Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Nexus 5: How do I connect to my mobile carrier for data?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    288
    Device(s)
    LG800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Nexus 5: How do I connect to my mobile carrier for data?

    New phone: Nexus 5 (had it activated for just a couple of days)
    New carrier: Cricket (AT&T)

    I cannot figure out how to turn the mobile on so I can connect to the internet outside of a wifi area. Might be a phone issue, might be a carrier issue, probably a user issue.

    Under:

    Settings > (wi-fi is turned on, and "bluetooth" is turned on)

    Settings > More > Mobile Networks (both "data enabled" and "data roaming" are checked)

    Any ideas? I am coming off of a Tracfone with Jellybean. The operating system on the Nexus is Kitkat, 4.4.4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,443
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeZ3 View Post
    New phone: Nexus 5 (had it activated for just a couple of days)
    New carrier: Cricket (AT&T)

    I cannot figure out how to turn the mobile on so I can connect to the internet outside of a wifi area. Might be a phone issue, might be a carrier issue, probably a user issue.

    Under:

    Settings > (wi-fi is turned on, and "bluetooth" is turned on)

    Settings > More > Mobile Networks (both "data enabled" and "data roaming" are checked)

    Any ideas? I am coming off of a Tracfone with Jellybean. The operating system on the Nexus is Kitkat, 4.4.4
    Sounds like you need to set up your APN. Google "Cricket APN Nexus 5" and you will find the info you need.
    I don't feel like a thread-killer...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    288
    Device(s)
    LG800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kirt View Post
    Sounds like you need to set up your APN. Google "Cricket APN Nexus 5" and you will find the info you need.
    Yep, that was it. Thanks!

    Here are the instructions for Cricket for Android devices if anybody reads this in the future.

    https://www.cricketwireless.com/supp...n-android.html

    Another quick question: Do I want roaming turned on or off? I am not charged extra if I go over on data, it just slows down, and I have unlimited calling / texting. Thx.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,370
    Device(s)
    Samsung GS7, Nokia 6350
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeZ3 View Post
    Yep, that was it. Thanks!

    Here are the instructions for Cricket for Android devices if anybody reads this in the future.

    https://www.cricketwireless.com/supp...n-android.html

    Another quick question: Do I want roaming turned on or off? I am not charged extra if I go over on data, it just slows down, and I have unlimited calling / texting. Thx.
    It doesn't matter if roaming is enabled or not since you can't roam on Cricket anyways -- if you are outside of ATT native network, you just won't get a signal either way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    288
    Device(s)
    LG800g
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mmoose View Post
    It doesn't matter if roaming is enabled or not since you can't roam on Cricket anyways -- if you are outside of ATT native network, you just won't get a signal either way.
    OK, thanks for the clarification.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,370
    Device(s)
    Samsung GS7, Nokia 6350
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeZ3 View Post
    OK, thanks for the clarification.
    No problem. Enjoy your sweet new phone.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,454
    Device(s)
    Nexus5/Nexus6
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeZ3 View Post
    OK, thanks for the clarification.
    Upgrade it to Lollipop. It has the apn already and is worth it, especially the extra battery life.

Similar Threads

  1. How do I connect to my Kyocera KX160 via bluetooth to upload ringtones?
    By Svperstar in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2007, 05:08 PM
  2. How do I connect to my computer?
    By lcplgans in forum Motorola PC Software/Drivers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2006, 01:09 PM
  3. How Do I Connect to my V551 so I can upload?
    By unknown2k1 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-23-2005, 03:54 PM
  4. how do i connect to my computer?
    By hondaboi in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-04-2004, 04:02 PM
  5. How do i connect to a wap with my 3650?
    By slfmade in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2003, 01:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks