Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: What countries have you used uma

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    missouri and fla
    Posts
    1,907
    Device(s)
    att , nokia 1100, moto 376g
    Carrier(s)
    att, trac, pageplus
    Feedback Score
    0

    What countries have you used uma

    I just upgraded my tmo phone and the new one has uma
    What countries have you all been able to use Uma?
    trying to come up with better signature.......

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    405
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon newbie
    Feedback Score
    0
    Japan, HK, China, Vietnam, Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, Korea, Italy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,812
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3aXL, wife S10
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    Australia, Argentina, Brazil, Uraguay, Columbia,Costa Rica, Canada, Ireland, UK, Israel, France, Spain, Portugal, Dubai, Greece. May be a couple I've forgotten.
    Over the years have not heard of any country posted where it won't work.

    Forgot: Senegal Also used it in Zambia - but quality was bad because the internet in that country is bad. I think we also used it in So. Africa in the airport.
    GoogleVoice (domestic call forwarding and cheap intl. calls) Use GV to give us a "home" number in a 2nd location
    8 T-Mobile lines - Unlimited talk and text, data. TM One plan. Get $10/mo. rebate on 7 lines for low data use. Net cost about $185-190/mo. We haven't had a landline in more than 17 years.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Amesbury
    Posts
    2,005
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S10 5G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I hope we don't lose uma as a result of the merger.


    www.freekeene.com ... New Hampshire's liberty activist online destination!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    missouri and fla
    Posts
    1,907
    Device(s)
    att , nokia 1100, moto 376g
    Carrier(s)
    att, trac, pageplus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am afraid Att will ax Uma just think of the money they would make roaming to all of those countries. What they don't realize is that most of us simply won't use cellular and international roam. We will find another VoIP option

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    I need to know what Uma bela vida in Portuguese translates to in English. Specifically how it would be used and it's meanings in locations that speak Portuguese such as in São Paulo, Brazil.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TX,US
    Posts
    3,229
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    UMA is not restricted by country, any Wi-Fi with unrestricted internet will work.
    the is dumb topic back and forth in the forum since day1 UMA launched.
    UMA works with any countries with internet connection (port 4500 open)
    Last edited by CoolPhone; 05-19-2011 at 11:07 AM.
    T-Mobile - the largest fake 4G network in Americas

    HTC HD2 Speed on 3G/HSDPA

    T-mobile 3G/H or Pharos 137

    My broadband speed


    My WM phone is the best GPS now, say good bye junk Andriod

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,812
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3aXL, wife S10
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rockstar08 View Post
    I need to know what Uma bela vida in Portuguese translates to in English. Specifically how it would be used and it's meanings in locations that speak Portuguese such as in São Paulo, Brazil.
    As Mr. C. Phone said in his reply, UMA is usable virtually anywhere in the world you can access wifi. It is seamless and works just as tho you were on a cell tower at home. Try it before you leave. Turn off access to cell tower so you can only access via wifi. The quality is usually just the same. (With Blackberries you can designate how you want to make calls (mobile, cell tower, or either). Don't know about Androids.)

    ...mike

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    210
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    On the myTouch 4G you can configure Wi-Fi Calling for:
    • Wi-Fi Preferred
    • Cellular Preferred
    • Wi-Fi Only


    I'm still on the fence as to the quality. It frequently seems to give pretty poor voice quality, but I'm not sure if that's my Wi-Fi, or related to the fact that the myTouch 4G implements this in software rather than in hardware.

    Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,812
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3aXL, wife S10
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    Rarely have VQ problems. Do you have same experience on other wifi sites? Next time you go to McD's - try out their free wifi<G>.

    ...mike

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TX,US
    Posts
    3,229
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, UMA on android . Voice quality is horrible.
    My nokia and bb phone uma quality are great.

    Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    missouri and fla
    Posts
    1,907
    Device(s)
    att , nokia 1100, moto 376g
    Carrier(s)
    att, trac, pageplus
    Feedback Score
    0
    My voice quality on my optimus t Uma at my home wifi sounds fine, just like cellular. My wifi is about 3 Mbps certainly not great. I haven't tried this out of the us yet. I will be taking a cruise to Mexico, belize, Honduras and cayman in a few months hope this works. I do know that some middle east countries block VoIP or any phone calls over the Internet because they own the phone companies and want to make all of the money on phone calls. I think UAE is one of them

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,812
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3aXL, wife S10
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't know if VOIP blocking (like blocking the use of Vonage type boxes) would affect TM's UMA service the same way since the technology is different - so I've read here.

    ...mike

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    334
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pattyrn View Post
    I am afraid Att will ax Uma just think of the money they would make roaming to all of those countries. What they don't realize is that most of us simply won't use cellular and international roam. We will find another VoIP option
    My fear exactly. OTOH, it's not impossible that they will just let it exist w/o any support or marketing. Let it die a natural death. The hardware is already in place, wherever the heck that is. I used CSM (did I get that right?) for years on my Nokia 9290, way past when anyone at TM even knew what it was. (It's a wireless modem protocol with a whopping 9.2 kbs. Before GPRS, that's all there was. You needed a dial up ISP number.)

    Hopefully the merger will not be accepted. If ATT thinks they are going to get me as a customer, they are so very wrong.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,812
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3aXL, wife S10
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    Since they would be the only GSM carrier left - I would stay. Question: Couldn't you use Skype the way you use UMA? Not as slick, tho.

    ...mike

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HSPA: HSPA in other countries too?
    By pgfreak in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 04:19 PM
  2. TXT to other countries (with delays)
    By hiroden in forum Fido
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 03:35 PM
  3. Do other countries use BB as much as we do?
    By traction_88 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 02:30 PM
  4. Using HTC Diamond in other countries
    By jj2ii3344 in forum HTC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 12:31 AM

Bookmarks