Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 4G LTE microSIM Automatically Disabling Itself

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    230
    Feedback Score
    0

    4G LTE microSIM Automatically Disabling Itself

    (Also posted this on the Virgin subforum, but figured it might be relevant here since I'm running into this issue on the pda2.bell.ca APN. In fact, my carrier ID flashes "Bell LTE" for a second before it changes to "VIRGIN LTE" when connecting to the network.)

    I have one of the new 4G LTE iPads and I got a Virgin LTE microSIM a couple of days ago. LTE speeds have been pretty great (especially upload) but I've encountered a pretty strange issue over the weekend when I was using the Personal Hotspot feature.

    I had it tethered to my computer and proceeded do some heavy downloading to test out the speeds (especially with the 2-month no overages promo). Within seconds of starting the download, all data would grind to a complete halt. Even after turning off the tethering and restarting the iPad and reconnecting to the network, the data would not work -- as if it were blocked.

    I called into customer support and eventually the techs advised the rep to remove and then re-add the flex plan to my account. That solved it and my iPad was loading web pages again!

    So I thought maybe it was just a fluke, so back to personal hotspot and back to re-download my Linux ISO from a newsgroup. Again, same thing: the super fast tethered download just killed my data and I had to call in again to get it flipped back on.

    Just on-device browsing works great, but now I'm concerned that the personal hotspot feature, while supported, is crippled/throttled/capped.

    Does anyone know what's going on here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    230
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Personal Hotspot feature just disappeared from my iPad and I can't re-enable it from settings. I have a feeling this happened after the data problems from last night.

    I called into customer support and they said that I would have to contact Apple about that because they "are not trained on the iPad device."

    Very disappointing.

    UPDATE: I fixed this myself. Calling Apple would have been useless since this is a carrier-provisioned feature. Anyway, I disabled LTE and had the device reconnect to 3G. After it connected to 3G, it must have grabbed the settings from the network and my hotspot feature came back.

    Still no clue from anyone about why data would commit suicide while downloading on tether, though.
    Last edited by Hadoken; 03-26-2012 at 03:31 PM. Reason: Update on how I fixed it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    683
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus, Apple iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Bell, Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    If personal hotspot disables itself, I find that going to General>Network brings it back. It happens to me sometimes on Telus LTE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    230
    Feedback Score
    0
    The freaky thing is that the option was totally gone from General>Network. (Same thing happened on my Rogers iPhone, but it would never be completely gone like it was on the iPad.)

    Sneakz, are you using the new iPad? If so, can you test out tethering over USB and downloading a file that over 400MB?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13,280
    Device(s)
    V65E4710, A3LSMG925W8, PDNRM-975, IHDT56PG3, QMNRM-11, L6ARCV70UW, L6ARJE180LW
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS, Bell, SpeakOut, CSL, au by KDDI
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Hadoken,

    Greetings.

    Please correct me if I am wrong but I thought that the tethering activities on most (no jailbreak) iOS devices are arbitrary set to use inet.bell.ca APN instead of pda2.bell.ca without user-accessible edit
    --

    HC - NO "i"
    I am NOT "the" HC, we are TWO different individuals!


    "If we amplify everything, we hear nothing!" - Jon Stewart, Comedian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3,154
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE, BrailleNote))

    Quote Originally Posted by HC - NO "i"
    Hadoken,

    Greetings.

    Please correct me if I am wrong but I thought that the tethering activities on most (no jailbreak) iOS devices are arbitrary set to use inet.bell.ca APN instead of pda2.bell.ca without user-accessible edit
    You're absolutely correct. A lot of "tweaks" are always circulating about how to modify iOS tethering settings; none of them work short of jailbreaking. PH can be enabled or disabled by your carrier, and is forced to a specific APN, in Bell's case inet.bell.ca.

Similar Threads

  1. Automatically disable Cellular radio
    By Mag748 in forum Samsung
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-26-2007, 08:24 AM
  2. alarm disables itself
    By ultra99 in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2005, 05:39 AM
  3. Microsoft AGC keeps disabling itself after soft-reset: why?
    By Kensai in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2005, 08:48 AM
  4. V180 alarm clock disabling itself?
    By sirfelix in forum Motorola
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2005, 06:29 PM
  5. Hands-free profile automatically updates itself?
    By Amiro in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 04:56 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks