Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 113

Thread: CRICKET PST Settings Thread! by Ryan Mogul

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    250
    Device(s)
    HTC Mogul PPC 6800 - Cricket EVDO with my Custom ROM
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up CRICKET PST Settings Thread! by Ryan Mogul

    This is for people who want Cricket to work perfectly, just follow these instructions not skipping a beat and you will be OK from then on! If you are not having problems obviously skip this!


    I have updated this thread ONLY to Change a step. Its not a Required Change for current Cricket users however, it may be needed for Phones that have never been on Cricket before. I also re-phrased some things to be more understandable.


    This thread is assuming that you already have your phone Unlocked (spc code all zeros) and that you have already contacted Cricket and had the Phone you are programming added to the Account. You might as well tell them you have a Motorola Razor V3C that will ensure there will be no problems obtaining EVDO.

    Also ask Cricket for your MSID/MIN number (usually not your Phone Number) we will be needing the MSID/MIN if you dont know it, or if the phone was never on Cricket before.

    My HTC Unlock Tools Directory, Read SPC Instructions Readme

    My Cricket WAP and Arcsoft new versions or my Cricket Carrier CAB <--If you are installing one of my Cricket CABs dont test it until your PST settings are correct.

    This thread is also assuming that you already have a CRICKET PRL file loaded in PST. If you have my ROM flashed than a couple PRL files that you can use are on device memory we will get to that later below.


    Important note on PRL files. You must know what kind of Cricket Plan you have. If you have Roaming on your plan you need to use the 5 digit PRL files. If you DO NOT have Roaming on our plan you must use the 4 digit PRL files. Otherwise *228 will not work and you will not be able to Authenticate. Examples below.

    PRL 1013 = Non Roaming
    PRL 38515 = Roaming


    1. Now first thing you want to do is have a good Cricket CAB or ROM installed. This way when the PST settings are done they can be looked over again, and tested.

    2. Now if you are starting from a fresh flash OK, if you are starting from a hard reset OK, we can continue. If you have a ROM installed that is having problems I recommend a hard reset and skip Auto Customizations using stylus when it says you have 3 seconds. If you are confident the ROM you have installed is ready to go then fine. We can continue.

    3. Now open your Phone Application and go to options and make sure smart dial is off. Then dial ##778 call button (PST/EPST), now click edit and enter six zeros. In the Main Page change the NAM name to Cricket, and enter the MSID/MIN number (that you obtained from your old Cricket phone or from Cricket themselves) make sure its a 10 digit number thats in your area code BUT IT IS USUALLY NOT your PHONE NUMBER. If it was already fine we can continue, if you dont know it you may of skipped obtaining this from calling Cricket as stated above. Now click view info and goto PRL, now check to make sure you have a CRICKET PRL (1013,1014, 1040, 1050 etc.. there are others) If you dont have one loaded in PST and you are using my ROM then you can click in Update PRL File (click in the blank area under setting) and then click Menu, edit, browse and it should go to main root (my documents). Pick PRL 1050 (You may have to try another PRL for *228 to work in step below). Then click ok, then Menu, then ok, it will ask you if you want to update the items click ok. Let it do its thing and restart. If you already have a CRICKET PRL then skip the update PRL step but still make sure to click menu, then ok and let it restart.

    4. Now after the phone restarts open phone application again and dial *228 call button (this will make sure base settings are good so i will not have to explain as much, it will also download the proper local EVDO prl to where you are), it will dial cricket and do its programming thing. Do not interrupt this. Let it do its thing even if it restarts. It should say Update complete or Programming complete (if not then try a different Cricket PRL) Now when you are back in action we can continue.

    5. Now open the phone application and dial ##778 call button (PST/EPST), now click edit and enter six zeros. Now click view info and goto AKEY and make sure its blank, nothing there. Now click view info and goto NAM settings, NAM name should be Cricket, Mobile Directory number should be YourTenDigitPhoneNumber, MIN1 should be that other phone number the MSID/MIN that is usually not your phone number, but it should be 7 digits, ex: sevendigitnumber, MIN2 should be just your area code. MSID/MIN should be 10digitMSIDnumber <--again usually not yourphonenumber, This part I only know for USA users MCC should be 310, MNC should be 00 (for other Countries you have to look this up), NMSI should be your MSID/MIN (XX10digitnumber<--usually not your phone number) THE XX'S should be zeros, ex: 007185548692, Now if all these settings in this paragraph didnt need touched assuming you didnt skip any of my steps (which they shouldnt be touched i am just making sure) we can move on.

    6. Click view info and goto CDMA settings, we are going to make sure they are set right and change a couple things for Clearer voice transmissions, people will compliment how good your phone sounds even in some cases. EVRC should be set at Disable, Home page should be Voice 13k, the Two below it the Same Voice 13k.

    7. Click view info click modem settings, change slot cycle index to 1, This will make the phone ring a little sooner, also get your texts a bit sooner. The other 4 options should be Auto, Auto, Enable, No in Order from top to bottom.

    8. Click View Info and pick Security, now we are changing this regardless you must do this, we are going to Unauthenticate you and Re-authenticate, it is a Needed step everything in this How To needs to be done and Not skipped! Change the HDR Auth User ID to something bogus like [email protected], the password below it make it something random but remember it, now do the same for PPP user ID and password but make them the same as the HDR ones.

    9. Click view info and pick MIP Settings, Make sure Active Profile is on 0, MIP mode should be Simple IP only, MIP reg retries should be 1, MIP reg retry timeout should be 2000 ms, MIP pre-reg timeout should be 30, Mobile Node HA auth should be Disable, send a reg request should be Enable, dormant handoff to disable.

    10. Click view info and pick MIP Default Profile, Enable profile should be ENABLE, NAI should be [email protected], MN HA SPI set should be enable, MN HA SPI value should be 12c, MN AAA should be enable, MN AAA SPI value should be 2, reverse tunneling should be enable, home address should be 0.0.0.0, Primary HA address should be 68.28.15.12, secondary should be 68.28.31.12, HA shared secret and AAA secret should be cricket <--lowercase, DMU public should be 0, MN Authenticator should be 0.

    11. Click view info and pick MIP customer profile 1 and make sure Enable profile is DISABLED. Now do the same with the other 4 profiles (profiles 2-5), make sure that the only profile enabled is MIP Default Profile.

    12. Ok now click menu, ok and let it reset, but make sure not to do anything we are going to be going right back INTO EPST, so when it boots back up open the Phone application and dial ##778 call button (PST/EPST), we are going to re-authenticate you its easy, now click edit and enter six zeros, click view info and goto Security, now change the HDR AN Auth to [email protected], password should be cricket<--lower case, same for PPP user id and Password make them same as HDR.

    13. Click view info and goto MIP default profile, make sure the HA, and AAA shared secrets are both cricket<---lowercase, then click menu OK and let it reset.

    Thats it! PST settings are perfect for CRICKET, you have a Local EVDO prl file installed, and you are Authenticated for Data and EVDO, now if you used my ROM just go to internet explorer and goto a real page, and follow instructions but remember to click save password! You can also go back into the Phone Application and turn smart dial back on if you choose.

    Thats done, every Custom ROM flash from now on should never affect your PST settings and you should always be Authenticated. I hope this helps everyone.

    Ryan Mogul
    Last edited by insanecain; 08-11-2009 at 03:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    2,877
    Device(s)
    Sprint Touch on Cricket with working Proxy Bypass, MMS, Java, EVDO Rev. A and GPS
    Carrier(s)
    PWNED by the Cricket Mafia!
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nice job!

    Stickied.
    Code Name: berry_lthird
    Status: Former Mafia® Boss (Retired)
    Quote: "Hi Aquaman!"
    Latest Exploits:
    --Brew/Clicks Confirmed Working for Verizon Samsung Handsets!

    Next Hijacks: Candid photo shoot of local fast food bunny

    My LG VX9900 enV to Cricket Tutorial


    Thread Hijacking will NOT Be Tolerated!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    250
    Device(s)
    HTC Mogul PPC 6800 - Cricket EVDO with my Custom ROM
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up Topic Derailment Split form CRICKET PST Settings Thread! by Ryan Mogul

    Thanks for the sticky this will help Cricket users have perfect PST settings.

    While I am at it, at the bottom is a link to a CAB for users of MY ROMs. The CAB creates a diagnostic folder and shortcuts. The shortcuts are created in your phones start/programs/diagnostic folder. These shortcuts eliminate the need to use the Phone Dialer to access EPST, Debug Mode(Fieldtrial), and Diagnostic Mode(DmRouter).

    Download and Unzip, Copy to Phones Main Memory, Install.

    ..The Mogul..

    RM Contributions: (See other forum signatures for more)

    HTC TITAN WM 6.1 & 6.5 Heavy ROMs
    HTC TITAN WM 6.1 & 6.5 Light ROMs
    Cricket PST Settings Thread + SPC Code Unlocking
    Verizon XV6800 GPS fix
    Cricket WAP & Arcsoft
    MetroPCS WAP & Arcsoft
    XDA Signature



    If you like my ROMs & Threads you can say Thanks & Hit up the Ratings!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    647
    Device(s)
    Trēo 755p (Sprint, flashed to Cricket)
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    :^/ Which model phone is this for? Neither the tutorial nor the title says....
    Official CricKet Mafia member

    ;^) Accomplishments:
    Adapted Cricket Internet to Trēo 755p (Sprint)
    Cricket EVDO on Trēo 755p (Sprint)

    :^( Tragedies endured:
    Irrevocably bricked Trēo 755p (Sprint)

    ;^) Happy again:
    • Now tethering via warranty-replaced Trēo 755p (Sprint)...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    250
    Device(s)
    HTC Mogul PPC 6800 - Cricket EVDO with my Custom ROM
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up re- what model is this for?

    The PST settings are general Cricket CDMA settings. Some phones have all the settings listed, some have more, some have less. But it will get what settings matter in your PST set up correctly.

    As for the Diagnostic Shortcuts, it is so if they are using My Titan ROM's<--sorry I didnt put that. They would have easier access to the Shortcuts. It will work on most other windows mobile phones. But thank you for helping me clarify.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Code Name: Ryan Mogul
    Status: Mafia Member
    Quote: "If you can dodge a wrench you can dodge a ball"
    Latest Exploits: Ryan Mogul's TITAN(mogul, 6800) WM 6.1 Cricket ROM Version 1 Heavy
    Ryan Mogul's Cricket PST Settings Thread + SPC Code Unlocking and Instructions

    Next Hijacks: Ryan Mogul's RAPHAEL(touch pro) Cricket ROM Version 1 Heavy
    Last edited by RyanMogul6800; 03-14-2009 at 09:46 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    2,877
    Device(s)
    Sprint Touch on Cricket with working Proxy Bypass, MMS, Java, EVDO Rev. A and GPS
    Carrier(s)
    PWNED by the Cricket Mafia!
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr._Pseudonym
    :^/ Which model phone is this for? Neither the tutorial nor the title says....
    These settings should work for the legacy HTC Pocket PC series of handsets, including:

    --Apache (6700)
    --Touch (Vogue)
    --Mogul (Titan)
    --Touch Diamond
    --Touch Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    and check the MSID number make sure its a 10 digit number thats in your area code BUT it IS NOT your PHONE NUMBER!!
    What if it is my phone number?
    Thanks
    Melissa

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    250
    Device(s)
    HTC Mogul PPC 6800 - Cricket EVDO with my Custom ROM
    Feedback Score
    0
    No problem, what you wanna do is make sure you have a Cricket PRL loaded first doesnt matter which one. Then open phone dialer and dial *228 call and let it do its programming thing. That should get your MSID set right, then you can follow the rest of the steps outlined in this thread. It says in my thread not to skip steps. So basically just start from beginning. Only other way is to call Cricket, and it says that in my thread too..

    Ryan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    2,877
    Device(s)
    Sprint Touch on Cricket with working Proxy Bypass, MMS, Java, EVDO Rev. A and GPS
    Carrier(s)
    PWNED by the Cricket Mafia!
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by melkaycee
    What if it is my phone number?
    Thanks
    Melissa
    Your MSID is based on your MIN number. Your MIN number might be the same as your MDN number, which in turn is your 10-digit phone number, but it's very rare.

    It IS possible, however.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,218
    Device(s)
    Motorola Droid
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by berry_lthird
    These settings should work for the legacy HTC Pocket PC series of handsets, including:

    --Apache (6700)
    --Touch (Vogue)
    --Mogul (Titan)
    --Touch Diamond
    --Touch Pro
    And more. These settings will get you going on any CDMA HTC running Windows Mobile, excluding only the 6600. I've confirmed them working on some rare things like:

    SMT5800
    S720 (Canadian 5800)
    Touch Dual
    S640

    Very nice work on this, Ryan

    A couple of things possibly worth mentioning:
    - If ##778 doesn't work, try ##778#
    - If ##778 and ##778# both don't work, try launching \Windows\epst.exe
    - If \Windows\epst.exe either does not exist or does not do anything, you'll need to take some steps to get it working. I'm not positive of what those steps are, since I only know how to repair the problem at the kitchen-level. So: if epst.exe doesn't do anything, you'll probably need to install a new ROM.

    There are a few other obscurities in the Canadian PSTs like MCC (Mobile Country Code; I think 1 is US) and then you gotta make sure your SID/NID settings are right, but this guide should work for 99% of the Cricket PDA users. Too bad HoFo doesn't have a "Thanks" button like on PPCGeeks for me to press for ya, huh?
    Code Name: to0
    Status: Member of the xv6700 Cricket Mafia
    Latest Exploits:
    --HTC Droid Eris Full Flash
    --HTC Hero Full Flash
    --Motorola Droid Full Flash
    --Cricket ROM for PPC6875 (HTC Touch Pro2)
    Next Exploits:
    --Cricket Android ROM
    Quote: "Here we go!"

    AIM: to0g

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    6,692
    Device(s)
    BB 9630 Tour
    Carrier(s)
    Boost
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also some people have told me that the voice 13k codec sounds like a tin can, i keep my phone on EVRC.
    -------------------------------------------
    Free Cryptocurrency trading!
    https://www.binance.com/?ref=12860082
    -------------------------------------------
    Isriam

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    250
    Device(s)
    HTC Mogul PPC 6800 - Cricket EVDO with my Custom ROM
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Isriam
    Also some people have told me that the voice 13k codec sounds like a tin can, i keep my phone on EVRC.
    Well if you do a little research about the two codecs you will find that EVRC is of lower quality. If your phone sounds like a tin can with Voice 13k enabled then you may want to take your phone apart and shake that little piece of rattling metal out of your phone.. lol

    Since your phone is digital, it uses a codec to determine how the voice data is compressed into digital. Voice 13k (Qualcomm's Purevoice) is the highest voice rate. EVRC (Enhanced Variable Rate Codec) benefits the carriers because it uses a reduced rate, which means less bits to stream, more calls to go around. Voice 13k is in fact the updated version of EVRC that our Digital phones have the option to select from. Voice 13k should be enabled for optimal voice quality.

    *Post modified by forum moderator to preserve only the facts*
    Last edited by berry_lthird; 03-17-2009 at 05:18 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    6,692
    Device(s)
    BB 9630 Tour
    Carrier(s)
    Boost
    Feedback Score
    0
    EVRC also adjusts to the RSSI of the phone/cell site to know what level your compression ratio should be and adjusts accordingly. If you're on a fringe area it uses a higher rate codec so the audio quality compensates for the quality of the air interface.

    *Post modified by forum moderator to preserve only the facts*
    Last edited by berry_lthird; 03-17-2009 at 03:11 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    12
    Device(s)
    TouchPro
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Great how-to... will try it with my TouchPro and see if it will fix my problem with call forwarding and unlimited 411 not working.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    So if I flash my TP with any type of Rom I can plug in these settings and ill be able to get MMS, WAP, TXT working?

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Bookmarks