Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 140

Thread: CU500 remove Java permission prompt how-to

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8800
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyB
    Would anyone be able to upload the modified "permission" text? I must be dense or too tired but I'm not sure if I'm editing the focument correctly.

    TIA
    The first post shows you the modified file. Basically get the file scroll to the bottom and paste the above changes in for the Un-trusted domain. You don't need to modify anything else.

    I recommend session: over allow: so that you are prompted once per use of the application (instead of never).

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    143
    Device(s)
    Nexus One (AT&T 3G)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thelegend_16
    This was a great tip.

    Spent a lot of time finding the required software (especially the modem...as an old driver simply hung up my whole machine).

    I ended up using the "session:" setting instead of "allow:", so that I am still prompted for security reasons...but only once if I so choose.
    Speaking of modem driver, which one did you end up using?

    I can't find a single one that has worked in tethering mode... I know tethering works fine over bluetooth so it should work...

    What is the file name of the modem driver you are using?

    -James

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8800
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Rumor has it that doing a google search for LGUSBModemDriver_Eng_Ver_4.5.exe might pick up the right modem drivers...

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    108
    Device(s)
    Cingular 8525
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    OMG dude you are freaking awesome.... this has to be one of the best things to ever happen to me!!! now i can use google map without the annoyance!!!

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    91
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmacdonald801
    This is the first attempt at a hack. Glad I could help.

    As a java developer by trade, I was convinced there was a way to do this after I learned about QPST.

    If anyone has a more recent version of QPST that recognized the CU500 natively instead of partially, maybe there is more I could figure out.

    -James
    I have a version 2.7,built 91

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    N. VA / Wash DC
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    BlackJack Stock WM5
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is awsome! Is QPST 2.7 the newest? Found it on rapidshare.de. Are we sure the driver file is called LGUSBModemDriver_Eng_Ver_4.5.exe ?

    Now all I need is a cable...GRRRRRR

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8800
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is a 2.7 build 215 out there (mobile-files.com).

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    N. VA / Wash DC
    Posts
    435
    Device(s)
    BlackJack Stock WM5
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thelegend_16
    There is a 2.7 build 215 out there (mobile-files.com).
    Ok is build 215 the newest?

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    143
    Device(s)
    Nexus One (AT&T 3G)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thelegend_16
    There is a 2.7 build 215 out there (mobile-files.com).
    I could not find a reference to build 215 on mobile-files.com

    -James

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,072
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmacdonald801
    I could not find a reference to build 215 on mobile-files.com

    -James
    It's there. I just went looking for it myself after "legend" posted about it.

    I did a forum search for "qpst" and found the download link that way. (Had to wade through a few pages of search results, but it was there).

    The name of the software and it's version number were in the thread subject name, if I remember right.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    QPST unable to find the phone

    Hi. I read all the messages on this post and was able to successfully download/install QPST build 215 and the LG Modem Drivers (by doing a search for LGUSBModemDriver_Eng_Ver_4.5.exe). When I run EFS Explorer it is then unable to find the CU500 (the "Phone Selection" dialog has nothing inside). Can someone please help! The java notifications are driving me nuts with opera and googlemaps.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8800
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Run QPST Configuration before running EFS Explorer.
    If your phone is not showing up on the default ports click "Add Port" button (lower right).
    Your phone should be connected to one of these...add that port.
    Open EFS Explorer and you should see your phone.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,072
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sthapit
    Hi. I read all the messages on this post and was able to successfully download/install QPST build 215 and the LG Modem Drivers (by doing a search for LGUSBModemDriver_Eng_Ver_4.5.exe). When I run EFS Explorer it is then unable to find the CU500 (the "Phone Selection" dialog has nothing inside). Can someone please help! The java notifications are driving me nuts with opera and googlemaps.
    Try checking the COM port that's been assigned to your CU500 while it's connected to your computer and then configure QPST accordingly. QPST doesn't check COM ports beyond ports 1 & 2, so if your PC assigns any COM port number higher than that, QPST will not auto-detect your CU500.

    You can see what COM port your CU500 is using by looking in the Windows Control Panel at the Phone & Modem Options.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hi. I tried what you suggested but no dice after 30 mins. I've posted screenshots of what I'm seeing here coz I figure that'll make it easier.

    http://sthapit.googlepages.com/cu500

    Thanks for any help

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8800
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    You should select the one that has "Diagnostic" not the modem.

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Bookmarks