Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: has anyone tried plugging in their phone with overseas charger?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    has anyone tried plugging in their phone with overseas charger?

    I'm planning to go back to HK, and I was wondering if I could pick up an Ericsson charger there and use it. Will it fry your phone because of the different voltage?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,147
    Carrier(s)
    Fido, Rogers, Glo Mobile, MTC, Megafon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    No it won't. Ericsson chargers are built for different voltages (e.g. 110, 220) and anyway most of them are dual voltage, but at any rate, they output the same amount of power to the actual phone, so as long as the charger is right for the phone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Moscow, Russia (Boston, USA)
    Posts
    3,530
    Device(s)
    N8800
    Carrier(s)
    MEGAFON ,
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    its perfectly safe to do so....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    126
    Device(s)
    LG Secret
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Re: has anyone tried plugging in their phone with overseas charger?

    Originally posted by Montoya
    I'm planning to go back to HK, and I was wondering if I could pick up an Ericsson charger there and use it. Will it fry your phone because of the different voltage?
    It won't fry your phone. I went to the phillipines and used a charger there and it worked the way it was supposed to and my phone is none the worse for wear

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    224
    Carrier(s)
    FIDOG
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    i used the same charger that I got for my T68 on my T610. The charger was purchased in HK and I used it in Canada and it works fine. just need that white adapter because it doesn't fit into the outlet here.
    My new computer's got the clocks, it rocks
    But it was obsolete before I opened the box
    Play me online? Well, you know that I'll beat you
    If I ever meet you I'll control-alt-delete you
    What?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    6,077
    Device(s)
    HTC Tilt
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile (US)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Re: has anyone tried plugging in their phone with overseas charger?

    Originally posted by Montoya
    I'm planning to go back to HK, and I was wondering if I could pick up an Ericsson charger there and use it. Will it fry your phone because of the different voltage?

    all u need is a different plug (if it is required).
    -- superfire

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Awsome. Thanks for your help everyone!

Bookmarks