Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Have Only One Phone? No Tech Support 4 You!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0

    Have Only One Phone? No Tech Support 4 You!

    I recently learned that T-Mobile will NOT connect you with
    a Tech Support Rep unless you either OWN a 2nd phone
    or have access to one!


    I still find it hard to believe, because the last 3 times I
    needed Tech Support -- I got it, no problem.


    But somehow T-Mobile must have made "notes" of the
    fact that I own only one phone (the Wing), and now
    they refuse to turn me over to Tech Support unless I
    call in on a 2nd phone!


    Even if my problem can be solved WITHOUT the need
    for analyzing the phone's performance via a 2nd phone,
    I still need to call in on a 2nd phone!


    I'd like very much to know if any others have had this
    experience.


    I thought maybe I'd just reached a CS Rep who was
    misinformed, (because I'd never had this happen before),
    so I asked for her supervisor.


    The Supervisor, who told me her name was Jessica (and
    that her # was 1048715) gave me the same story --
    though I explained to her I didn't have a 2nd phone,
    and I happened to be passing thru a neighborhood
    where I'd prefer not to use a Pay Phone.


    She wasn't very sympathetic. She suggested I go to
    the nearest T-Mobile store and use "their" phone. I
    told her it was at least 15 miles away, and that I had
    better things to do than drive 15 miles to a T-Mobile
    outlet and ask to use their phone. (Besides, my problem
    was one that any Tech Support Rep should easily be able
    to answer w/o my needing to call in on a 2nd line.)


    She was adamant. "I'm sorry, sir, but we cannot put
    you thru to Tech Support unless you call in on a 2nd line."


    Personally, I think it's outrageous. Even my last carrier,
    with all its faults, never gave me this kind of song and
    dance.


    I told this supervisor that I wanted her name and number,
    because I intended to report this on the internet at
    Howardforums and a few others. I told her, "there are
    probably quite a few others, like myself, who have no
    2nd phone . . . after hearing what you've just told me,
    do you think they'll want to buy a phone from T-Mobile?"


    She (Jessica, Supervisor # 1048715) didn't even seem
    interested in the question.




    Stroker_High

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Washington D.C.
    Posts
    217
    Device(s)
    BB 8830
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    normally if you want support on your phone, you cannot be calling on it. call on a landline

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Im guessing that because you did not list the actual issue it was probably something that they would need you on a different phone anyways.....

    What was the issue? If it was something simple like a common procedure, the CS rep probably would of helped you. Either that or you just "asked" for technical support and did not give a reason why.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    94553
    Posts
    5,479
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus 128GB Black
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    what is the problem here? Its kinda hard to troubleshoot a device problem when your using it to call them....

    Jeff
    HoFo Feedback



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    20
    Device(s)
    Razr V3 LE [T-Mobile]
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Stroker_High
    I recently learned that T-Mobile will NOT connect you with
    a Tech Support Rep unless you either OWN a 2nd phone
    or have access to one!


    I still find it hard to believe, because the last 3 times I
    needed Tech Support -- I got it, no problem.


    But somehow T-Mobile must have made "notes" of the
    fact that I own only one phone (the Wing), and now
    they refuse to turn me over to Tech Support unless I
    call in on a 2nd phone!


    Even if my problem can be solved WITHOUT the need
    for analyzing the phone's performance via a 2nd phone,
    I still need to call in on a 2nd phone!


    I'd like very much to know if any others have had this
    experience.


    I thought maybe I'd just reached a CS Rep who was
    misinformed, (because I'd never had this happen before),
    so I asked for her supervisor.


    The Supervisor, who told me her name was Jessica (and
    that her # was 1048715) gave me the same story --
    though I explained to her I didn't have a 2nd phone,
    and I happened to be passing thru a neighborhood
    where I'd prefer not to use a Pay Phone.


    She wasn't very sympathetic. She suggested I go to
    the nearest T-Mobile store and use "their" phone. I
    told her it was at least 15 miles away, and that I had
    better things to do than drive 15 miles to a T-Mobile
    outlet and ask to use their phone. (Besides, my problem
    was one that any Tech Support Rep should easily be able
    to answer w/o my needing to call in on a 2nd line.)


    She was adamant. "I'm sorry, sir, but we cannot put
    you thru to Tech Support unless you call in on a 2nd line."


    Personally, I think it's outrageous. Even my last carrier,
    with all its faults, never gave me this kind of song and
    dance.


    I told this supervisor that I wanted her name and number,
    because I intended to report this on the internet at
    Howardforums and a few others. I told her, "there are
    probably quite a few others, like myself, who have no
    2nd phone . . . after hearing what you've just told me,
    do you think they'll want to buy a phone from T-Mobile?"


    She (Jessica, Supervisor # 1048715) didn't even seem
    interested in the question.




    Stroker_High
    Wow! They should let you talk to Tech Support!
    Check out Mobile2Mobile! A place to talk about cell phones and other mobile devices.

    Mobile2Mobile (CLICK HERE)


    There is a new contest!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Cephiro
    Posts
    2,723
    Device(s)
    BB Bold 9780
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US - myFaves
    Feedback Score
    0
    They probably put "Special Notes" on your account to the tune of "Customer has only one phone, thus unable to troubleshoot. No transfer to tech support unless calling from a 2nd line." A few things, firstly never volunteer that info to T-Mobile, the reps are trained to notate everything. Don't ever say you intend/want to record a call, they will special notate your acct and then you're doomed as every rep will be suspicious or paranoid of you recording. Secondly call the International Roaming number, 505-998-???? (forgot the rest). It goes directly to tech support, they are very friendly.

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffro01
    what is the problem here? Its kinda hard to troubleshoot a device problem when your using it to call them....

    Jeff
    He did identify otherwise...

    Even if my problem can be solved WITHOUT the need
    for analyzing the phone's performance via a 2nd phone,
    I still need to call in on a 2nd phone!
    T-Mobile is just anal about every little thing. The key is not to give them too much unneccessary info. I once called to get help with a phones settings, the rep asked if I was on the phone. I was but told her no, as the issue did not require me to hang up or not be in a call. I am savy enough to navigate the menus and perform functions while being on a call. The newer phones allow everything to be done while in call, I've been able to access the internal menus via those special codes even while on a call. Ultimate I just prefer self help online either on T-Mobile or the manufacturer's web site. It's only when it's a network issue that I call. 99% of these reps tell you to power down your phone for everything anyway. Good luck!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    4,262
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    They always want you to be on a seperate line. I think it reduces call backs and is more likely for them to be successful on the first try, because they can test their fix while their talking to you. Makes sense to me. whenever I have an issue I always try to call from a diff phone as I will be more likely to get the problem resolved. This can lessen the amount of wait time by reducing the shear number of calls they deal with. So if you need tech help, call in on another phone.
    I do understand your frustration tho.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    353
    Device(s)
    Nokia 7370
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I work in TC. CC is supposed to make sure you're talking on a phone other than the one that's having an issue before transfering you to Tech Care. They usually don't which makes things tougher for Technical Support. The VAST MAJORITY of issues will require you to be speaking on another phone. A network reset is one of tech's cure alls, but will drop your current call if you're on the phone. You can't access the internet while speaking on the phone, if that's your issue. Most testing to ensure one and done cannot be done while you're on the phone. You probably got a tech rep on the phone once who notated on your account SPECIFICALLY to make sure that you're on a different phone before transfering, just to remind CC of the policy. Pretty much anything that tech wouldn't need you on a seperate phone for you can do yourself, like if it's something that needs to be changed or updated on T-Mo.com.

    I actually only have 1 phone myself. I call either when my husband and I are together (which is not very often lately since we have opposite schedules) or I go to a relative's house. I always find it VERY difficult to believe that someone has absolutely NO access to another phone at all. I've had customers that I have absolutely needed to have on a different phone in order for me to continue troubleshooting, and come across that resistance. "You don't have any friends, relatives who may be able to assist you? You can use a pay phone or go to a T-Mobile store and they're usually able to allow you to use their phone." Many of my customers haven't believed me that I need them on a different phone to fix their issue, so don't assume that your issue can be resolved with you on your phone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    1,977
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Curve 8320
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MagicKnight
    They probably put "Special Notes" on your account to the tune of "Customer has only one phone, thus unable to troubleshoot. No transfer to tech support unless calling from a 2nd line." A few things, firstly never volunteer that info to T-Mobile, the reps are trained to notate everything.
    Even if he doesn't volunteer the information, we can tell if he's calling from that number most of the time. The phone system identifies the calling number. If it matches the number he is calling about, then obviously he's calling on the same phone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    16,115
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by europamo
    normally if you want support on your phone, you cannot be calling on it. call on a landline
    That's nonsense. There are penty of times I've needed to contact Tech Support for things that had nothing to do with my phone. It was all provisioning issues that were beyond the ability of the regular CS reps.
    Donald Newcomb

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    794
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Flip
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I like how the OP makes it seem near impossible to call from another line. Dude, you have a CELL PHONE. Towers go down, batteries die, etc. Have a backup!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1,579
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    When you call tech support it warns you if that you are calling from the handset with the issue, hangup and call from another line.

    Btw, borrow a friends phone or use your work phone to talk to tech support. Sorry, but not that hard of a concept.
    "The City of New York vs. Homer Simpson" (#179/#4F22); September 21, 1997

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,971
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    Feedback Score
    0
    The subject of this thread is misleading.

    I'm in agreement with other posters. If you only have one mobile phone and are having issues with it, you should call T-Mobile from a landline or other phone.

    They can't diagnose a problem with a troublesome mobile phone while you're using the same phone to speak with them.
    T-Mobile customer since 2005.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    8,763
    Device(s)
    Sprint: iPhone 45-32
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wtfphones
    Wow! They should let you talk to Tech Support!
    Thanks for reposting the WHOLE thing in case we can't figure out how to scroll up.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    794
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Flip
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by johncase3
    Thanks for reposting the WHOLE thing in case we can't figure out how to scroll up.
    Haha, he probably didn't READ the whole thing either, considering everyone else agrees that the OP should call from a different phone.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks