Thread: Question for Canadians using prepaid to get data in the US (newbie here)

Feedback Score

Question for Canadians using prepaid to get data in the US (newbie here)

im going to be visiting new york and boston for 7 days soon and would like to be able to be connected to the internet on my smartphone (galaxy s captivate unlocked with rogers). im researching what would be the cheapest way for me to get data , obviously roaming on rogers would be stupid.

i read that i can just buy a pre-paid sim card that has data and it should work, and AT&T gophone is one of them. but i'm abit confused and it says i have to top up $25 voice minutes first and then add $15 for 100mb data..? Can i just get the data only ?

Also, are there better / cheaper alternatives for pre-paid data (T-mobile, 7 eleven)?

Is the 100mb data usable when i'm crossing states (no "long distance" roaming data fee)? In canada, it doesn't matter which province you are in for data.

thanks!

Device(s)
    Apple iPhone7 Plus Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    Once the funds are in your account, you can use them for any purpose. To insure that the funds are used for mostly data, do not purchase a plan with a fixed voice allowance. Use the $0.10 per minute rate.
    Earl F. Parrish

Feedback Score
    thanks, i kinda get it. so say i refill my account with $15. if i wanted the $15 for 100mb package, so i then go onto my account and "buy" it..?

Device(s)
    Apple iPhone7 Plus Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    As long as you choose the $0.10 per minute voice plan when you setup the account. If you choose one of the other voice plans, you have to have an account balance large enough to purchase it.

You may have to add more than $15.00. Depending upon the state, there may be taxes subtracted from your purchase so that less than $15.00 might be left.

Feedback Score