Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Cricket and the At&t ZTE Z700A Home Base

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    51
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket and the At&t ZTE Z700A Home Base

    Is anyone successfully using their cricket wireless SIM in an AT&T HOME BASE Z700A WIRELESS HOME PHONE AND INTERNET device?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    62
    Device(s)
    Motorola W315
    Carrier(s)
    Alltel U
    Feedback Score
    0
    I also would like to know if this will work.
    WAR EAGLE!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,393
    Feedback Score
    0
    wonder if that ethernet port would violate the tethering policy :P I'm intrigued. http://www.zteusa.com/att-homebase

    Last edited by zeen; 08-26-2015 at 03:44 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,804
    Feedback Score
    0
    the device already comes with sim card already preinstalled and is locked to the device - http://www.att.com/devicehowto/?make...=homebasez700a

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    51
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    After getting no response from anyone on this forum, I tried it and calls worked fine. Tested internet briefly for about 10 mins which also worked well with downloads of 7 MB. I then disconnected all connected devices to the router and returned 2 days later to find myself on throttled speed. I went online and the website showed I had used up all 5 GB of data! No other device was connnected at any time during the 2 day period. Go figure...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13,768
    Feedback Score
    0
    How interesting. I really can't wait to hear explanations for that! Would you be willing to try to see if it'll work with a track phone GSM BYOP sim? I'll chip in $10 toward the cost...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,393
    Feedback Score
    0
    found a link to one with (gophone) designation http://www.zteusa.com/att-homebase-gophone there also seems to be a z700 and a z700a model, but not sure what the difference is between them. Can't seem to find any used ones for sale, maybe this is a fairly new item? it runs $199 directly from at&t http://www.att.com/cellphones/att/wi...sku=sku7130587 so kind of expensive just to test :P

    edit: i found the gophone variant http://www.att.com/shop/en/wireless/...ku7380719.html $149, but seems you must buy with a plan, a minimum of $60.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    794
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by squiggy View Post
    After getting no response from anyone on this forum, I tried it and calls worked fine. Tested internet briefly for about 10 mins which also worked well with downloads of 7 MB. I then disconnected all connected devices to the router and returned 2 days later to find myself on throttled speed. I went online and the website showed I had used up all 5 GB of data! No other device was connnected at any time during the 2 day period. Go figure...
    Your account page on the cricket website should at least show you the usage. Did you leave the device turned on?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    51
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes you need to leave it turned on to receive incoming calls. The account usage showed 5 GB used.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    17
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    You're sure no wifi devices remained connected?
    Maybe it was continually trying and failing to access some AT&T site required by the firmware.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    794
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by squiggy View Post
    Yes you need to leave it turned on to receive incoming calls. The account usage showed 5 GB used.
    But what days was the usage on? You can see where the majority of it occurred.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    51
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, definitely no wi-fi devices connected. Data records show continuous data usage throughout the 2 days and the data usage still continued after the 5 GB at throttled speed with no devices connected. I don't know what was happening but the experiment is over for me! If anyone else tries this please post your experience.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    93
    Device(s)
    Touch Pro 2
    Carrier(s)
    Boost
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zeen View Post
    found a link to one with (gophone) designation http://www.zteusa.com/att-homebase-gophone there also seems to be a z700 and a z700a model, but not sure what the difference is between them. Can't seem to find any used ones for sale, maybe this is a fairly new item? it runs $199 directly from at&t http://www.att.com/cellphones/att/wi...sku=sku7130587 so kind of expensive just to test :P

    edit: i found the gophone variant http://www.att.com/shop/en/wireless/...ku7380719.html $149, but seems you must buy with a plan, a minimum of $60.
    I have one if u are interested.

Similar Threads

  1. cricket and the samsung t329
    By ledwards0792 in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-17-2007, 07:23 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-24-2007, 10:40 PM
  3. VeriChat and the AT&T Tilt
    By eimajuno in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 11:44 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2004, 04:16 PM
  5. CS Reps and the AT&T Technology
    By SU719 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2003, 12:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks