Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 67

Thread: Not allowed by SIM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,324
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Not allowed by SIM

    I have Samsung Galaxy SIII which I bought from Rogers last week. It has an LTE SIM card and 6GB LTE plan. The phone is still locked to Rogers, although I bought the unlock code already but haven't tried it yet. Yesterday, when trying to make a phone call, it failed and showed me message "Not allowed by SIM". I restarted the phone and it was fine after that. This morning it happened again as I was trying to make another phone call. I turned the phone off, took out the battery and SIM card, reinserted them again and turned the phone back on. Since then it's been fine again.

    So my question is, is this a faulty microSIM or is this a problem with the phone?

    Thanks for any help!
    Cell phone history:
    Motorola DPC 550 - Ericsson DF388 - Sanyo SCP-4000 - Samsung SCH-N150 - Samsung SCH-T300 - LG TM520 - LG VX-4600 - BlackBerry 6750 - BlackBerry 7250 - Samsung SGH-807 - T-Mobile Dash - Motorola RAZR - BlackBerry Bold 9000 - BlackBerry Torch 9800 - Samsung Galaxy S Captivate (rooted) - Samsung Nexus S - Samsung Galaxy S III LTE (rooted, running SlimBean 4.3) - Oppo Find 7a - Moto X Play - OnePlus 3T Midnight Black Limited Edition - Huawei P20 Pro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I actually had that same issue (received "Not allowed by SIM" 3 times in 1 week). Called Rogers twice and on the second time, they told me to try with a new microSIM. I'm going to get the new one tomorrow and will let you know if that fixes the problem. Good luck

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,324
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Thanks. I'll keep an eye on it myself. If it happens again, I will try changing microSIM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    872
    Device(s)
    Nokia E71
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Any update on this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    A few people have reported that switching SIMs eliminated the error message.

    Did you guys use this MicroSIM in an iPhone prior to inserting it into the S3? (That seems to be the weird common thread among the people I've spoken to.)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,324
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by acemobile View Post
    A few people have reported that switching SIMs eliminated the error message.

    Did you guys use this MicroSIM in an iPhone prior to inserting it into the S3? (That seems to be the weird common thread among the people I've spoken to.)
    I've read the exact opposite on xda forums. Switching SIM did not eliminate the problem.

    In my case it was a brand new microSIM which I got from Rogers store when I bought my S3.

    It happened again this morning. I turned Airplane mode on and off and it fixed the problem this time. What's weird is that this affects only outbound calls. Everything else, like data, SMS and inbound calls, is working.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I changed my microSIM and the problem persisted. Usually, the I'm able to make outgoing calls again after restarting 1-2 times - I haven't tried the trick with airplane mode yet.

    After calling Rogers for a 4th time in 2 weeks, I was told to do a factory reset - will send update to see if that fixes anything.

    And no, both microSIMs that I used were new (at least I hadn't used them before, not sure if Rogers did!!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Once a SIM card is added to a line, it cannot be removed. It is permanently bound.

    Try getting a ticket escalated, sounds like a firmware issue. If this issue was with the line of microSIM's being released, then you'd think there would be many more reports, and with different handsets.

    Quote Originally Posted by danrubi View Post
    I changed my microSIM and the problem persisted. Usually, the I'm able to make outgoing calls again after restarting 1-2 times - I haven't tried the trick with airplane mode yet.

    After calling Rogers for a 4th time in 2 weeks, I was told to do a factory reset - will send update to see if that fixes anything.

    And no, both microSIMs that I used were new (at least I hadn't used them before, not sure if Rogers did!!)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,324
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by ecid View Post
    Once a SIM card is added to a line, it cannot be removed. It is permanently bound.

    Try getting a ticket escalated, sounds like a firmware issue. If this issue was with the line of microSIM's being released, then you'd think there would be many more reports, and with different handsets.
    Yeah, this is definitely S3 only issue. I'm gonna try calling Rogers today.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    84
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TadMorose View Post
    Yeah, this is definitely S3 only issue. I'm gonna try calling Rogers today.
    Happens to me a couple times a week too. I upgraded to the S3 and it was a new micro sim

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,324
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I spoke with Rogers Tech Support. The guy consulted with 2nd level support and basically told me to try Factory reset. If that does not solve the issue, then they can exchange my phone for a new one or 2nd level support will escalate it to Samsung. He gave me a reference number. I will try factory reset this weekend, even though it means I have to reconfigure the phone from scratch.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    169
    Device(s)
    HTC EVO 3D, Captivate
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Happening to my phone too. I will be watching this thread.

    The airplane mode reset worked for me....THANKS!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,324
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Someone posted on xda that Rogers changed his SIM card 3 times and his phone once and it's still happening.

    Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk 2

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,372
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can I use this LTE micro SIM in non LTE phones? I know with the iPhone 4 SIM I could put into any phone (positioned correctly) and could use it fine.


    My collection- BB: 8100, 8220, 8830, 8800, 8900, 9300, 9630. LG: GR500, TE365, TU720. MT: K1, XT910. NK: n97 mini, 6101. SE: c510, w810, w580, w380, s710. SGH: D807, P207, GT-i9100, GT-i317.

    Past phones- Apple: iPhone 3G, iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4. BB: 8130, 8310, 8700, 9000, 9530, 9550, 9700, 9800. HTC: Dream G1, Magic G2. LG: CU500. MT: v3c, v3i, v220, v360, v551. NK: 5300, 6061, 6068, n95-4. SE: t630, w350, w760, x10, z520. SGH: A516, J706, GT-i9000m.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,837
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yup, LTE SIMs are backwards compatible.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SIM not allowed MM#3
    By myke81 in forum AT&T Regular Phones
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 05:25 PM
  2. SIM Card Not Allowed... WTH?
    By tiptoekirk in forum AT&T
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 08-01-2006, 02:28 PM
  3. SIM Card Not Allowed... wth? HELP please..
    By tiptoekirk in forum Other AT&T PDAs/Smartphones
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2006, 01:14 AM
  4. Rogers sim Card not allowing outgoing calls
    By toddest in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 10:29 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2005, 08:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks