours but my phone will take everything but the last numbers for the mms setting as wel as the last letter for the Wap address. Is there anything I can do about this??

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2
    Device(s)
    CECT A988
    Carrier(s)
    At&t / Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unhappy

    I have a new unlocked A988. I used these settings and i was able to go from unable to connect to Network busy, please wait. However, I still can't receive or send mms or internet capability. I am still trying to figure it out, but am afraid I'll pull all my hair out before i do it. I can't find where to put the port info at though. maybe that's my problem. If anyone can help me, I'd be grateful.

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2
    Device(s)
    CECT A988
    Carrier(s)
    At&t / Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Btw - both Cingular & Samsung's Tech Support have been utterly worthless.[/QUOTE]



    I have to agree with you there. At&t told me they couldn't take the time on a non-company phone like mine. I got settings from the ebay seller and some from here, but not all bugs are worked out yet.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    tMobile Sidekick

    I have two tMobile sidekicks (my hubby works for Moto) but we have Cingular. I have put the cingular SIM card in, the phone and text messaging work fine. I'd like to be able to make it so the phone will also surf the internet... How can I do this?

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Motorola V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T with a 3g Sim Card
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have the same problem with my Cect A988+, can't access the web or send and receive texts. If anyone know the right setting. could u plz help me out?

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Waianae, HI
    Posts
    14,165
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S5 Active, Samsung Captivate
    Carrier(s)
    at&t (formerly Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did a Google search and found this on some site.

    WAP

    ***First Step***
    1.Main menu --> Select Services
    3.Select Data Account --> Select GPRS
    5.Select the first entry
    6.Edit the account name to whatever you would like
    7.Edit APN to wap.cingular (lowercase)
    8.Edit Username to [email protected] (UPPERCASE)
    9.Edit Password to CINGULAR1 (UPPERCASE)
    10.Edit Auth Type. to Secure
    11. Save

    Select Back --> Select Back

    ***Second Step***

    Select WAP
    1.Select Settings --> Edit Profile
    3.Select the first entry --> Edit Profile
    5.edit the name to whatever you would like
    6.Edit Homepage to http://device.home
    7.Edit Data Account to the Name you established in the First Step
    8.Edit Connection type to HTTP
    9.The IP address is 066.209.011.032 and the port number is 8080
    10.Edit Username to [email protected]
    11.Edit Password to CINGULAR1
    Select back or done
    Select Activate Account


    You should now see a Black [G] in the upper left of your screen.

    MMS

    Select Messages --> MMS --> Message Settings
    Select Server Profile
    Select the first entry
    Select Edit Profile
    Edit Rename Profile to whatever name you would like
    Edit Home Page to http://mmsc.cingular.com
    Edit Data Account to the same data account you created for WAP
    Edit Connection Type to HTTP the IP address is 066.209.011.032 and the port is 8080
    Edit the Username to [email protected] (UPPERCASE)
    Edit the Password to CINGULAR1 (UPPERCASE)

    Select Done or Save
    Make sure to activate the profile and you are good.
    If you feel that you have to correct some of my posts for my capitalization of some of my words, then just bear with it. It's just a discussion forum where some may be limited by time to answer in well-versed and eloquent sentences.

    I already got a PHD (Plain High School Diploma) so ignore my style of writing and I'll ignore your ignorance.

    Subject: You can read this-trust me!

    I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdgnieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid. Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoatnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a porbelm.
    Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Amzanig huh? yaeh and I awlyas thought slpeling was ipmorantt!

    When asked if I see the glass half empty or half full, I responded I see just a glass of water.
    Now you know how I think.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Motorola V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T with a 3g Sim Card
    Feedback Score
    0
    Would this work even though I have a 3G sim card?

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Waianae, HI
    Posts
    14,165
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S5 Active, Samsung Captivate
    Carrier(s)
    at&t (formerly Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fthtdtjt
    Would this work even though I have a 3G sim card?
    It doesn't matter as the settings are standard to access/logon to the network. If the Device and network are 3G then the speeds will be 3G. If one or the other isn't, then it will access using EDGE/GPRS speeds.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Motorola V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T with a 3g Sim Card
    Feedback Score
    0
    What do you do when it asks you for the GPRS access point?

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    Help me with my Samsung e840

    I've tried every possible setting I could google on this form or elsewhere. I still can't access the web or send mm messages. Mostly though I want to know how to text to an email address. Is that possible. Oh I'm att/cingular in Los Angeles.

    Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

    - Mark -

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have an unlocked samsung a437 (AT&T originally) and am using it on suncom. whenever I try to receive a picture message, I get the "Unknown subscriber" message. If it is any help, I have a suncom sim card that is white with blue writing, and it has "v3.0" on it.

    I would try the settings that are posted on here, but I doubt they would work since they are for AT&T. Can anyone help?

    Edit: I just called suncom and they sent me a message, so now it works. For whoever may have a problem, here are the settings it changed:

    Profile name: Picture Message
    Server URL: http://mms.suncom.net:088/mms
    Proxy: Enable

    GPRS Settings:
    Proxy Address: 66.150.33.125
    Proxy Port: 8080
    APN: mms
    Login ID: blank
    Password: blank
    Last edited by beachinit; 06-04-2008 at 08:20 PM.

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Vibrant
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Blue, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Legacy on BB 8120 trying to use mmode

    I'm also feeling like a techno dummy, but can't seem to set my BB using mmode and have been trying for days. I have a new at&t unlocked BB 8120 and a Legacy sim. Wi Fi works well, but would like to access email using Yahoo or gmail.

    Its probably like learning to walk, you start with baby steps. So if anyone can help me with the initial steps, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    anyone have a similar work around for an XV6800 windows mobile on Verizon? I do not have a data plan, but do have a strong wireless signal.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Bookmarks