Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 56

Thread: Howard Forums XMPP & SIP Server (Who Remembers Ovi Chat?)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Howard Forums XMPP & SIP Server (Who Remembers Ovi Chat?)

    Must be 10 chars
    Last edited by Urthwhyte; 10-12-2010 at 04:39 AM. Reason: Forgot to include link to the signup page, instructions edited to note that usernames are case sensitive

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    I & I, is Everywhere
    Posts
    6,123
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    DAMN, Urthwhyte!

    Bright & early with the setup! Nice work. Forgive my ignorance on this ... but with the chat server, is it going to be with IM text along with VoIP?

    Some questions that may help get the ball rolling ...
    1. Can an app like Fring or Slick_IM work with this setup?
    2. will it work with connections changing from WLAN to APN & back; of course to be tested.

    Thanks and nice work!
    Formerly: Prom1, now I'm Supa_Fly!!
    My Feedback

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Prom1
    DAMN, Urthwhyte!

    Bright & early with the setup! Nice work. Forgive my ignorance on this ... but with the chat server, is it going to be with IM text along with VoIP?
    My intenion is to have SIP and XMPP presence integrated so that you can just as easily open a text chat session with someone as call them, but I believe I'm going to have to switch the server I use for the current SIP implementation to Asterix, which is a helluva lot more complicated than what I'm using as well as requiring a little bit more hardware than what I currently have. If anyone has experience with it or the hardware and knowhow to get it up and running, please send me a message and perhaps we can set something up.

    Some questions that may help get the ball rolling ...
    1. Can an app like Fring or Slick_IM work with this setup?
    I'm currently using Palringo for the XMPP portion, and all Series 60v3 phones actually have a SIP client built in. Unfortunately, it doesn't support AP roaming from WiFi to HSDPA/Data networks, but there may be other software that supports this, I'm still very much in the early stagesof getting everything set up and working
    2. will it work with connections changing from WLAN to APN & back; of course to be tested.
    I'm not highly familiar with either Slick_IM or Fring, but if your chosen client can do AP roaming with regular IM services, connecting to the HoFo server should be no different.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile(Nov. '07 - Present)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wanna try it out to see how it would work.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaekidd1012
    The Nokia E71: It turns you into an ***hole
    100th POST @ 3/27/08
    500th POST @ 2/08/09
    1000th POST @ 5/06/09

    I haven't thought up a good new siggy yet so I'm gonna use this!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Currently offline due to a power outage, it's coming back online as we speak

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Back online with web registration and everything working

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,115
    Device(s)
    Nokia N95-1 (plum)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Why YAJS? (yet another Jabber server)

    Just use jabber.org.

    P.S. Windows Server? (*chuckles*)


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai/Mississauga
    Posts
    10,130
    Carrier(s)
    Lord Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Damnit I'm on BB and cannot try this!
    Howard Forums Feedback
    Redflagdeals Feedback


    BB - 9900, 9700(x3), Bold(x5), 8820(x2), 8800, 8100, 8320(x2)
    HTC - Diamond 2, Diamond, Polaris, Artemis, Desire, Desire Z
    Nokia - E72-2, N97(x2), E75(x2), Sapphire Arte, 5800 XM, E90, N95-4,E71-2(x4),E65,N82,8600,3120
    Sony - W810i
    Samsung - D807
    Apple - iPhone 3G 8GB(x2), 16GB(x3), iPhone 3GS(x5), iPhone 4 16GB, iPhone 4 32GB, iPhone 4S 64GB, iPhone 5 64GB, iPhone 5s 64GB, iPhone 6 128GB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jontymisra
    Damnit I'm on BB and cannot try this!
    You won't be able to connect to the SIP server from your BB, but you can use palringo (http://palringo.mobi/) or any other XMPP capable client to at least have the text chatting portion.

    Why YAJS? (yet another Jabber server)
    It's free, it's scalable, and it offers compatiability across a wide array of phones and devices. The reason for hosting a server instead of relying on something like gTalk or the jabber.org server is that the administrator have far more granular control over the server settings. For example, any member who registers on the server is automatically added to everyone's contact list, no having to scramble around to add contacts as people join or keep an adhoc list of users.

    P.S. Windows Server? (*chuckles*)
    Because god forbid someone doesn't use FOSS or doesn't feel like setting up YADS. If you've nothing constructive to say, keep it to yourself.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    72
    Device(s)
    E71-2
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    In Slick can I just replace the Jabber server with your server and log in?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wshan
    In Slick can I just replace the Jabber server with your server and log in?
    If you've already registered using the link in the first post, you should be able to enter in the information similar to what I have in the image below.

    If you've not already registered, In-Band registration is enabled to allow you to create an account on the server while configuring your client, but it's a bit touchy at the moment and may or may not work depending on the client.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    72
    Device(s)
    E71-2
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried replacing Jabber server in SlickIM with your server and it just says authentication failed. I'm installing Pidgin on the computer to see if maybe I registered incorrectly. Am I suppose to get any confirmation email to the email I entered during registration?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai/Mississauga
    Posts
    10,130
    Carrier(s)
    Lord Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Would this work on iChat?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wshan
    I tried replacing Jabber server in SlickIM with your server and it just says authentication failed. I'm installing Pidgin on the computer to see if maybe I registered incorrectly. Am I suppose to get any confirmation email to the email I entered during registration?
    I can see your user registered under the user list in the WebUI so you definitely have a login on the server. Are you sure that you didn't enter your password wrong during registration or the setup of Slick?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,177
    Device(s)
    Nokia E90
    Carrier(s)
    TDC Mobil (DK)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jontymisra
    Would this work on iChat?
    Last I'd used it iChat had Jabber support, so it should work perfectly, just make sure your username is in [email protected] format.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Bookmarks