Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Does HD Voice work when calling landlines?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Baltimore area
    Posts
    1,361
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint $50 iPhone Plan
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Does HD Voice work when calling landlines?

    I couldn't find a clear answer to this. When using an HD Voice phone on T-Mobile and calling a landline, is the clarity improved at all? I know landlines don't support HD Voice, but I'm wondering if clarity is improved at all with using HD Voice on a phone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,116
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 Plus, Galaxy S6, Nexus 5, Note 3
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    HD Voice only works if the call is terminated on T-Mobile's network, and both devices are HD Voice Capable.
    Verizon Wireless 20Mhz FDD LTE

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    704
    Device(s)
    Current: iPhone, Moto X
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'd been curious about this myself from a logistics standpoint. Sure, the AMR-WB codec is "better" than landlines so it's theoretically pointless to use, but one would think it would still improve voice connections to landline/VoIP even with a transcode somewhere along the way.

    I wonder if there's some technical/real reason as to why this codec isn't used for calls placed to landline numbers. Or perhaps it's because, T-Mobile only knows about T-Mobile numbers, and it's not easy for them to guess if a number is a landline or another cellular network, especially with number portability, and they'd rather not risk transcoding that gets re-transcoded using EVRC-B or half-rate AMR on another carrier? (Resulting in a possible quality drop that makes people thinking T-Mobile calls sound bad.)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    226
    Feedback Score
    0
    What about calls routed through Google Voice (to other T-mobile AMR-WB compatible handsets)?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    359
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy J7
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile (GSM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    i called my friend and it was very clear we both have iphone 5 on tmobile

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,888
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Skuzz View Post
    I'd been curious about this myself from a logistics standpoint. Sure, the AMR-WB codec is "better" than landlines so it's theoretically pointless to use, but one would think it would still improve voice connections to landline/VoIP even with a transcode somewhere along the way.

    I wonder if there's some technical/real reason as to why this codec isn't used for calls placed to landline numbers. Or perhaps it's because, T-Mobile only knows about T-Mobile numbers, and it's not easy for them to guess if a number is a landline or another cellular network, especially with number portability, and they'd rather not risk transcoding that gets re-transcoded using EVRC-B or half-rate AMR on another carrier? (Resulting in a possible quality drop that makes people thinking T-Mobile calls sound bad.)
    Because a POTS Line is only able to carry like up to 3khz of your voice waves where as this WB codec can handle higher ranges of voices. Landlines also only are capable of using the G.711 codec which is actually a fixed 64kbit/s and typically has a higher MOS score of 4.4-4.5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,888
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by desertflyer View Post
    What about calls routed through Google Voice (to other T-mobile AMR-WB compatible handsets)?
    No because the call is handled by the outside PSTN network to route the call.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    354
    Feedback Score
    0
    it works great iphone to iphone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was told that the HTC One will also be capable of HD voice, so that should work with the iPhone crowd as well.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    2,393
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 64GB, iPad Air 32GB
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LouCap View Post
    I was told that the HTC One will also be capable of HD voice, so that should work with the iPhone crowd as well.
    HD voice will work with any phone as long as they are both HD capable on a network that supports HD.


    Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

    ^HSPA+ 42mbps---------------------------------------------- ^LTE

Similar Threads

  1. Why Does Motorola Explorer Work When Others Don't?
    By dino9832 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 02:26 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 03:13 PM
  3. Does prepaid phone work when you cross the border ?
    By OSA in forum 7-Eleven Speak Out Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-23-2007, 02:51 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 03:42 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2003, 09:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks