Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 140

Thread: CU500 remove Java permission prompt how-to

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    29
    Device(s)
    Samsung Eternity
    Feedback Score
    0
    here's the permission file that I backed up, I saved it as permission 2 so you'll have to rename it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Houston Cellular Market
    Posts
    7
    Device(s)
    Cingular 8525
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, CaffeineGamer, if you load the LG USB drivers then the phone will be recognized by BitPim as a sort of generic device. This will allow you to access the file system, but not things like the phone book.

    If you need more detailed instructions for using BitPim I'd be happy to help, but reading back over this thread should answer the questions for you. That's what got me through it at least.

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    How do you not save as a text file? Or, is it okay to put the edited file back onto the phone as a .txt file?

    thanks

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8800
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by see-you-500
    How do you not save as a text file? Or, is it okay to put the edited file back onto the phone as a .txt file?

    thanks
    Do not put it back as a .txt file, it won't work. After you make your modifications if you have the .txt extension simply right-click on the file and rename it. permission.txt -> permissions

    put this renamed file on the phone.

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    thanks. i'm an idiot.

    works perfectly now.

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    LG CU500
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just got my data cable. QPST would not work for me (would not let me copy files off the phone), but BitPim did. BitPim did give me an issue trying to copy the file back to the phone, saying something about how the Phone provider had blocked files from being modified in that directory. However, I rebooted the phone and tried again and it worked. I suspect the file was locked because it actually in use or something along those lines.

    Anyway, after changing the file and doing Version Update on several apps, they stopped asking to connect to the network. Very nice. Good job figuring this one out!

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    65
    Device(s)
    Sony Ericsson W760a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does BitPim or QPST require a memory card to be in the phone to detect it as a storage device?

    Also, are you guys just buying the regular data cables from eBay or is there a specialized cable?

    thanks!
    My Heatware Evals | HoFo Feedback | eBay Rating available

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    howdy all... First a thanks to Jmc for what could be the realization of my dreams. Second, I just got my LG 500... I have read all nine pages on the thread and feel like all questions I face can be answered with this resource. BUT... am I too late to the game?? All of the driver and links appear to be expired... any help on where to find the modem driver and qpst is GREATLY appreciated.... Cheers from Austin..

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    65
    Device(s)
    Sony Ericsson W760a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    you're from Austin and can't effectively use the internet? that's the tech capital of the south my friend!

    I'm just kidding with you. BitPm is opensource and is googlable:

    http://www.bitpim.org/#download

    the LG drivers are hinted earlier in this thread but if you google "LGUSBModemDriver_Eng_Ver_4.5.exe" you will find the cingular user forums with a download link.

    If the link is dead from cingular forums, i'll email it to you when i get home. Just reply back to this thread.

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    FWIW, and as thanks to all the useful information, this page

    http://au.lgmobile.com/webwar/jsp/phones/mnswList.jsp

    has a software download for TU500, which is the same as our CU500. It includes a USB driver, Outlook/ Outlook Express sync program and Phone Manager app which lets you add, modify or delete contact info on your PC then send it back to the phone.

    Disconnect the data cable before installing the USB driiver, and you might have to power the phone off/on if it doesn't see your phone.

    I don't use Outlook so can't say anything, but Phone Manager is great. Bitpim sees my phone but I haven't gone any further with that yet.

    There's another bitpim hack, and good information, at

    http://comerford.cc/wordpress/?page_id=146

    (which links back to this thread).

    Hope this helps someone down the line,

    John

  11. #131
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    8 GB iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thelegend_16
    I started a new thread on this, but the application can now be downloaded from the soruceforge website.

    Thx! Found it.

    Jeff
    This space for rent!

  12. #132
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    29
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6030. Nokia6790
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just got the CU400 and was wondering how similar it is to the 500. I don't have a (working)pc at the moment, and have no experience with editing. I use Opera Mini exclusively and the ask once per page thing is getting old,fast. TIA
    Opera Mini"Try it, you'll like it!"

  13. #133
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    LG CU500
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok, I did it once before but I had to get a new phone and I can't figure out how to do it again. I can't get the phone to show up under the EFS Expolorer.

    EDIT-NVM, it just showed up now
    Last edited by vaio76109; 05-06-2007 at 04:16 PM.

  14. #134
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Java permissions hack doesn't work

    I am sorry to report that the Java permissions hack does NOT work for Google Maps. Anybody have any other ideas?

  15. #135
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Apologies, I solved the Java hacks problem. I didn't read far enough upstream in this thread. I finally realized that you have to delete all Java apps and then reinstall for the hack to work.

    BT

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Bookmarks