Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Adding Chinese language to your phone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0

    Adding Chinese language to your phone

    So first let me describe the way my phone is set up, as a disclaimer and to let you know if you need any modifications

    1. Cingular w810i
    2. da_G's mod pack installed, with some personal options (i don't remember exactly what I added)
    3. Unlocked (Cingular will do this for you if you've had the phone for a while)

    You need to be familiar with da_G's method of using Phone XS and FAR
    see thread here:
    http://howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1107585

    Steps:
    1. Download the FS (filesystem) for the firmware version you want to install, in my case I used W810_R4ED001_FS_HONG_KONG_RED49.fbn and W810_R4ED001_FS_CHINA_RED49.fbn
    which I found here:
    http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?a...er&f=18&t=7699

    Use the main2raw and SEFStool4 to extract the FS's into folders
    The files you want are under:
    \TPA\PRESET\SYSTEM\LANGUAGE\ ZS.LNG and ZH.LNG
    and
    \TPA\PRESET\SYSTEM\MENU\menu.ml

    2. Copy these three files into their corresponding folder on the phone and delete LNG.dat and LNG.dst on your phone in the LANGUAGE folder

    3. Add
    \TPA\PRESET\CUSTOM\Customize.xml
    <allowed-language>zh</allowed-language>
    <allowed-language>zs</allowed-language>
    in the correct section

    and
    \TPA\PRESET\SYSTEM\LANGUAGE\allowed_language.txt
    zh, zs,

    and upload these files to your phone as well

    4. Now instead of using
    W810_R4EA031_MAIN_CINGULAR_RED49.mbn as the working main fw version
    I used
    W810_R4EA031_MAIN_HONG_KONG_HN_RED49.mbn
    Chinese languages I believe require Asian firmware, I haven't tried combinations of TW FW or CHINA FW and if you are willing to experiment please post your results here.

    Please note that these instructions are for adding CHINESE to your phone, with some languages the different firmware rev isn't necessary and you only require adding the LNG files and removing lng.dat and lng.dst

    Hope this saves someone some headache out there.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the guide. But would you happen to have the fbn for generic taiwan ? or where I can find it , I want to flash it with the tw version or if i can just change the lanuage into tranditional chines, that would be fine too ! thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    55
    Feedback Score
    0
    http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?a...er&f=18&t=7699

    That link should have both the FS and Main you require, just search W810_R4EA031

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Device(s)
    SE D750i => W800c
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone CZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    So it is impossible to add Chinese fonts without switching to Asian firmware?
    (I am not talking about typing Chinese now, only displaying)
    :-(
    I have D750i flashed to W800i, but I suppose the filesystem is similar...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Device(s)
    SE D750i => W800c
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone CZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Done. I have flashed my D750i with W800c Chinese firmware.
    Now I am looking for a way to add European languages (mainly Czech and Russian). I have all the *.lng *.t9 language files but I am not sure whether they are cross-firmware compatible. Anyway I suppose it is safe to try using FarManager...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Device(s)
    SE D750i => W800c
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone CZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    100% success.
    Now I can type simplified Chinese, Czech, Russian... maybe I will add French too.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Africa // Tanzania
    Posts
    157
    Device(s)
    Nokia N95
    Carrier(s)
    Vodacom // African Provider
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks this really helped my cousin.
    - Nokia N95
    - Chinese Touch screen+TV
    - Nokia 9300 Communicator
    Nokia 5310 XpressMusic
    - - - - - - Mizah - - - - - -


    -W--W--J--D-

    What Would Jesus Do?
    Just ask yourself that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    SE W850i
    Carrier(s)
    China Mobile mZone
    Feedback Score
    0
    i have a german w850i and want to install chinese language package on my phone. is it necessary to flash it with the chinese firmware, or can i just add the language package ?? would be nice to get detailed instruction how to install it on my phone, cause i don't wanna destroy it. or can i do it in the way described here ?? thx

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Device(s)
    SE D750i => W800c
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone CZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believe it is impossible to get Chinese language support without using special firmware. Once you get it working you can add standard languages with ease.

    For a list of available firmwares check:
    http://www.topsony.com/forum/local_links.php?catid=28
    You need to find out CID of your phone to get the right one (and decide if you want simplified or traditional Chinese - Mainland China / HongKong, Taiwan firmwares).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Temperate Toronto/Ottawa
    Posts
    941
    Device(s)
    w910i
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    is this method only for adding chinese language for display? how do you add chinese typing?

    I currently have R1CA029(CHINA_SH) on my w910... it can view traditional and simplified chinese but it can only type simplified... can i use this method to add traditional chinese typing to my phone?

    thanks!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Device(s)
    SE D750i => W800c
    Carrier(s)
    Vodafone CZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    As for K750 and W800 series I am sure you have to choose either simplified (Main China) or traditional firmware (Hong Kong, Taiwan). So you cannot type both in one phone. Regarding your phone I am not sure but it will be probably the same issue. Sorry to say that. Would be nice to have both possibilites...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    can someone reupload the firmwares? thanks in advance

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    P1i

    I ned help. i have SE P1i, the text inputs are in chinese/hong kong and i want to swtch it back to english and i cant do so. i ned some help plase

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the Info and firmwares please ^_^

Bookmarks