Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Can a world phone be locked?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    452
    Device(s)
    Nokia 8890
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can a world phone be locked?

    Can a world phone be locked?


    Yes: The truth is some world phones are locked. There is a rumor that world phones are all unlocked but it is false.

    World phones like any other phones can be locked!

    They can be sim locked (eg. Ericsson T28W SIM Locked to fido)
    or they can be Band Locked (eg. Ericsson T28W Band Locked to 1900Mhz)

    Band lock destroys the use of a dual-band phone, but some providers lock it.

    A fully unlocked World Phone is the Nokia 8890. No 8890 phones directly from nokia are locked, though some providers may lock them (i have never seen one locked from the many i have seen)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    154
    Device(s)
    Nokia 3205i
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Can a world phone be locked?

    Are the rogers and fido motorola p280's locked?

    Originally posted by james
    Can a world phone be locked?


    Yes: The truth is some world phones are locked. There is a rumor that world phones are all unlocked but it is false.

    World phones like any other phones can be locked!

    They can be sim locked (eg. Ericsson T28W SIM Locked to fido)
    or they can be Band Locked (eg. Ericsson T28W Band Locked to 1900Mhz)

    Band lock destroys the use of a dual-band phone, but some providers lock it.

    A fully unlocked World Phone is the Nokia 8890. No 8890 phones directly from nokia are locked, though some providers may lock them (i have never seen one locked from the many i have seen)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    11,907
    Device(s)
    iPhone IIIgs
    Carrier(s)
    Main: Cingular(US)
    Feedback Score
    0
    yes
    Club-Admiralty - my site

    Phone History: Maxon MX-3204; Nokia 7110; Nokia 8290; Ericsson T28w; Nokia 8890; Ericsson T68; SE P800; Nokia 7190; HTC Blue Angel; LG L1400; Nokia 1100; Blackberry 8703; Nokia N80; Nokia 6126; Motorola V3xx, iPhone IIIgs

    I Lurk, therefore I am

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    481
    Device(s)
    Hiptop III
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Okay, I am REALY interested in this. I am thinking about buying a triband phone, to be used on Voicestream (Washinton St) and in the phillippines. Am I going to run into problems ( I haven't used a triband phone b4).

    BTW- 8890 is a dual band not triband, therefore it can't be used worldwide.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    vancouver.bc.ca
    Posts
    5,141
    Device(s)
    nokia 6310i
    Carrier(s)
    fido.ca
    Feedback Score
    0
    BTW- 8890 is a dual band not triband, therefore it can't be used worldwide.

    yeah but technically, what mobile phone can be used worldwide? does japan use GSM at all? and a lot of places in canada probably only have analogue coverage.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,470
    Device(s)
    RIM Electron for Rogers
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by obsidianic
    BTW- 8890 is a dual band not triband, therefore it can't be used worldwide.

    yeah but technically, what mobile phone can be used worldwide? does japan use GSM at all? and a lot of places in canada probably only have analogue coverage.
    there is a phone that can be used worldwide but it's a bit pricy
    anyways yes almost all providers in NA will only sell you a locked version of the phone but remeber that whatever can be locked can be unlocked
    etting bigger and pregnater by the minute


    Pin: 20542df9

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    481
    Device(s)
    Hiptop III
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    [i]Originally posted by obsidianic [/i}

    yeah but technically, what mobile phone can be used worldwide? does japan use GSM at all? and a lot of places in canada probably only have analogue coverage. [/B]
    Oh yeah, that's right. Although satellite phones..... haha

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    in front of the computer
    Posts
    87
    Device(s)
    NOKIA - 8890, 5190
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers AT&T;
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question ques. about locked/unlocked?

    I want to ask how do I know whether my phone is locked or not?
    Coz' when I first bought my 8890, I knew that it's unlocked. But then I phoned Rogers and asked to obtain a SIM card, the staff asked my phone IMEI # and stuff, and she said she needed those to put into the computer and register my phone(?). So will my phone be locked in that way then?
    TIA for answering!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    7,470
    Device(s)
    RIM Electron for Rogers
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    humno your phone will not be locked that way it's just for in case you report it missing or to make sure it's not a stolen phone

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    in front of the computer
    Posts
    87
    Device(s)
    NOKIA - 8890, 5190
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers AT&T;
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by rogersmerivale
    humno your phone will not be locked that way it's just for in case you report it missing or to make sure it's not a stolen phone
    Oh, that's a relief! Thanks for the "good news"~

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, Cali (USA)
    Posts
    961
    Device(s)
    s307(currently)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T MB Gsm(Cali); Pacbell/Cingular(Cali);
    Feedback Score
    0

    Hey James & Dr. Trigsman

    i have the same question as Dr. Trigsman.

    >i want the 8890 so bad but that price is just hard to get over, anyways im using cingular right now in cali,sac. and i want to get the 8890 from the philippines and switch the simcard.

    >there the phones are pretty much direct from nokia(i think) and can be bought with openline so you dont have a particular provider to use (Globe Telecom, ISLAcom, and Smart) you just buy the simcard and use prepaid cards.

    >so the question is If the phone is locked and i bring it back here (states) can i have it unlocked here or do i have to get it unlock from where i got it at? (worst case scenario!). Its openline fone so hopefully not right? reassure me please!

    >I talked to the guy here at Cingular and he said i may have to get it unlocked first but i doubt he knows what hes talkin about and or he just doesnt get me.


    >>> Dr. Trigsman

    Did u get ur 8890 yet? philippines? please let me know if you got yours and how it turned out.

    Tip: Dr. Trigsman, if you plan on gettin ur 8890 from the pi Make Sure Its Not Stolen! if you bring it back and use your simcard the first time you make a call and its a stolen fone listed on the blacklist you'll get and deep trouble. (same goes if its in states)
    AIM: SimplyOrange537
    EM: [email protected]
    (Put HF-UserName, first in subject line or i wont open it.)

    ~ orange(",) ~

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    481
    Device(s)
    Hiptop III
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't know about world phone being locked. I never got the answer to this definatively. NEWays, as long as you have Int'l roaming you should be fine, therefore, I don't think prepaid works.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, Cali (USA)
    Posts
    961
    Device(s)
    s307(currently)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T MB Gsm(Cali); Pacbell/Cingular(Cali);
    Feedback Score
    0
    yeah see thats the problem

    roaming is crap with cingular.

    thats why i wanted to know if its locked if bought with cingular and or bought overseas. unless i know for sure that the 8890 came directly from Nokia.

    why roam if you can just buy a simcard in the pi and use prepaid.

    hey doc so im guessin you didnt buy urs yet?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    481
    Device(s)
    Hiptop III
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nope. Got a prepaid over there.. waitin for a different phone. Not sold on the T68i still.
    Might get a 7210 just cause it's kinda a "fun" phone. Although I'm still stuck it doesn't have bt...

Bookmarks