Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Verizon Phone on Alltel account

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    179
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8703e
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel 4EVER
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Verizon Phone on Alltel account

    Has anyone who used Alltel plans now or in the past able to put a verizon phone onto their alltel account, or did they not accept foreign esn's, historically speaking?

    I've been able to activate alltel phones onto my alltel account (now at verizon, but I can still use the esn changer, yay! ) but when I tried to activate a verizon phone through *22898 they always direct me to support to change my plan. Haha, like that will ever happen !

    Does this require QPST, unicdma, etc...?

    It's almost to the point where the best phone I can possibly get on this plan is the blackberry 9650 (or maybe the Samsung Gem or HTC Merge if the New Alltel/ATNI-Atlantic-Tele-Network is the same programmatically as old Alltel phones)?

    Here's a list of currently sold phones on the ATNI Alltel,

    http://estore.alltelwireless.com/cel...0&setZip=29055



    One other question, does the new rural-markets-targetting-only Alltel have roaming agreements with other carriers?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio Valley
    Posts
    690
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S5
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I have an Alltel NF 900 family plan on Verizon. I have upgraded phones on some lines from Alltel to Verizon handsets. When I changed to a Verizon handset I had to change the text and data features for that line from the Alltel ones to the Verizon equivalents (usually at slightly higher cost). The voice plan did not change. I still have 12 My Circle numbers on a $59.99 voice plan. I did my upgrades on-line through "My Verizon". If you have a used Verizon handset from eBay or whatever, you'll have to call customer service to switch to the verizon text or data features when activating the Verizon handset.

    royc

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    179
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8703e
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel 4EVER
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Ok, thanks.

    Let me clarify though, I want to know if there's a way to program or unlock a phone so it will look like an Alltel phone, and therefore, be usable on my original plan. I know the ESN is unmodifiable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio Valley
    Posts
    690
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S5
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    No. The ESN identifies the phone as an Alltel or Verizon handset to Verizon's network. Since you can't modify the ESN (illegal), it would do no good to flash a Verizon handset with Alltel software. The network would still think it was a Verizon handset (because the ESN identifies it as a Verizon handset) and insist on using Verizon text and data features.

    royc

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon phone on Alltel account
    By tpredmore in forum ALLTEL
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 06-16-2012, 01:37 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 06:31 PM
  3. swaping an Alltel phone onto Verzion account
    By Majesky in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 10:34 AM
  4. Possible to transfer my alltel account to verizon in the last month on my contract?
    By Raggedyman in forum VZW Employees and Agents Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-26-2009, 06:54 AM
  5. Adding Alltel an phone to your account after transition
    By Downtown in forum Temporary Verizon/Alltel buyout discussion forum
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 04:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks