Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: LG G2 forgetting Wifi

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    321
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak NA US 3G on Fido
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

    LG G2 forgetting Wifi

    Anyone having this problem? It just won't remember the wifi password, I'll get home. notice it's not connected to wifi even though wifi is on. Toggle wifi on/off and it won't rejoin, so I select one of the two networks in my place, and have to re-enter the wifi password. This has happened 5 times so far, and I've had the phone less than a week?
    *Crackle* Hello? *Crackle* Hello? Can you hear me now?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    111
    Device(s)
    SE w810i
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shylok View Post
    Anyone having this problem? It just won't remember the wifi password, I'll get home. notice it's not connected to wifi even though wifi is on. Toggle wifi on/off and it won't rejoin, so I select one of the two networks in my place, and have to re-enter the wifi password. This has happened 5 times so far, and I've had the phone less than a week?
    I have the exact same issue! My phone keeps forgetting all my Wifi APs.

    Did you use Titanium backup to restore your wifi by any chance?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    321
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak NA US 3G on Fido
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    No i used LG backup so I'd be able to get the installs back of all the apps. Otherwise I'd have to manually select a hundred apps... Stupid how play store doesnt re-download after a hardware reset.

    I've been suspecting it's related to the LG restore. How do we clear that settings file without root.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,268
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Priv VeniceNA
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile/Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I noticed this too and I thought I was seeing things.
    Life moves fast. Don't miss a thing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    321
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak NA US 3G on Fido
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ToniCipriani View Post
    I noticed this too and I thought I was seeing things.
    did you do a backup/then restore in any way?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,268
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Priv VeniceNA
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile/Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shylok View Post
    did you do a backup/then restore in any way?
    Nope. I only had it out of the box for a short while to play with, then it's factory reset and back in the box, since it's not for me. Hopefully my won't have this issue later as I'm sending the phone to Hong Kong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    321
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak NA US 3G on Fido
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Still happening to me.. Suspect given not tons of reports. Maybe something to do with the restore..

    How does one get apps back without restoring settings and without root?

    Sent with the HoFo App

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kitchener / Waterloo
    Posts
    249
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm having this problem too with my stock, unrooted Bell D803. I'm guessing it has something to do with the ROM as it seems isolated to the Bell version.

    I tried a full restore using the desktop version of LG Software but it didn't change anything. I still lost my wifi settings after a reboot.

    I wonder if a stock rooted ROM would help?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    321
    Device(s)
    Dell Streak NA US 3G on Fido
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_in_2k View Post
    I'm having this problem too with my stock, unrooted Bell D803. I'm guessing it has something to do with the ROM as it seems isolated to the Bell version.

    I tried a full restore using the desktop version of LG Software but it didn't change anything. I still lost my wifi settings after a reboot.

    I wonder if a stock rooted ROM would help?
    Did you ever do a restore before having this problem? I still have this problem.. have done multiple forgets and added the key for multiple APs .. forgets them all the time. Even without reboots. Stupid.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Hmm -- No issues at home, and I am on a resort with several WiFi's with no issues.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kitchener / Waterloo
    Posts
    249
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shylok View Post
    Did you ever do a restore before having this problem? I still have this problem.. have done multiple forgets and added the key for multiple APs .. forgets them all the time. Even without reboots. Stupid.
    I've had the problem since I took it out of the box on day 1, so it's nothing to do with the restore I did last night. I really is frustrating.

    WorldIRC, as you've had no problems, can you post your build dates / numbers so we can compare?

    Worse case I take it into Bell to get a replacement. I've never experienced their hardware support before. Will I get a replacement on the spot?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kitchener / Waterloo
    Posts
    249
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    OK, I've solved the forgetting wifi problem thanks to a kind poster on XDA.

    You need root access then edit the build.prop on the line: wifi.lge.patch

    It's set to true, so just change it to false.

    No idea how this got through LG's / Bell's QC, but it freakin works. Headaches gone.
    Last edited by mark_in_2k; 10-31-2013 at 01:32 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kitchener / Waterloo
    Posts
    249
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    double post
    Last edited by mark_in_2k; 10-31-2013 at 01:32 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_in_2k View Post
    I've had the problem since I took it out of the box on day 1, so it's nothing to do with the restore I did last night. I really is frustrating.

    WorldIRC, as you've had no problems, can you post your build dates / numbers so we can compare?

    Worse case I take it into Bell to get a replacement. I've never experienced their hardware support before. Will I get a replacement on the spot?
    Tell me how to get what it is you need and I'm happy to post. You do get 30 day DOA replacement guarantee with your purchase. Beyond that, it goes to the LG service centre for repair (but it is software related so I'd hold out).

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,268
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Priv VeniceNA
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile/Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_in_2k View Post
    OK, I've solved the forgetting wifi problem thanks to a kind poster on XDA.

    You need root access then edit the build.prop on the line: wifi.lge.patch

    It's set to true, so just change it to false.

    No idea how this got through LG's / Bell's QC, but it freakin works. Headaches gone.
    Do you have the original link? I've seen other phones with this build.prop and it's always true.

    I find this a bit unacceptable that we need to root to fix something like this. Is there a way to get Bell to issue an update to fix it? Double headache for me as my sis took the phone back to Hong Kong.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2007, 04:23 AM
  2. Forgets WiFi network after going to sleep
    By zehrwang in forum Apple
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 11:13 AM
  3. S40 forgetting speed dial settings?
    By farfromuman in forum Siemens
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-17-2002, 04:37 PM
  4. 40 Days, 40 Nights, Forget About It, I'm Going for 50!
    By Baby Jingles in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2002, 12:45 AM
  5. PDA in an Home WiFi Network
    By Chen_Kenichi in forum Tech Talk
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-23-2002, 09:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks