Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: How does one enable only chatr zone coverage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    592
    Device(s)
    Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

    How does one enable only chatr zone coverage

    Is there a way to ensure the phone only works in the 'chatr zone' to prevent surprise 'out of chatr zone' charges ?

    With Wind, since roaming is on the Rogers GSM network, a phone set to 3G only or a Manual Network selection of 'Wind Home' only prevent and out of zone charges.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,875
    Feedback Score
    0
    If Chatr won't let you block out-of-zone usage, I do know of one way you can accomplish what you ask. simply keep a $0 balance on the account (after the monthly payments of course) and accidental outside of zone charges will be impossible.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's true. Also note that the only thing that matters is WHERE you initiate the call. Make a call in Calgary, stay on the line for a couple hours and hang up. It's as if you never left Calgary as far as that call is concerned.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    394
    Feedback Score
    0
    When you are outside the zone, just don't make or answer any calls, or set the phone to airplane mode. They don't have data service yet, so out-of-zone charges should be easily preventable.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,875
    Feedback Score
    0
    Scald, you work for Chatr, correct?

    Is there anyway a customer can tell that they are out-of-zone? Will the network identification on the screen change from "chatr" to something as such as "outside" or "roaming"? Or is there some code customers can enter on their phones to check if they are inside or outside the Chatr zone? (similar to how City Fido customers can check if they are inside or outside the city zone by dialing a number)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    303
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by computergeek541 View Post
    Scald, you work for Chatr, correct?

    Is there anyway a customer can tell that they are out-of-zone? Will the network identification on the screen change from "chatr" to something as such as "outside" or "roaming"? Or is there some code customers can enter on their phones to check if they are inside or outside the Chatr zone? (similar to how City Fido customers can check if they are inside or outside the city zone by dialing a number)
    There's no way you'll be able to tell you're outside of the Chatr zone unless you're aware of the coverage map and your relation to it. Unlike WIND/Mobilicity you aren't actually roaming, instead if you are using one of Rogers towers not assigned to a Chatr zone you will be charged for your activities. It's similar to the "local" calling area that Rogers/Telus/Bell impose, you don't actually get any indication where your local area begins and the "long-distance" area ends.

    I have a feeling this is going to result in some very angry customers. At least with WIND you can argue "It's not our fault you didn't notice your phone on WIND Away".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    303
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IDEA_NXT View Post
    When you are outside the zone, just don't make or answer any calls, or set the phone to airplane mode. They don't have data service yet, so out-of-zone charges should be easily preventable.
    The issue is where does the zone begin and end. For those living on the boundaries of a Chatr zone this is going to be a huge issue. You can't simply look at a map and say "Gee I must be in the right zone" when for all you know your phone is connected to an out-of-zone tower. Hopefully the "artificial" Chatr zones are slightly larger than they appear on the coverage map to avoid issues with boundary users.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,875
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MadFerIt2006 View Post
    There's no way you'll be able to tell you're outside of the Chatr zone unless you're aware of the coverage map and your relation to it. Unlike WIND/Mobilicity you aren't actually roaming, instead if you are using one of Rogers towers not assigned to a Chatr zone you will be charged for your activities. It's similar to the "local" calling area that Rogers/Telus/Bell impose, you don't actually get any indication where your local area begins and the "long-distance" area ends.
    I'm well aware that's it's all the same network, no matter where you are in Canada. But to the Chatr customer, being outside of the Chatr Zone essentially equates to the same as roaming. As I was saying, City Fido customers have a way to check if they are inside or outside of the City Fido zone. Is there a way for Chatr customers to do this as well?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    167
    Feedback Score
    0
    From the new Solo site:

    "Know when you’re in the zone.
    Dial #ZONE (#9663) free from anywhere in Canada on your Solo phone to hear whether or not you’re in any of the five Unlimited Zones. "

    Did not see something similar for Chatr.

    Quote Originally Posted by computergeek541 View Post
    I'm well aware that's it's all the same network, no matter where you are in Canada. But to the Chatr customer, being outside of the Chatr Zone essentially equates to the same as roaming. As I was saying, City Fido customers have a way to check if they are inside or outside of the City Fido zone. Is there a way for Chatr customers to do this as well?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,142
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by volodyan View Post
    From the new Solo site:

    "Know when you’re in the zone.
    Dial #ZONE (#9663) free from anywhere in Canada on your Solo phone to hear whether or not you’re in any of the five Unlimited Zones. "

    Did not see something similar for Chatr.
    Solo zones are also larger than chatr's.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    942
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    The Chatr zone is just a list of LACs (regions that cell sites identify themselves as being in) that border each other. There is no way for the phone to know if it is inside/outside the zone unless they heavily modify the OS or install an app to warn you. Even that presents problems, as they have no way to push updates if they expand the zone. They should just give you a pre-recorded messsage saying "you are making a call outside of the zone. You will be charged extra unless you hang up now."

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,284
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo (03/2015-present)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think the only way they could enable this at a network level would have been to assign a new MCC/MNC to Chatr SIM cards and program the towers to identify themselves as either "in-zone" or "out-of-zone" to Chatr subscribers. But since the MCC/MNC is identical to Rogers, there is no way to make this happen.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,887
    Feedback Score
    0
    i feel they really did not think this one through.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    205
    Carrier(s)
    Chatr
    Feedback Score
    0
    i think they want to make money on the out-of-zone charges more than the monthly fee itself.
    Because for unlimited usage, and no data, there's not much money to be made.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    11,951
    Feedback Score
    0
    what happens if you dial #*123#

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 47
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 02:41 AM
  2. What is Preview Zone/Service Zone
    By CedrickWilson in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 06:20 PM
  3. Detailed HOME Zone Coverage?
    By MaxPayne79 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 09:06 AM

Bookmarks