Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Serious error. Stop charging. Stop using your phone and contact a Sony Ericsson call

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    Sony W810i
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0

    Serious error. Stop charging. Stop using your phone and contact a Sony Ericsson call

    Just took the phone off the charger this morning, and I see this message on my Cingular w810i phone:

    Serious error. Stop charging. Stop using your phone and contact a Sony Ericsson call center.

    After a quick google, and not seeing any results, I decided to post this here, in case others saw this problem.

    Cingular transferred me to Sony Ericsson for support. S/E asked me to remove the battery. I had an aftermarket battery installed. They told me that because I had used an aftermarket battery my phone was now "out of warranty", (six months early) and offered me fee based service. Rather than fighting the issue, I put my original Sony battery back in, and we'll see if the error returns.

    Worth mentioning the first w810 I purchased died the first day I had it with a white screen. Cingular replaced it. This one has lasted six months. Hopefully this error is truly battery related and won't come back.

    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    15,919
    Device(s)
    Sharp 903SH (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    now you know why people prefer not to get w810is through cingular. my 0.02

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,619
    Device(s)
    W995a / HTC HD2
    Carrier(s)
    ■T■■■Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    You shouldn't have bought a branded phone for one. And for 2 you shouldn't have mentioned or used the after market battery.
    If cingular gave you that battery, well I would think they are responsible for the problem you encountered.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sandy Eggo
    Posts
    5,610
    Device(s)
    Progressive Black W995a
    Carrier(s)
    PacBell/Cingular/AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Learn something new everyday. I've never seen this problem before and it's kinda interesting that the phone would behave this way with an aftermarket battery.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    714
    Device(s)
    SE T616
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    First time seeing this msg.

    Pretty neat how the phone has some sort of error detection for different problems, rather than those unexpected app errors etc etc.

    Hope using the original battery will save your phone.
    University of Waterloo Student
    Engineering



    Home: Markham, Ontario




  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    toronto, canada
    Posts
    6,752
    Device(s)
    DoCoMo S0905iCS White, HTC Magic
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers 3G
    Feedback Score
    0
    hahaha i never knew it can display such msg. maybe try putting in the original battery and see?


    SE: T200, T237, K750i/W800i, w900, K800i (x2), w300, w600, z710i/w710, M600i, W810i, K790a, W580, T650i, W760i, W980i
    Apple: iPhone 8GB (x3), iPhone 3G 16GB White
    HTC: TyTn II, Cruise, Touch HD (x3), G1, Magic
    DoCoMo: SE SO905iCS (x2)
    SoftBank: HTC X01HT (x2), Samsung 707SC, Sharp 904sh
    Nokia: N95 8GB, Nokia E71-2, Nokia N79-3

    Heatware: marktang

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Posts
    10,205
    Device(s)
    Nokia Lumia 920
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Family Talk 700- 5 Lines
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Well I never saw that message before except when in the Service menu and you can look at all of the text that the phone can display.

    Oh well. It is not SE or Cingular's problem. It is your problem for using Aftermarket junk.
    ▼Visit my Blog▼

    ▲..................▲

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    441
    Device(s)
    SE K790i w/ 1GB M2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've had a similar msg on my k790i when used with an aftermarket car charger. It said something along the lines of "Charging Error. Srop Charging immediately!". Needless to say, I returned the charger and got another aftermarket one that worked
    Voytech

    ...the never ending quest of finding a better phone...

    My Theme|My Smoke Breaks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    2,192
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ouch that is a tough break. Goes to show that oem is expensive but in always seems to be the case that you get what you pay for.



    Not all phones are created equal

    My Feedback

    E66 Review

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,085
    Device(s)
    FOMA SH905i by Sharp - Blue
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's a pretty friggin' demanding message you got there from your phone. Who's the boss?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    873
    Device(s)
    Moto Milestone (Telus), Nokia N82
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Everyone bashes saying "This is why you don't get branded phones"

    How come Cingular doesn't deal with this? T-Mobile would. Branded phones are the exact same, they just feature their version of software. Is this why you don't buy Dell computers also because they use their OEM version of Windows XP/Vista?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    2,192
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dmo
    Everyone bashes saying "This is why you don't get branded phones"

    How come Cingular doesn't deal with this? T-Mobile would. Branded phones are the exact same, they just feature their version of software. Is this why you don't buy Dell computers also because they use their OEM version of Windows XP/Vista?
    Most people bash branded phones since carrier firmware aka cingular has had a bad track record when it comes to their firmware and SE.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    15,919
    Device(s)
    Sharp 903SH (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cingular FW is a nightmare

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,619
    Device(s)
    W995a / HTC HD2
    Carrier(s)
    ■T■■■Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ace587
    Cingular FW is a nightmare
    T-Mobile is just as bad.

    Cell carriers cripple phones to take away features that make the phones so great.
    Then they want to charge you more for a phone that has the feature that they disabled on the other phone. A scam.

    That's why branded phones suck.

    Quote Originally Posted by dmo
    Everyone bashes saying "This is why you don't get branded phones"

    How come Cingular doesn't deal with this? T-Mobile would. Branded phones are the exact same, they just feature their version of software. Is this why you don't buy Dell computers also because they use their OEM version of Windows XP/Vista?
    They are not the same!
    My T809 was missing alot of features, until I turned it into a D820.

    Computers are different in a way from cell phones.
    Last edited by waldog; 04-02-2007 at 04:05 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    2,192
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by waldog
    T-Mobile is just as bad.

    Cell carriers cripple phones to take away features that make the phones so great.
    Then they want to charge you more for a phone that has the feature that they disabled on the other phone. A scam.

    That's why branded phones suck.


    They are not the same!
    My T809 was missing alot of features, until I turned it into a D820.

    Computers are different in a way from cell phones.
    100% agree i've never seen a computer that didn't allow me to set mp3's as ringtones or had bluetooth diabled for obex simply because it was running "dell's version of xp" instead of an "unbranded version of windows xp" .

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks