Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50

Thread: Verizon V3c- BT DUN on Mac OSX 10.4-Working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    V3c (Alltel flash)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Verizon V3c- BT DUN on Mac OSX 10.4-Working

    OK I got it working you need to force it to use pap. I found an applescript somwhere which will do it. Here it is

    Code:
    display dialog "This script disables CHAP support in Mac OS X.
    
    You will now be asked for your admin password
    in order to modify a system file (/etc/ppp/options)." buttons "OK"
    set normal_command to "touch /etc/ppp/options;chmod a+w /etc/ppp/options;echo \"refuse-chap
    refuse-mschap
    refuse-mschap-v2\" > /etc/ppp/options;chmod a-w /etc/ppp/options"
    do shell script "sh -c " & quoted form of normal_command with administrator privileges
    display dialog "Thank you.
    
    To re-enable CHAP authentication, remove
    the /etc/ppp/options file." buttons "OK" giving up after 5

    1. Disable EVDO on your phone (not sure if needed)

    2. Configure the dialer
    phone: #777
    user:[email protected]
    pass: vzw


    3. run this applescript- if u use other DUN connections, not sure what this will do

    4. enjoy.
    Last edited by dsb4103; 12-12-2005 at 12:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    Razr V3c
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am guessing you have to disable EVDO, since this doesn't work on my phone with EVDO enabled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    V3c (Alltel flash)
    Feedback Score
    0
    yea, I figured that out. EVDO must be disable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    Razr V3c
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Works great once I disabled EVDO. Never really used it anyway.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2
    Device(s)
    razr v3c
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    it works! oh praise the lord!

    omg, dsb4103... it works. i can't thank you enough. so. now, how do we get it to work the way it *should*?

    or is that too much to ask from verizon? i smell one of those v.710-style suits. or is that my dinner burning from about 4 hours ago when i started this simple task?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    74
    Device(s)
    Motorola V710
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fukvzw
    omg, dsb4103... it works. i can't thank you enough. so. now, how do we get it to work the way it *should*?

    or is that too much to ask from verizon? i smell one of those v.710-style suits. or is that my dinner burning from about 4 hours ago when i started this simple task?
    This seems to work, but what is this CHAP that we are disabling with the applescript?

    -J

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    V3c (Alltel flash)
    Feedback Score
    0
    CHAP (wikipedia) is a protocol for encrypting your password over PPP. OS X seems have some type of autodetection mechanism for determining if and which encryption protocol it should use when connecting via PPP, evidently this doesn't work so well. So this applescript disables CHAP forcing OS X to always use PAP. Once I have some more time, I will look into ways for just disabling PAP for the one network connection, because this disables it for all PPP (dialup) connections.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Vassar College
    Posts
    120
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8GB
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    where do we run that script? how?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    V3c (Alltel flash)
    Feedback Score
    0
    You have to open your applescript editor. Then paste it in there and run it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Vassar College
    Posts
    120
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8GB
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok, I ran that. But when I go to connect it says a modem error occurred and to check the settings. What could I be doing wrong. I disabled EVDO, ran the script, and set up the info. Could it be my account doesnt allow it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Vassar College
    Posts
    120
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8GB
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok me again: Got it to work! This is gonna be cool for when I need to check mail and what not on the run.

    Does this cost per minute or MB?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nice, the script works like a charm. I just tethered in 1x mode and got the following speed test result from the dslreports.com:

    2005-12-21 11:09:27 EST: 118 / 69
    Your download speed : 118 kbps or 14.7 KB/sec.
    Your upload speed : 69 kbps or 8.7 KB/sec.

    While it would be nice to have EVDO tethering, 1x is plenty fast for checking e-mail or limited web browsing.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    17
    Device(s)
    razr v3c
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    dumb question...when you configure the dialer, i assume that you are setting it up under the bt setup menu on the mac. which modem do i pick?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just used the "Verizon Support (PC 5220)" Modem Script. It works fine.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    71
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CrankyTodd
    I just used the "Verizon Support (PC 5220)" Modem Script. It works fine.
    Same here! Thanks OP! Worked flawlessly!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Bookmarks