Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Prepaid SIMs in London?

Device(s)
    GD55, T68i, T306, C56
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T GSM, Verizon, Virgin Mobile UK
    Feedback Score

Prepaid SIMs in London?

We are taking an 8 day trip to London in a month, and I was hoping to use my unlocked phone while there. I know that there are "prepaid" SIMs available, but I have no knowledge of the costs and plans available. Does anyone have any experience with these? I'd like to know where I should go for one (buy it now or somewhere when I arrive?). Any insights would be appreciated.
    I'm just a question
    Knowing my answer
    I hope I'm wrong

Feedback Score
    Just about cheapest and simplest:

Virgin Mobile UK..

Service Pack £10 with £5 worth of credit

Calls within UK....15p a minute timed to the second for first 5 minutes of use each day...5p a minute thereafter.

Calls from UK to US....20p a minute timed to the second...counts towards 5 minutes of use above

No registering required....buy the service pack, insert the SIM card and you're in

Disadvantage...useless outside UK.

Device(s)
    T-Mobile MDA II w/Plantronics M3000 (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    E-Plus (DE)
    Feedback Score
    Hi Yeti,

Greetings from an American stuck in London lol I'm just kidding, I'm finishing my university degree at an American university here. Your best options for prepaid SIMs are as follows:

As JEFFJAGUAR mentioned, Virgin Mobile UK cannot be beat.

Here are the prices (these are pretty standard at all cellular retailers in London:

Virgin Mobile UK: £9.99
    Orange: £29.99
    O2 UK: £29.99
    T-Mobile UK: £29.99
    Vodafone UK: £29.99

The main cellular retailers in the UK are:

The Carphone Warehouse: www.carphonewarehouse.com
    Phones4U: www.phones4u.co.uk
    Dixon's: www.dixons.com
    The Link: www.thelink.com