View Poll Results: What do you think about XFF's AlphaTag software?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • It's great! Everything works as it should.

    28 43.08%
  • I tried it, but didn't like it.

    2 3.08%
  • I tried it, but couldn't get it to work.

    9 13.85%
  • Doesn't sound like something I'd want - never tried it.

    26 40.00%
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 130

Thread: Updated AlphaTag software available

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,793
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0

    Exclamation Updated AlphaTag software available

    Have you ever wondered which system you're roaming on, but all your handset shows is the dreaded "Extended Network" or "Roaming" tag? While this may be sufficient for users who don't care about anything beyond whether they'll be assessed additional roaming charges for the call or not, for those users who are more interested in the particulars of their mobile service, those non-specific tags are hardly satisfying. The good thing is that most modern handsets are actually perfectly capable of displaying the name of the carrier you're currently roaming on, that capability just isn't being used by the default programming.

    This is where XFF's "AlphaTag" software comes in. The .PRL and .BIN files included in this archive will allow an ERI capable handset with VZW service to display the actual name of the carrier that the handset is currently registered with, rather than the generic phrases that are being displayed by default. After installing XFF's "AlphaTag" software on your handset, you will see descriptive tags such as "Sprint PCS" or "U.S. Cellular" on your handset's display when you're in those service areas.

    A new version of XFF's AlphaTag software is available for download immediately. This release updates the roam lists to match the current set of official PRLs released on 12/18/06 and adds support for AC II / EV-DO handsets and rate plans.

    See the included readme.txt for further details...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by XFF; 12-20-2006 at 05:20 PM.

    PRL Interpretations
    XFF's AlphaTag software
    Cellular and PCS License Maps
    Quote Originally Posted by gpatrick900
    I am a little confused. My Verizon phone was able to roam on GSM because they used TDMA. Tell it was shutdown. The phone recognizes it as Analog. If PCS has TDMA, It could be technically be used on GSM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tabla View Post
    Y'know, I'm used to hysterical 14-year-old ******** on the internet, but this is exceptional. Never before in human history have so many nerds hyperventilated so publicly over so little.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    Moto KRZR k1m (Alltel Firmware)
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Looks good. I put it on my phone, but will not be in an extended area for about a month. I am not expecting it to work right because how it looks in PST, but I tried it.

    Here is what a real moto eri file looks like:

    Here is what yours looks like:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    258
    Device(s)
    Moto KRZR (AllTel)
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,
    Feedback Score
    0
    I get the same results in PST. Is the 'corrupted' view of the ERI file a PST issue or is this ERI file simply not meant for Moto phones? Thanks for your input!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Southwest VA
    Posts
    734
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Will this work on a Moto V260? I'd love to have this functionality, but just want to make sure it will work before I attempt to put it on.
    -Rizon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    Moto KRZR k1m (Alltel Firmware)
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, it does not work on the k1m. I randomly get a flashing roaming indicator and never see any text, even in verizon service areas.

    I would love to get this working, it is a great idea.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,809
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11ProMax/Note 9
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA, Verizon, AT$T
    Feedback Score
    0
    you cannot use PST to upload it if i remember correctly, you have to use something like qpst or p2k commander. i dont remember where it's at in the filesystem though.
    Verizon: Grandfathered UDP
    T-Mobile: Magenta Amplified (airline employee plan)
    AT&T: Premium & More w/ Free 100Mbps VDSL2 "for life"
    Sprint: Premium Unlimited (for 100GB hotspot!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Appleton, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Device(s)
    Omnia i910
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Awesome job XFF. Works great on my Samsung a950.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Southern US - Born a Brit!
    Posts
    504
    Device(s)
    V3i Razr - My 'city' phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility - going, going, GONE!
    Feedback Score
    0
    Will this work for Sprint phones as well or just Verizon...?

    Can someone make something like this for Sprint - would sure be nice!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Appleton, WI
    Posts
    1,158
    Device(s)
    Omnia i910
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is just for Verizon phones, will not work with Sprint.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Central KY
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just my luck; I left for Xmas vacation yesterday and didn't bring my data cable along! If no one reports on how this new prl and eri work on an lg, I'll try it and report back in a week or so.

    Thanks for your hard work, XFF!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    7,482
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, I will be driving up to Naperville, IL tomorrow. I should see if the Alphatag works there or not. Hopefully I could see which provider I'd be roaming with.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    305
    Device(s)
    iPhone3G
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    i would love to apply the tags but i have one question,

    i THOUGHT i read somewhere that installing the AlphaTags will disable the EVDO functionality of your phone. i am a wh0re for vcast when i am bored.

    will the alphatags make me lose my evdo, or am i full of it?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,793
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    This new release will preserve EV-DO functionality, just make sure to deploy the correct PRL file (vz-59722.prl).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    305
    Device(s)
    iPhone3G
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    awesome!!

    is there a tutorial on how to install this? i just got a 9900 and dont want to brick it

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,638
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Bookmarks