Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 49

Thread: AT&T HD Voice (VoLTE) - Latest Markets and Announcements

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,651
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T HD Voice (VoLTE) - Latest Markets and Announcements

    AT&T's HD Voice (VoLTE) rollout has been incredibly slow so far.

    Speculate below on future markets, or if you've heard/seen anything specifically...let us know!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    69
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    No news on this yet?


    via the HoFo App

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2,632
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by d2000one View Post
    No news on this yet?

    via the HoFo App
    Nope. They're probably getting a lot more markets ready before they make an announcement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    142
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I see the Dallas/Ft. Worth area is shown as HD voice on the map, though I don't see it working on my iphone 6. Maybe it needs a carrier update?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    69
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hopefully this means that VoLTE is coming soon for AT&T network-wide...

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...bility-in-2015

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    69
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Looks like VoLTE is live in Atlanta today. Did speedtest while on a call and got 20 up and 20 down.


    via the HoFo App

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3,849
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brettoj59 View Post
    I see the Dallas/Ft. Worth area is shown as HD voice on the map, though I don't see it working on my iphone 6. Maybe it needs a carrier update?
    Do you have the lte settings on for voice and data?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    142
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeybutts View Post
    Do you have the lte settings on for voice and data?
    Yep, it is on. Just not yet functioning



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,793
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also live in DFW now. Total of 4 markets: CHI, MSP, ATL, DFW

    PRL Interpretations
    XFF's AlphaTag software
    Cellular and PCS License Maps
    Quote Originally Posted by gpatrick900
    I am a little confused. My Verizon phone was able to roam on GSM because they used TDMA. Tell it was shutdown. The phone recognizes it as Analog. If PCS has TDMA, It could be technically be used on GSM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tabla View Post
    Y'know, I'm used to hysterical 14-year-old ******** on the internet, but this is exceptional. Never before in human history have so many nerds hyperventilated so publicly over so little.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    949
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max (Intel), iPhone 6S, Galaxy S9, iPad 9.7, iPad Mini 3, Netgear Nighthawk Hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FirstNet
    Feedback Score
    0
    VoLTE is now live in Indianapolis, Detroit, and Cleveland-Akron-Toledo.


    via the HoFo App
    I do not represent any company or other entity. Anything I post in these forums or write on this site are my thoughts and opinions only. I make every attempt to be 100% accurate, but I am human and do make mistakes from time to time.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,793
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also in LAS, SLC, and Richmond-Norfolk, VA now. Seems to be expanding very rapidly

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    51
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Current VoLTE markets (2014-11-30)

    Current list:
    • Chicago-Milwaukee, IL/WI
    • Minneapolis-St Paul, MN
    • Dallas-Ft Worth, TX
    • Atlanta, GA
    • Indianapolis, IN
    • Detroit, MI
    • Cleveland-Akron-Youngstown, OH/PA
    • Columbus, OH
    • Cincinnati-Dayton, OH
    • Salt Lake City, UT
    • Las Vegas, NV
    • Richmond-Norfolk, VA


    See attached screenshot (grabbed while quickly zooming out, stupid restriction AT&T places on their maps that you can't view stuff at a high level =/)

    Name:  2014-11-30 17_22_41-Greenshot.png
Views: 1719
Size:  559.8 KB
    Last edited by unforgiven512; 11-30-2014 at 06:32 PM. Reason: fixed list formatting

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,060
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max Series 4 Apple Watch
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Why do you think it's taking them so long? Is it a lack of contiguous spectrum?

    I know the PR answer is that they want "to ensure the best customer experience by slowly rolling it out market by market," but seriously I'm thinking the real reason is something a bit more technical.

    The optimist in me hopes they are planning something huge as a differentiator.

    I've been using it on T-Mobile. Aside from a few bugs when it works voice calls sound incredible.
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,653
    Device(s)
    6+
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Adonis View Post
    Why do you think it's taking them so long? Is it a lack of contiguous spectrum?
    What does that have to do with anything?

    Probably different vendors in different parts of the US. They all have to roll out the software updates on their hardware. Not to mention, we're also waiting for CA to go live. I think both of those will be going up around the same time in various markets.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,651
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Adonis View Post
    Why do you think it's taking them so long? Is it a lack of contiguous spectrum?

    I know the PR answer is that they want "to ensure the best customer experience by slowly rolling it out market by market," but seriously I'm thinking the real reason is something a bit more technical.

    The optimist in me hopes they are planning something huge as a differentiator.

    I've been using it on T-Mobile. Aside from a few bugs when it works voice calls sound incredible.
    Quote Originally Posted by AutoUnion View Post
    What does that have to do with anything?

    Probably different vendors in different parts of the US. They all have to roll out the software updates on their hardware. Not to mention, we're also waiting for CA to go live. I think both of those will be going up around the same time in various markets.
    I'm curious as well; they're rolling it out slower than anyone else

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HD voice between Virgin Mobile and Sprint postpaid
    By VisionsDivine in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2014, 03:56 PM
  2. Confirm/deny: Does HD Voice work between Telus and Rogers/Fido?
    By Deusfaux in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2014, 01:44 AM
  3. Replies: 48
    Last Post: 07-13-2014, 06:47 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2013, 11:27 PM
  5. Replies: 52
    Last Post: 06-20-2007, 12:44 PM

Bookmarks