Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Bell BorderZone Michigan is great! no LD+roaming

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    216
    Feedback Score
    0

    Bell BorderZone Michigan is great! no LD+roaming

    I live down in Windsor and got a bell RIM 7130e phone with the BorderZone feature... it's great! no LD and no Roaming charges in the Zone! and with the EVDO network, i'm glad i stuck with Bell.

    Do they have similar zones elsewhere?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14,633
    Feedback Score
    0
    Curious: Does Windsor have EVDO? I don't see it on the latest coverage map (June 2006).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14,633
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also, is this a new feature? The only other similar service that I was aware of is for analog devices only...and the 7130e has no analog capability.
    Last edited by jase88; 08-03-2006 at 05:51 PM. Reason: Correct grammar

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    45,469
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Samsung-SPHA900 AU-MIC/2.0 MMP/2.0)

    Is this new? My dad gets roaming charges when he's at the boarder casinos including Windsor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14,633
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (nuclear signal: BlackBerry7250/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109)

    Quote Originally Posted by rip
    Wirelessly posted (Samsung-SPHA900 AU-MIC/2.0 MMP/2.0)

    Is this new? My dad gets roaming charges when he's at the boarder casinos including Windsor.
    Can't he set his phone to "home only"?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    45,469
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Samsung-SPHA900 AU-MIC/2.0 MMP/2.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by jase88
    Wirelessly posted (nuclear signal: BlackBerry7250/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109)

    Quote Originally Posted by rip
    Wirelessly posted (Samsung-SPHA900 AU-MIC/2.0 MMP/2.0)

    Is this new? My dad gets roaming charges when he's at the boarder casinos including Windsor.
    Can't he set his phone to "home only"?
    Yes i did that after i noticed it on the invoice, he's a tech retard or just a plain retard I never know where they in on their little casino trips so setting for home isn't always an option.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Downtown Toronto
    Posts
    118
    Phones
    BlackBerry 8310 Curve
    Samsung a920 - Bell Mobility
    Carriers
    Rogers EDGE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rip
    Wirelessly posted (Samsung-SPHA900 AU-MIC/2.0 MMP/2.0)

    Is this new? My dad gets roaming charges when he's at the boarder casinos including Windsor.
    You must have a Windsor, Sarnia or Leamington Bell cell number to qualify.

    I used to live in Windsor back when digital was just starting out and it was great... although back then they used to charge you a $0.11 or $0.12 connection charge per call. I'm thinking that they no longer charge you this with the Boarderzone feature.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    216
    Feedback Score
    0
    it's a free feature that you request. you need a windsor, sarnia or leamington #. launched in december 2005, i think.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    GTA'ish
    Posts
    2,530
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by buzzinhornets
    it's a free feature that you request. you need a windsor, sarnia or leamington #. launched in december 2005, i think.
    That stinks, I'm in Windsor so often visiting family and of course we Border Shop and would be great to be able to use the phone on the other side hee hee ..

    Cool though that they finally carried this over to digital..


    Website Design & SEO Specialist

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    258
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes it is goofy the way all the carriers (Rogers/Bell/Telus/Cing/Verizon) have handled the border situation between Detroit and Windsor..."it's free if you stay on analogue" "call to get the BorderZone package" etc etc. (BorderZone may have coincided with them launching CDMA-only devices, come to think about it)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    9,455
    Phones
    Apple iPhone 4, Sprint Treo 800w
    iPhone 4
    Palm Treo 800W
    Carriers
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's why I like my old US. AT&TWS plan... all roaming + ld included in the US by default. Add $9.99/month, and it includes long distance and roaming in Canada, and just takes from my minutes
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    94
    Phones
    Blackberry Tour
    Blackberry Storm
    Carrier
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hey there, a warning to those living in Windsor/Essex county!!! This feature is great, if you can get CS to understand that the zone is within that drawn "circle" on the above map. CS only has 5 cities within michigan that they think its Roam/LD free. SO, in short, every month since Nov 05, i have had to call in to have them read the supervisor notes in the account, and credit my bill the necessary charges. Should anyone have any problems with this "feature" that must be added, please let me know- i consider myself to be an expert with this, seeing as i dealt with it for almost a year now.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    216
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by steveoh
    Hey there, a warning to those living in Windsor/Essex county!!! This feature is great, if you can get CS to understand that the zone is within that drawn "circle" on the above map. CS only has 5 cities within michigan that they think its Roam/LD free. SO, in short, every month since Nov 05, i have had to call in to have them read the supervisor notes in the account, and credit my bill the necessary charges. Should anyone have any problems with this "feature" that must be added, please let me know- i consider myself to be an expert with this, seeing as i dealt with it for almost a year now.
    actually, i spoke with an account executive and those problems are gone... as of may 1, CS and the billing system was 'enhanced' to include everything within that drawn line.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,801
    Phones
    Apple iPhone 5 64gb
    Blackberry Pearl 8130, Blackberry 7250
    Motorola Timeport p8767, Nokia 6185
    Carrier
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only thing I heard was that people were having trouble roaming in Ann Arbor for free... that it would "toggle" after the billing cycle.
    Cheeri'o...
    Frankie...

    Please Note: I do not work for Bell. I also do not work for any wireless retail outlet.
    Do not ask me about promotions or offers from wireless providers.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    406
    Phones
    Moto G US Version (Telus HSPA, prepaid)
    Samsung Ace ii X (Bell, monthly)
    Retired: Optimus One, GIO, Moto Q, V262, KE424c, Moto 270c, Samsung T300, QCP 2760 and Sony brick
    Carriers
    Telus (Clearnet)
    T-Mobile, Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    And yet here, in Ottawa, our calling region is tiny. There is a corridor where you cannot call the house you're in without making a LD call. And Telus roams on it, of course!

    It was based on Bell's archaic LD model.

    -gmd

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks