Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: Nokia 5610 Unbrand Debrand T-mobile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Nokia 5610 Unbrand Debrand T-mobile

    T-Mobile released the 5610 today in the US. I got one.
    Firmware 0.592
    RM-359 variant 33.02
    Product code from NSS 0557826

    I'm guessing that unbranding will work like the 5300.

    Here is a link that describes how to debrand the 5610:
    http://www.thedvdforums.com/forums/s...d.php?t=509212

    In that case, he changed the product code to 0548371.

    However, that code is for "0548371 04.20 EURO_A, Latin, Warrior_Blue"
    http://www.howardchui.com/mobiles/as...odes-here.html

    You'll see here that the 4.20's are all RM-242's
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...mware_Versions

    Don't know if 0548371 will work on my US T-mobile RM-359. Anybody tried this yet?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Follow up.

    Tried:
    The link that describes how to debrand the 5610:
    http://www.thedvdforums.com/forums/...ad.php?t=509212

    Changed the product code to 0548371 in NSS. Full Factory'd.

    Phone still reports:
    Firmware 0.592
    RM-359 variant 33.02

    NSU reports RM-359,Firmware 0.592, no updates available.

    Application Access still locked.

    Hmmm.
    Last edited by sisquoc15; 08-12-2008 at 05:09 PM. Reason: More Info

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    More Follow up

    Also tried:

    0558562 06.60 RM-242 AMER-L LTA DEFAULT RED

    Phone still reports:
    Firmware 0.592
    RM-359 variant 33.02

    NSU reports RM-359,Firmware 0.592, no updates available.

    Application Access still locked.

    Also tried 0553920 from the FCC approval of RM-359:
    http://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/prod/oet/fo...ive_or_pdf=pdf

    Can't read the code from the FCC approval of RM-358:
    http://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/prod/oet/fo...ive_or_pdf=pdf
    Last edited by sisquoc15; 08-13-2008 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Info

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    From GSM-Forum

    Be careful man, 5610 rm-358 and rm-359 are symbian phones, 5610 rm-242 and rm-279 arent symbian.. Then never try to install firmware rm-242 or rm-279 to your phone, you could kill it.

    -richiricherd

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Something has changed

    1) I'm not sure the information about symbian/non-symbian phones above is accurate. My understanding is that S60 phones are "symbian" and all 5610s are S40v5.

    2) So when I unbranded my 5300 with NSS, *any* change in the product code resulted in the phone reporting itself (*#0000#) as RM146 instead of the original RM147, even prior to using NSU to look for new firmware. Application access switched from not allowed to allowed at this step. Then NSU found a RM146 firmware (with a higher version number) and flashed the phone.

    I would expect that changing the the product code of my 5610 to "0515123 06.60 EURO_A, Latin, Sakura_Red" would result, similarly, in the phone reporting itself as RM-242 instead of RM-359. It doesn't. I would also expect application access would switchfrom not allowed to allowed at this step. It doesn't. Perhaps something has changed with the RM-359 T-mobile 5610 so that an NSS product code change now isn't sufficient to trick the phone into thinking it is a different version of the phone.

    Since the current firmware version for "0515123 06.60 EURO_A, Latin, Sakura_Red" is 6.60 and is higher than my current firmware (5.92) I would expect by changing the product code to 0515123 that NSU would read the product code assume the phone is a RM-242 and flash. Instead it reports the phone as a RM-359.

    I've seen some other forum discussion on newer nokias that an NSS product code change now might not be sufficient to trick the phone into thinking it is a different version of the phone.

    Anyone have any experience with this? Am I missing something?
    Last edited by sisquoc15; 08-15-2008 at 12:13 PM. Reason: more info

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    Nokia 5610
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    i heard you need to use phoenix to debrand the 5610...i dont know what that is but i wanna debrand mine...any ideas?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    phoenix

    {Note from Mod: While you're welcome to discuss, but please DON'T POST LINKS to sensitive materials such as UNAUTHORIZED ACCESS to Nokia Test and Service Software like Diego and Phoenix, Firmware / Data Packages. READ the STICKY http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1305838 Thank you for your attention and co-operation.}

    Anybody have any advice, warnings, thoughts?

    Is the RM-242 going to brick my RM-359 phone? Is phoenix the right tool?

    *Mods, feel free to edit this if phoenix disscussion is not allowed*
    Last edited by Moderator HF 25; 08-19-2008 at 07:48 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    Nokia 5610
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    WOW that sounds really complicated...if you do it lemee know how it goes and if you can tell me exactly what you did so i can copy it that would be awesome too thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    532
    Device(s)
    Nokia N8-00
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.50 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.1.11355/546; U; en))

    Quote Originally Posted by sisquoc15

    Anybody have any advice, warnings, thoughts?

    Is the RM-242 going to brick my RM-359 phone? Is phoenix the right tool?

    *Mods, feel free to edit this if phoenix disscussion is not allowed*
    Yeah, please keep us informed...I used to use Diego to mod my CDMA Nokias, and it was very painless to deal with. I'd love to see some success with the newer GSM models...
    Last edited by Moderator HF 25; 08-19-2008 at 07:42 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    5300
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unhappy Gave up

    Sorry 5610 fans. I had 14 days to return the phone and I couldn't solve the application access problem in that time. Never got phoenix to install right in vista.

    I liked the phone and will probably get it again if a workaround is found.

    Good Luck!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    549
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    can it be unlocked to work on ATT? confirmed??

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,013
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^ Debranding has NOTHING to do w/ Unlocking.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    Nokia 5610
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    so has anyone figured out a safe way to debrand the t-mobile 5610? or any way at all?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    4
    Device(s)
    nokia 5610
    Carrier(s)
    tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    hey question.... im new to the whole debranding thing... i downloaded nss but i keep on getting this read error.. help plz

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    4
    Device(s)
    nokia 5610
    Carrier(s)
    tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    actually i got what was wrong... i tried changing the product code and it didnt work either... where can one get pheonix i wana try it on mine... any ideas????

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks