Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Giving Up @Home Service

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6301b
    Carrier(s)
    T Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Giving Up @Home Service

    I have had the @Home service from T Mobile since 2010. It has been mostly good, and the price is right ($15 + tax or about $22 per month) on my family Simple Choice plan.

    I have had some issues (mainly about occasional loss of service for a few minutes) which basically require me to power cycle the HiPort device. These occur no more than twice a month, and there have been long periods (months) of no problems. I do have some concern about the availability of the device (eBay or Amazon). For that reason, I am taking the plunge with Vonage and plan to discontinue this service with T Mobile.

    I check these forums now and again, and I vaguely recall seeing posts for people asking for someone doing a change of responsibility for this service. I am not even sure if and how that can be done, especially since this is a line on my family plan. However, I am willing to offer this for anyone who wants and can figure out the details with T Mobile. I have not yet ported my "home" number to Vonage, but will do that in the next week or two.

    If anyone is interested, post here or PM me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    969
    Device(s)
    Google Pixel XL, Huawei Pixel 6P, Moto Nexus 6, LG Nexus 5, Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Dude! I'd take it off your hands! Do you want to do a CoFR?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    55
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6301b
    Carrier(s)
    T Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    If this can work without me losing my number, I would do it. I haven't checked with TM, and I'm not sure what the logistics would be.

    via the HoFo App

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    969
    Device(s)
    Google Pixel XL, Huawei Pixel 6P, Moto Nexus 6, LG Nexus 5, Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    a CoFR (Change of Fiscal Responsibility) is the easy part. You call in first to 611, set it up, then I call in and complete it.

    However, I don't know if it can be done if you are porting out the number on the line. If it's too much trouble, i totally understand.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,116
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 Plus, Galaxy S6, Nexus 5, Note 3
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    This may answer your questions since it literally just popped up on reddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/tmobile/comm...ter_in_canada/
    Verizon Wireless 20Mhz FDD LTE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,284
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs Max
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    i'm not sure why you pay $15 a month--- mines is $10 but i keep mine on my account just to show longevity for loyalty discounts and what not
    Nokia 5165> Nokia 6160> Nokia 7120>Nokia 6820> Motorola V600> Motorola V500> Motorola V551>Nokia 8290> Sidekick II>Motorola Razr>Nokia 8800>Nokia 8800 Sirocco Black>LG Prada>Nokia 8800 Sirocco Gold>Sidekick III>Tmo Dash>BB 8320>BB 8820>iPhone>Tmo G1>BB 8220>BB 9530>BB 8900>MyTouch3G>BB 9630>BB 9550>Google Nexus One><BB 9700>Google Nexus One>BB 9780>BB 9810>BB 9900> HTC One S>HTC One S BLK> Nexus 4> Samsung Galaxy S4> iPhone 5s>iPhone 6>iPhone 7>iPhone X>iPhone Xs Max

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    145
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I would keep the @home line and use that SIM in a cell phone...best of both world! You don't have to depend on the @home router or internet for phone calls since you now do it on a cell phone. No worry about going over you minutes since there is no overage. And later if you want to go back making calls on the @home router you just put the SIM back in it. That's what I'm doing right now. Remember that once you get rid of the @home you can't have it back. You also can't use a regular cell line SIM in the @home router, it will not work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,284
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs Max
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    didn't it use to be if you put your @home sim in a cell phone and made calls you were charged by the minute ? because they could detect what device you are using?

    I bet you could get a data plan added to it and even probably an old unlimited texting plan added if you had the SOC

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    145
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by RazzyRazzyRazzy View Post
    didn't it use to be if you put your @home sim in a cell phone and made calls you were charged by the minute ? because they could detect what device you are using?

    I bet you could get a data plan added to it and even probably an old unlimited texting plan added if you had the SOC
    Calls you make using the @home SIM on the cell phone count toward your bucket of minutes, just like a regular cell phone. Now with no overage you don't have to worry about going over anymore. If you talk to the right tmobile rep you can add a data plan to it...I did.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,284
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs Max
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    what data plan do you have? all they offered me was $5 for 30mb of 4G

    said they didn't have an option to add any unlimited data plans to it....



    Quote Originally Posted by slingster View Post
    Calls you make using the @home SIM on the cell phone count toward your bucket of minutes, just like a regular cell phone. Now with no overage you don't have to worry about going over anymore. If you talk to the right tmobile rep you can add a data plan to it...I did.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    145
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by RazzyRazzyRazzy View Post
    what data plan do you have? all they offered me was $5 for 30mb of 4G

    said they didn't have an option to add any unlimited data plans to it....
    I got Tzone, but only after talking to the right person in retention (I believe) that can (or is willingto) do it. I've been with them since the Aerial days so I don't know if that adds any clout.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,284
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs Max
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    did you previously have tzones or was it added as a totally new feature and how long ago was this?


    Quote Originally Posted by slingster View Post
    I got Tzone, but only after talking to the right person in retention (I believe) that can (or is willingto) do it. I've been with them since the Aerial days so I don't know if that adds any clout.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    145
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    [QUOTE=RazzyRazzyRazzy;15556396]did you previously have tzones or was it added as a totally new feature and how long ago was this?[/QUOTE

    I previously had tzones when I added the third one, about a month ago.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,284
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs Max
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    you wouldn't happen to have the SOC for the tzones package you have ?

    I've had about 3 reps try to add other data packages (with SOCs) but the system wouldn't allow for it.



    [QUOTE=slingster;15557003]
    Quote Originally Posted by RazzyRazzyRazzy View Post
    did you previously have tzones or was it added as a totally new feature and how long ago was this?[/QUOTE

    I previously had tzones when I added the third one, about a month ago.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    145
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by RazzyRazzyRazzy View Post
    you wouldn't happen to have the SOC for the tzones package you have ?

    I've had about 3 reps try to add other data packages (with SOCs) but the system wouldn't allow for it.
    Sorry I don't know what SOC stands for. Yeah...these days it's rarely a hit and mostly a miss to have tzone added.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Give up GAIT service ???
    By Charles58 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2004, 12:15 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2003, 09:33 AM
  3. I give up on 8390 ringtones.....
    By punkkloser in forum Nokia
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-17-2002, 12:04 AM
  4. WTB: Sony Walkman (I'm not giving up haha)
    By krayzie in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-24-2001, 11:15 PM
  5. Did nokia give up on CDMA?
    By james in forum Nokia
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2001, 10:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks