Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: Will unlocked GSM Bell/Telus phones work on Fido?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    815
    Device(s)
    X
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by lmcjipo
    it also currently costs $3.75 CAD to unlock the Bold 9700 from Rogers (or any other Blackberry from Rogers).
    What do you mean by this? PM if necessary

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4 16 GB
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    To unlock a Rogers branded BlackBerry it only costs $3.75 on eBay. But with Bell and Telus they've added an extra lock on the 9700 so it's more expensive since they have to unlock it twice rather than once with a Rogers BB. It costs around $60 to unlock Bell/Telus 9700s.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    73
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I got my bell 9700 unlocked for $30 from the remote unlocker...

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    75
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by ovifan
    Where did you get your BB 9700? And if you don't mind my asking how much did you pay? I'm going nuts trying to find one at a decent price!
    Signed a 3 year agreement with Bell got the phone for $229 + $50 gift card from Future Shop.

    Anyways, your best bet is buying the phone outright for $599.99 from Telus as they have lots in stock at most dealers (Future Shop had a bunch).

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    321
    Carrier(s)
    WIND
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    As long as your iPhone 3G/3GS unlocked. You can put the Bell Simcard and get the connection as I did.

    Bell has the cheapest and the best voice plan than Telus/Fido/Rogers but I still love my $30 - 6GB data plan on Fido. Hard to make decision.
    ----------------------------
    check my feedback at : http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16978

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4 16 GB
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Bell has the worst customer service.. I would stick with Fido. It might look like Bell has the cheapest plans (imo they don't) but then once you get your bill you're going to start seeing all these extra charges popping up for no reason and your bill won't be very clear, and they won't care or do anything.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,597
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Astroboy-ATM
    What do you mean by this? PM if necessary
    The price has apparently gone up since the link is now $5 for Rogers Blackberries but I got mine from MobileInCanada and was able to unlock my Rogers Blackberry Bold 9700.

    http://www.mobileincanada.com/?l=en&...oupon=tracking

    The regular price at this site without the coupon is $20. Their price actually went to $1 a few days ago for Rogers' Blackberries.
    Unlimited Fido Data Plan: Netgear Aircard LTE Mobile Hotspot

    My Tech Blog

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    294
    Device(s)
    BB 9000
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Resurrecting an ancient thread but...

    Here is my scenario. I have to work with a client in Fort Nelson and further north BC. Rogers (my current carrier) has nil coverage up there, Fort St Johns and back towards DC, no problem but Fort Nelson, nada. I have been told that Telus works and works fairly well.

    For comms, I am planning on taking my Blackberry Bold on Rogers (locked to Rogers), I can still get email etc via hotel WIFI. I have a satellite phone for the area without ANY coverage by any carrier. I have an unlocked T-Mobile Blackberry 8320 Curve (GSM) that I was hoping that a Telus prepaid 3G SIM will work in. I do not need BB services on this phone (BB 8320) just voice and text via prepaid card.

    After some reading it seems that a Telus prepaid SIM will work on an unlocked 3G (T-Mobile GSM) phone (my old BB 3820 Curve) Can anyone confirm that this is the case? I am trying to avoid buying a throw away mobile for this trip into Telus territory by using my old BB as the handset.
    BlackBerry9000 (4.6.0.3038) on Rogers

    USMC 1988-1996
    Your Feedom; Our Lives; No Complaints

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    my hero
    Carrier(s)
    telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    you can just goto this link and enter the phone imei to check if it will work on telus

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Mariposa
    Posts
    219
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10, iPhone XS MAX
    Carrier(s)
    Programmer
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Yes, they will work with Fido and any other operator. But before you unlock it first check whether the device is clean or blacklisted - you can use this link http://mobility.telus.com/devicecomp...deviceCheck.do

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Bookmarks