Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: 3G in Erie, PA?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NIMbY Land
    Posts
    19,192
    Device(s)
    LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    huhh, I was just getting ready to reply to a post from a long time ago where the OP was saying the rep said soon. Then I woke up and saw the date and knew he got got.

    ATT does nothing in any kind of time frame that resembles anything real.

    Anyway, I have a house on Eastlawn Pkwy, so good luck.
    Today a group of leading venture capitalists published an open letter to the FCC calling on them to prevent what they say would be the end of net neutrality and a crippling blow to young startups.
    No Google, say it ain't (or wouldn't of been ) so! ATT and Verizon would have killed their own cash cow.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Erie, Pa
    Posts
    1
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    3g?

    any word on 3G in Erie, Pa yet? This is taking forever and I feel like i am getting the runaround from att on this... The told me that it would be up and going by last winter.... hmmmmmm

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NE IN
    Posts
    10,935
    Device(s)
    HTC TILT, 8525, BJI, BJII, SE w580i, w760a, z750a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, Erie, PA is on the map showing 3g, so you can bet it will be real soon, they must have ran into some delays.
    iPhone 4 on AT&T:


    http://www.xti9.com/v3xx[/FONT][/SIZE]

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Device(s)
    Razr V3
    Carrier(s)
    At&t (Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone know how long it usually takes for 3G to go live after appearing on the coverage viewer? They have, as of 6/12, most of Erie county covered in 3G - but as of 6/30 there is still no sign of 3G. Any thoughts?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NE IN
    Posts
    10,935
    Device(s)
    HTC TILT, 8525, BJI, BJII, SE w580i, w760a, z750a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ttttrrrreeeeyyy
    Does anyone know how long it usually takes for 3G to go live after appearing on the coverage viewer? They have, as of 6/12, most of Erie county covered in 3G - but as of 6/30 there is still no sign of 3G. Any thoughts?
    my city was on the map with 3g for about 2-3weeks before we actually got it, there were some unexpected delays, that's why its on the map before it is actually available.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Device(s)
    Razr V3
    Carrier(s)
    At&t (Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Its already been almost 3 weeks so hopefully ATT is launching soon.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    5,363
    Device(s)
    iPhone 13 mini, iPhone 12 mini, iPad Pro 11" M2
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T (Red Pocket), T-Mobile (Good2Go Mobile)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think it just depends on when they decide to update the map. We got a 3G overlay about a week or two before it showed up on the maps. What's more is that the map update was labeled 6/15/09 when the actual overlay occurred around 6/20 or 6/21 and the map was actually updated around 6/25. I think... for some reason those dates seems a little too close together, but it might be true. I recall being skeptical if the overlay was just a test or permanent for nearly a week because they weren't updating the map.


  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NIMbY Land
    Posts
    19,192
    Device(s)
    LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Please tell me they do have a disclaimer on the map telling prospective customers that coverage is just a suggestion, like stop signs in Boston?

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Device(s)
    Razr V3
    Carrier(s)
    At&t (Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've noticed recently when driving in areas that used to have maybe 2-3 bars of edge now have full bars all the time - both on my iPhone and my mothers LG Shine. When ATT deploys 3G do they also beef up the edge signal?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I hope its soon. Edge is slow....

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NE IN
    Posts
    10,935
    Device(s)
    HTC TILT, 8525, BJI, BJII, SE w580i, w760a, z750a
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ttttrrrreeeeyyy
    I've noticed recently when driving in areas that used to have maybe 2-3 bars of edge now have full bars all the time - both on my iPhone and my mothers LG Shine. When ATT deploys 3G do they also beef up the edge signal?

    It's probably from a new cell site. They fired up a few new ones in our area last year around when they deployed 3g.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Erie, PA
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am seeing 3G on my phone!

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Device(s)
    Razr V3
    Carrier(s)
    At&t (Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Finally! I noticed 3G pop-up at about 5:30 PM and I'm getting very fast results from speedtests - as high as 2.5 mbps down and 300 up. That's faster than my Verizon DSL!

    Also, I'm curious... does anyone know if ATT overlayed 850mhz with their 3G expansion?

  14. #29
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Samsung Blackjack II
    Feedback Score
    0
    Finally, Jut noticed today that mine and my wife's phone now say 3G.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Device(s)
    Razr V3
    Carrier(s)
    At&t (Cingular)
    Feedback Score
    0
    ATT is indeed using the 850mhz frequency in Erie - I put my iPhone into field test mode and comfirmed that they are using 876.5 instead of 1900mhz! Great coverage everywhere - I have yet to go below 5 bars.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Bookmarks