Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Anyone Still Getting the 3G to EDGE bounce on their N1?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,047
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max Series 4 Apple Watch
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)

    Anyone Still Getting the 3G to EDGE bounce on their N1?

    Just curious if this issue has settled down after software updates?

    Yes / No? Post your location.

    My HTC myTouch does this from time to time whereas my Bold 9700 doesn't.

    I'm buying a few for my employees and porting their numbers from Verizon so I was curious.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The 909, Southern California
    Posts
    9,949
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    -T--Mobile USA|Get More
    Feedback Score
    0
    No problems here with my nexus one...San Bernardino, California here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    3,116
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile HTC HD2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    A lot of us are having this problem on our HD2's.
    United States of America 1776 - 2001 RIP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,125
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    I disabled the 2G option, and set it to 3G-only.

    I have been having the text message issue where it won't send. I would have to reboot the phone, and kill a lot of unwanted apps from starting up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,047
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max Series 4 Apple Watch
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Deke218
    A lot of us are having this problem on our HD2's.

    Yikes. I just ordered 75 of those. If they become a headache within the first 30 days, they're all going back to be replaced by Bold 9700's.
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    348
    Device(s)
    NEXUS ONE
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, I'mm still having the 3g/edge problem. Also, I'm starting to have the text messaging issue more often. It's starting to be annoying
    NO PHONE IS TOO EXPENSIVE!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    3,116
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile HTC HD2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    [on the HD2]Having the text problems also. Just ordered a replacement Friday.

    Seems its a known issue [according to T-Mobile PDA support] that the phone will sometimes forget your password. The only solution is a hard reset. Happened to me twice so far.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,349
    Device(s)
    N1 & G2 next up=Samsung Tab
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    The issue is more pronounced when I'm on a 3G/2G border (which is often) If I can't wait for the phone to re-aquire 3G, I pop it into Airplane Mode and then back out. I think if I spent all my time in a 3G area, I'd disable 2G as well. The phone does have it's quirks, but it is way ahead of the other HTC/Moto/Samsung offerings that are out there.

    I had my hands on the MyTouch slide today. Nice phone. Will buy one for the wife when it is released.

    If you are in the IE, goto the Sierra Ave TMUS store. One of the reps there is using the MTSlider.
    Unplugged Since 1999

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The 909, Southern California
    Posts
    9,949
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    -T--Mobile USA|Get More
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by unplugged
    The issue is more pronounced when I'm on a 3G/2G border (which is often) If I can't wait for the phone to re-aquire 3G, I pop it into Airplane Mode and then back out. I think if I spent all my time in a 3G area, I'd disable 2G as well. The phone does have it's quirks, but it is way ahead of the other HTC/Moto/Samsung offerings that are out there.

    I had my hands on the MyTouch slide today. Nice phone. Will buy one for the wife when it is released.

    If you are in the IE, goto the Sierra Ave TMUS store. One of the reps there is using the MTSlider.
    Sierra Lakes off hwy 210 next to Mimi's Cafe? I may go in tomorrow as I have to swing by Costco

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,349
    Device(s)
    N1 & G2 next up=Samsung Tab
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question I wonder if 3G/2G performance will improve with Froyo?

    Just loaded Froyo on the N1. I'll have to report back after a few days to see if there is any improvement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by terryjohnson16 View Post
    I disabled the 2G option, and set it to 3G-only.

    I have been having the text message issue where it won't send. I would have to reboot the phone, and kill a lot of unwanted apps from starting up.
    Just go toggle airplane mode on then off so you dont have to reboot your phone everything.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    429
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Toggling airplane mode for me kills the data connection but the phone continues to show bars of service until I reboot the phone.it's like when the text message issue happens the network connection can't be changed for some reason

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    147
    Device(s)
    Nexus One
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by unplugged View Post
    The issue is more pronounced when I'm on a 3G/2G border
    Same here. But that usually corresponds to elevators, parking garages, inside skyscrapers, etc around Los Angeles. Only a minor annoyance to me.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    348
    Device(s)
    NEXUS ONE
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I hope the final version of 2.2 fixes this. My 2g/3g is worse since I went to 2.2

Bookmarks