Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Uverse internet only installation while keeping landline

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0

    Uverse internet only installation while keeping landline

    Against my nagging better judgement, I agreed to switch my internet over to U-verse. However, I insisted we keep our traditional landline service because of its reliability during power outages. During the installation at the outside of our home, the technician easily got u-verse working, but had difficulty with reconnecting phone service. He indicated my landline was still a traditional POTS landline (it does not need to run from my new internet gateway), but it was being switched to a new circuit that was apparently open somewhere between my house and the Vrad.

    When I asked whether this new circuit was as reliable as the old landline in a power outage, he indicated the phone line only "passed through" the Vrad. He also said something about a "battery backup."

    Is anyone familiar with this installation? If power is lost for some period of time will I lose what should be my POTS landline when the Vrad battery runs out? Also, will Uverse stop working during a moderate or longer power outage even if I have a generator or battery backup running the gateway at my house?

    My understanding is that the only way to switch my phone back to the old circuit is to cancel Uverse and go back to DSL (if they'll let me go back). If I'm stuck with a phone service that will go down in a power outage, I might as well switch to Ooma or some other VOIP since my reason for paying extra for the landline would be gone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Terra Prime
    Posts
    290
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6+ 128GB Gold
    Carrier(s)
    310-410 (voice & data)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HairyReasoner View Post
    Against my nagging better judgement, I agreed to switch my internet over to U-verse. However, I insisted we keep our traditional landline service because of its reliability during power outages. During the installation at the outside of our home, the technician easily got u-verse working, but had difficulty with reconnecting phone service. He indicated my landline was still a traditional POTS landline (it does not need to run from my new internet gateway), but it was being switched to a new circuit that was apparently open somewhere between my house and the Vrad.

    When I asked whether this new circuit was as reliable as the old landline in a power outage, he indicated the phone line only "passed through" the Vrad. He also said something about a "battery backup."

    Is anyone familiar with this installation? If power is lost for some period of time will I lose what should be my POTS landline when the Vrad battery runs out? Also, will Uverse stop working during a moderate or longer power outage even if I have a generator or battery backup running the gateway at my house?

    My understanding is that the only way to switch my phone back to the old circuit is to cancel Uverse and go back to DSL (if they'll let me go back). If I'm stuck with a phone service that will go down in a power outage, I might as well switch to Ooma or some other VOIP since my reason for paying extra for the landline would be gone.
    I've had nothing but problems with my mom's Uverse / POTS installation. The reason we kept the POTS line was for an alarm system -- but we are now switching the alarm service to cellular and eliminating the POTS line altogether. There were (and still are) too many data collisions, mainly because the filters used at the interface box aren't quite up to snuff. We've had 3 service calls for this issue, without a satisfactory resolution... it's just time to get rid of the reliable technology.

    If Uverse and POTS are coexisting, you're MUCH better off than we are.

    As to the battery issue... I'm not 100% sure... but the Uverse VDSL will only work as long as the VRAD battery lasts at the node; if the POTS is run from the central office then I'm sure it'll last as long as the generators keep it going.

    Good luck!
    Current GSM Phones on AT&T:
    Nokia 6310i, Nokia 3390b, Nokia 5190, Nokia 3650, Ericsson T68m, Motorola P280, Nokia 6340i, Motorola V600, Motorola V66, Nokia 6200, Nokia 6010 (x2), Nokia 6620, Motorola V635, Nokia 6230b, Motorola V551, Motorola V3 (x5), LG G4015 (x2), Motorola V180, HTC Wizard, Motorola L7, Nokia 6101, Samsung V205, Samsung E315, HTC Kaiser, Motorola V3xx, Samsung i607 (given to a friend), Nokia 6555b, Apple iPhone 3G 8GB (wife & mom), HTC Raphael, Nokia E71-2

Similar Threads

  1. changing plans while keeping bonus mins & credits
    By IsTeAlJeTtAs in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-08-2004, 05:27 PM
  2. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-02-2003, 09:06 PM
  3. How do I get the internet to work while roaming in the USA?
    By dking68 in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-20-2003, 09:55 AM
  4. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-13-2002, 10:17 PM
  5. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-14-2002, 09:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks