Thread: SIM cards and phone activations

Phone
    iPhone
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score

SIM cards and phone activations

If you have multiple phones can you just take the SIM card and put it into the other phone and have it work? I realize that the ESN is attached to the phone itself, and each phone has a unique ESN, but if you activate a SIM card, is the SIM registered to the ESN on the phone or can you just pop it into another phone (this is all assuming we're on the same carrier).

I apologize if this question seems elementary or confusing, I'm still learning about how GSM works. I'm looking at buying the 8125 (currently on Verizon, and looking to switch to Cingular) and would also like to get the new 3125 when it comes out. If I wanted to use the 3125 one day as opposed to the 8125, could I just switch the SIM card from one phone to the other and have it work?

Also, I've heard that the SIM card also contains the contacts and what not, is this true? If it is, that would be nice to be able to switch phones with a SIM card and have all of your contacts already in there.

Thanks.

Phones
    Samsung Captivate
    Samsung Captivate
    Motorola V3xx (retired)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    All of your account information is contained on the SIM, so, yes, you just move it to the new phone, and, as long as the phone is either locked to the same carrier or unlocked, it'll work. Simple as that.

Also, just for reference, GSM phones do not have an ESN. They have an IMEI, which is sort of like a serial number, but it isn't attached to your account the way an ESN is.

And to answer your last question, yes, you can store your contacts on the SIM or the phone. The advantage of using the SIM is portability, but the disadvantage is that you can only store one number per name. To have multiple numbers per name, plus e-mail addresses, physical addresses, etc., you have to store contacts in phone memory.
    The 411 on Free 411