Thread: Extended Network? What Does That Mean?!

Phones
    Nokia E71-2
    Nokia E66-2
    iPhone 1st Gen
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score

Extended Network? What Does That Mean?!

Well i am a verizon newb!..i have both Nextel and Verizon, just got the a razor v3c, anyways, I am on a trip down to Myrtle Beach SC, and my phone says Extended Network, does that mean i am going to get charged for roaming and all my calls? I tried *228 and it comes up Alltel. WTF...i thought verizon was nationwide? Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Phones
    Nokia E71-2
    Nokia E66-2
    iPhone 1st Gen
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    well i figured it out by looking at the coverage map on verizon and reading the fine print, and doing some searches on the site, from what i gathered 'extended network' means verizon picks up the tab on roaming and your home air time/rate is in effect still. I am on the americas choice plan, and all of NC is covered, so there is no reason why i cant make calls and not be charged. As soon as i walked two miles down the road to the SC border boom, back onto verizon, seems most of southern NC is Alltel. Hopefully i wont get charged.

Carrier
    U.S.: Verizon, T-Mobile USA; CH: Sunrise; D: Vodafone
    Feedback Score
    You will not get charged for Extended Network calls. Normal airtime, like you're on the Verizon network, will apply.
    Hope this helps.

Phones
    LG DARE
    Thunderbolt
    DARE
    Carrier
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    Yes, Extended Network just lets you know that your fone is currently on another companies "system" but your billing will not be affected.
    "I'm All In!"

Phone
    Sanyo MM-9000
    Carrier
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    I just read the brochure for the unlimited IN text messaging plans and it said they can only be used in the NationalAccess & Enhanced Services network
    and not while in the America's Choice network. How is that supposed to work?