Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Sprint Data in Charlotte, NC during the Democratic National Convention

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    3,346
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    3 lines on Sprint, 1 line on Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Sprint Data in Charlotte, NC during the Democratic National Convention

    So a friend of mine just signed up with Sprint yesterday after many years with Verizon. She got her iPhone last night and today her Twitter feed was not refreshing and her internet pages were timing out. She has full signal strength just about everywhere. She goes to the store at lunch and the rep tells her that "Power is being shifted from suburban towers and rerdirected downtown for the DNC convention next week. It is just temporary" Huh?!?! Are you serious? She is about 10 miles from downtown and still in the city limits. This doesn't even sound feasible to me. Is this just a load of BS to get her past her trial period and locked in for 2 years? I had Sprint about a year ago and data was good around our city. Could it have gotten that bad in the past year or is this something that they may be really doing? Sound ridiculous to me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,238
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile Post-Pay
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Im no expert but many have complained about data on Sprint, if they haven't started on network vision in your city then you probably wont notice an improvement until they do. It would probably be best for someone from Charlotte to chime in about their experiences there.
    “The further a society drifts from truth the more it will hate those who speak it.”


    ― George Orwell

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Posts
    4,501
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Maybe they cannibalized some of the EVDO cards from the suburban base stations for downtown?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    53
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Speeds in Charlotte are terrible. I've been with sprint several years and am near obsessive compulsive regarding speed tests and Charlotte speeds are almost unbearable. NV is the only thing that is keeping me around and I'm hoping for it to be started soon in the area.

    I can remember a day when sprint was with the NFL and I could watch a football game on NFL network on my Blackberry!! Ahhhhhh the good old days...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8530
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I too am in Charlotte, and fed up with the crappy speeds. Wimax was decent on my EVO 4G when it would actually get signal. Hopefully the tower buildout is underway, cause LTE coming to Charlotte soon is the only thing keeping me with Sprint at the moment. If things get worse soon, I'm going to call and complain like crazy, since me and other friends have been having Sprint issues lately.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    3,346
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    3 lines on Sprint, 1 line on Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    So your 3G speeds are terrible? Do web pages time out? Is this all the time or just recently?
    Quote Originally Posted by GlocksRock View Post
    I too am in Charlotte, and fed up with the crappy speeds. Wimax was decent on my EVO 4G when it would actually get signal. Hopefully the tower buildout is underway, cause LTE coming to Charlotte soon is the only thing keeping me with Sprint at the moment. If things get worse soon, I'm going to call and complain like crazy, since me and other friends have been having Sprint issues lately.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    53
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Pages will often not load and sometimes a much needed app cannot load information you need. Think for a moment about needing a GPS app to load or a weather radar app to load so you can make a good real time decision...makes you wonder if at bargain 10 dollar premium fee is worth it....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8530
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    My pages don't time out, but my 3G speeds are terrible for sure. Sprint can't roll out LTE here quick enough.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,326
    Carrier(s)
    Only SPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Switched to T-Mobile. LTE is up and blazing in Charlotte.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    3,346
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    3 lines on Sprint, 1 line on Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by The SPCS Guy View Post
    Switched to T-Mobile. LTE is up and blazing in Charlotte.
    And Edge and GPRS is crawling the second you head out of town.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    7,701
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    It appears Charlotte, NC. has both LTE Band 25 and LTE Band 41 right now.


    LTE Band 25 (1900MHz)

    LTE Band 26 (800MHz)

    LTE Band 41 (2500MHz)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    3,346
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, iPhone 6S, iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    3 lines on Sprint, 1 line on Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by 503ducati View Post
    It appears Charlotte, NC. has both LTE Band 25 and LTE Band 41 right now.


    LTE Band 25 (1900MHz)

    LTE Band 26 (800MHz)

    LTE Band 41 (2500MHz)
    Is anything up and running on Nextels old spectrum here yet?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 02:39 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 09:32 AM
  3. Sprint during the hurricane
    By FLATMOBILEBOY in forum Sprint
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-16-2004, 12:17 AM
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 09:46 PM
  5. Data cable for P280 & v66 the same?
    By Dope Man in forum Fido
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2001, 10:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks