Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Tracfone worked in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rural
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Samsung Alias (SCH-u740)
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tracfone worked in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

    Just thought I'd share this tidbit of information...

    I was in the Dominican Republic earlier this month on vacation. I'd brought my Tracfone with me thinking it wouldn't work. When we arrived Punta Cana, my friend tried calling home with her brand new Razr post-paid Cingular phone. She was furious when it didn't work because she'd called Cingular the week before to ensure that it would work.

    I tried by little Motorola v60i and it worked! In fact, I used it often during the week to call home and the coverage was fabulous.

    I was shocked but very happy.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    1,079
    Phones
    Droid 3, SE W518,
    Atrix HD, HTC 8925
    Carrier
    Net10, TMO, H2O, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have read of TracFones working in other countries, where the frequencies are compatable, and your underlying carrier has roaming agreements. However, when the foreign carrier charges your carrier for the usage, you may get a notice from TracFone, and have your service cut-off.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    94952
    Posts
    4,510
    Carrier
    Platinumtel
    Feedback Score
    0
    i would say 20 or so min is fine, just dont do any hour long calls(tracfone prob pays like $4 min)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    466
    Phones
    LG Vu CU920
    Motorola RAZR V3xx (backup)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I used my Nokia 2126i in Freeport, Bahamas when I was there at the beginning of August. It was using analog the whole time, I guess there's no digital there. My service never got cut off either. I used it quite a few times. Now I have a GSM phone and moved my number to that phone. I wish I had a GSM phone at that point to see if it would get shut off. My sister had her Cingular phone and it got a signal, but she wouldn't use it because of roaming charges.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    718
    Phones
    Palm Centro
    Motorola Razr
    Carriers
    Sprint PCS (SERO)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone know if a gsm tracfone will work in freeport?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    1,079
    Phones
    Droid 3, SE W518,
    Atrix HD, HTC 8925
    Carrier
    Net10, TMO, H2O, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dustenm
    Does anyone know if a gsm tracfone will work in freeport?
    The major carrier in the Bahamas was TDMA/Analog, now converting to GSM. I think I read that their GSM is only 1900 Mhz, currently, and that someone did use a GSM TracFone, there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Rural
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Samsung Alias (SCH-u740)
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's been about a month since our trip to the Dominican Republic and so far, I've had no news from Tracfone regarding the calls I made.

Bookmarks