Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is it worth rooting the Captivate....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    35
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is it worth rooting the Captivate....

    Just to get the bloatware off? I can't really think of many other reasons unless you can give me some good excuses?

    Also after you root do you have to unroot or reroot to upgrade to Froyo?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,656
    Device(s)
    HTC Vivid with ICS
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    It depends if you like to run different custom rom's on your phone or are you happy with the rom that is on it now. I rooted my Nexus one when I had it and there were some improvements but I grew tired of it and after AT&T tried to raise my data plan to $30.00 dollars I dumped it. On my new HTC Desire I just flashed a stock Froyo on it and left it at that no rooting at all. Really it is up to you if you think that it would benefit you then do it , otherwise no leave it until you can get a froyo rom that will work for you.

    Read this it might help you to decide if it is worth it or not!!!
    http://androidforums.com/captivate-all-things-root/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    35
    Feedback Score
    0
    Don't you have to root to use different ROMS?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    710
    Feedback Score
    0
    Root and custom ROMs aren't the same thing. Nearly all custom ROMs come with root. The easiest ways of installing custom ROMs on most phones require you to already have root access.

    There aren't any custom ROMs yet for the Captivate, as far as I know, but it's absolutely worthwhile to have root access. It's so easy, there's no reason to not do it. I think UniversalAndRoot will work, but in any case you can find more info here:
    http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/4...ware-not-suck/
    http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.ph...28Captivate%29

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,656
    Device(s)
    HTC Vivid with ICS
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by waxlrose View Post
    Don't you have to root to use different ROMS?
    Most rom's you do but I did not have to root my Desire to flash my Froyo rom on my phone, as I said it is a personal decision but to me rooting is a waste of time my phone does plenty without rooting, plus I do not run the chance of bricking my phone, and to those that think you cannot brick your phone I would say check out a few more forums there are a number of people that have bricked their phone doing this!!!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Rooting and Unlocking Samsung Captivate
    By GTA_Guy in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-22-2010, 10:04 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 10:18 AM
  3. rooting the droid
    By namssa in forum Motorola
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 10:01 AM
  4. Rooting G1 running 1.6
    By thechicagoheist in forum Android
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 06:52 PM
  5. Need help rooting
    By pfeifer80 in forum HTC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 08:08 AM

Bookmarks