Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: does Att charge data for an lock iphone?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0

    does Att charge data for an lock iphone?

    hey guys im planing to get a iphone soon on the ebay.
    and i will be use ATT regular plan without data.
    i know ATT can detect me using an iphone even though i unlock it.
    here is the question: so does ATT will impose data fee 30 dollar on my iphone? if not, should i call AtT to block all date access on my acoount?
    thx if anyone can help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,904
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by benjamin9876
    hey guys im planing to get a iphone soon on the ebay.
    and i will be use ATT regular plan without data.
    i know ATT can detect me using an iphone even though i unlock it.
    here is the question: so does ATT will impose data fee 30 dollar on my iphone? if not, should i call AtT to block all date access on my acoount?
    thx if anyone can help!
    If they do detect the iPhone, they can add it automatically to your plan as per the Terms & Conditions of Service. You may not get the feature added, but it can happen at anytime.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd
    If they do detect the iPhone, they can add it automatically to your plan as per the Terms & Conditions of Service. You may not get the feature added, but it can happen at anytime.
    i heard people said Att doent have a right to add a 30 data fee to my plan
    since im not got my iphone for 199 at the apple store!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0

    att impose data fee on a iphone from EBay?

    hey guys im planing to get a iphone soon on the ebay.
    and i will be use ATT regular plan without data.
    i know ATT can detect me using an iphone even though i unlock it.
    here is the question: so does ATT will impose data fee 30 dollar on my iphone? if not, should i call AtT to block all date access on my acoount?
    thx if anyone can help!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,560
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The end user agreement on ATT requires you have a data plan. If you intend to use an iphone on ATT, then yes you do need to have a data plan. No ifs ands or buts.

    They may not catch on for awhile, but they reserve the right to add the data plan as part of your agreement.

    If you do not need data, why get a smartphone?
    No longer a VZW employee, but still a good information source.
    -------------------------------------------------------
    CanAM:
    With all that money you save monthly with your Sprint plan, you should be able to order Hooked On Phonics - remember, the phone number to order this is 1-800-ABCDEFG.
    _______________________________________________
    Loving my iPad retina display

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO but Randolph, NJ is Home!
    Posts
    2,483
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4, iP5S, GS4...
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by benjamin9876
    i heard people said Att doent have a right to add a 30 data fee to my plan
    since im not got my iphone for 199 at the apple store!
    I wish that were the case!!! But, it ain't !
    My World Phone dot com is a VERY SHADY seller. Click here for details

    My Toys: '10 M5 : '12 Blown LS7 : iP5S : GS4 : Nexus N4 : N95-4 : E71-2 [Sold]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18,904
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by benjamin9876
    hey guys im planing to get a iphone soon on the ebay.
    and i will be use ATT regular plan without data.
    i know ATT can detect me using an iphone even though i unlock it.
    here is the question: so does ATT will impose data fee 30 dollar on my iphone? if not, should i call AtT to block all date access on my acoount?
    thx if anyone can help!
    You will need the $30 iPhone data plan as stipulated in the Terms & Conditions of Service. If your account is audited and determined you are using an iPhone without the correct data plan, it can be added by At&t at will and you do not have to be notified.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by M5Rahul
    I wish that were the case!!! But, it ain't !
    so you saying Att still will impose a data fee to my iphone?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,459
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Butthead007
    The end user agreement on ATT requires you have a data plan. If you intend to use an iphone on ATT, then yes you do need to have a data plan. No ifs ands or buts.

    They may not catch on for awhile, but they reserve the right to add the data plan as part of your agreement.

    If you do not need data, why get a smartphone?
    Better yet... why not just get an iPod Touch + a basic phone.
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO but Randolph, NJ is Home!
    Posts
    2,483
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4, iP5S, GS4...
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by benjamin9876
    so you saying Att still will impose a data fee to my iphone?
    I'm saying that it doesn't matter whether you paid $199 or $599 for the iPhone, they still require you to have that iPhone data plan!

    Now, as to whether they'll force it on your account or not is really up in the air! According to the iPhone ToS they can if they find out your on the wrong plan. I'm not sure if you can do a data block on the iPhone!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NIMbY Land
    Posts
    19,192
    Device(s)
    LG G2
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck
    Better yet... why not just get an iPod Touch + a basic phone.
    Hmm, interesting can't an iPod do free WIFI calling?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    1,106
    Device(s)
    Motorola Droid X (current), Motorola Driod A855 (2009-2011), Blackberry Storm 9530 (2008-2009)
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless since 1997 (PrimeCo)
    Feedback Score
    0
    iPhone with no data?

    That's like wanting a Ford F-250 Superduty pickup without a V8 engine... makes no sense.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,560
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CA
    Hmm, interesting can't an iPod do free WIFI calling?
    There is no legitimate reason why that would not work over wifi and skype or some other VOIP program.

    So yes, he could get an ipod touch, use VOIP, and not have to worry about the data plan. As former canuck said, get the touch and a cheap phone.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    355
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've been using unlocked 2G iphone for almost 2 years WITHOUT data plan. AT&T will know that you're using iphone, but so what? When I got my iphone, I was curious using the iphone for browsing and Youtube only about a day and stopped right away because somebody said that the data would kill me. And it almost did: $190 for 4, 5 times browsing the internet not even in 1 day! I called AT&T and they were nice enough to reduce my bill to about $90. I asked them to block the data to my plan, they did and I've been using iphone ever since. Actually, after that, I wanted to add that data plan to my account, AT&T said that I can't unless I upgrade my voice plan as well (I have an old voice plan) In my case, I WANT data plan, but they don't let me unless I upgrade my voice plan. The reason I use the iphone without data plan is because of the apps, games, music, movies, and not all the feature require you to have access to the internet.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,560
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting. I would think the iphone data plan would be more of a feature that would not require a calling plan change.

    With Verizon, things like a blackberry data plan are features (unless you get them bundled with voice service) so you do not need to upgrade your plan in order to have a blackberry or smartphone. Just add the feature.

    I was always under the impression all iphones had to have the data package. I know some people have received hate txt messages from ATT advising them they need the plan, but I am unaware of them forcibly adding one. However, adding one without your consent is definitely possible based on the terms and conditions for owning the iphone.

    Your mileage is definitely going to vary.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks